Changing passwords?

Anything and Everything about Uplink

Moderators: bert_the_turtle, jelco, Chris, Icepick, Rkiver

Vogon Jeltz
level0
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Aug 07, 2001 1:55 pm
Location: Planet Earth
Contact:

Postby Vogon Jeltz » Wed Aug 08, 2001 1:48 pm

OK, we all know the joys of hacking a box in Uplink, seeing all of the Password_Cracker's letters spin to a stop, and clicking the Proceed button.  There's one question I have though...

On servers with account records (most banks, some internals, all mainframes), you can view somebody's password, but can't change it.  This is weird, as you should be able to change whatever you want if you are (or have the password of) the admin.  This'd also prevent passive tracing of your connection; simply change the admin's password, and he can't log in to review the logs.

Why can't this be done, and if and when will it be implemented if it can't?
"This product not intended for use with any version of the Windows operating system." -- From a README file distributed with Loki Software's Linux port of the game MindRover
FTR123
level2
level2
Posts: 107
Joined: Fri Jul 08, 2005 12:33 am

Postby FTR123 » Tue Mar 21, 2006 8:02 pm

That´s how the game meant to be. lol
Go Visit My first Website
www.freewebs.com/dolphin_2
FTR123
level2
level2
Posts: 107
Joined: Fri Jul 08, 2005 12:33 am

Postby FTR123 » Tue Mar 21, 2006 9:55 pm

isn´t that what i just said. lol
Go Visit My first Website

www.freewebs.com/dolphin_2
coolsi
level5
level5
Posts: 3990
Joined: Wed Apr 10, 2002 6:46 pm

Postby coolsi » Wed Mar 22, 2006 5:25 pm

No, not really. lol
User avatar
Babylon5
level5
level5
Posts: 1873
Joined: Sat Jan 08, 2005 10:30 pm
Location: Stevenston, Ayrshire, Scotland
Contact:

Postby Babylon5 » Wed Mar 22, 2006 5:28 pm

Lol?
Image

No, I have NOT fixed my speakers.
User avatar
ScareyedHawk
level5
level5
Posts: 1154
Joined: Wed Sep 17, 2003 10:14 pm
Location: Västerås, Sweden
Contact:

Postby ScareyedHawk » Wed Mar 22, 2006 6:19 pm

lol. lol
AntiPatik
level2
level2
Posts: 103
Joined: Thu Nov 13, 2003 1:48 pm
Location: Maribor - Slovenia
Contact:

Postby AntiPatik » Wed Mar 22, 2006 8:17 pm

I agree with Vogon Jeltz, there should be changeable passwords. Think it could be done by making a mod?
FTR123
level2
level2
Posts: 107
Joined: Fri Jul 08, 2005 12:33 am

Postby FTR123 » Sat Mar 25, 2006 2:15 am

He can´t because he doesn´t know the password so he can´t get in. Unless Sylph-DS gave all the free software to him so that he can get in.
Go Visit My first Website

www.freewebs.com/dolphin_2
GeneralSamov
level1
level1
Posts: 69
Joined: Tue Mar 07, 2006 1:26 pm
Location: Lucija - Slo
Contact:

Postby GeneralSamov » Sat Mar 25, 2006 2:22 am

Lol + Lol = Rofl
2Lol = Rofl
Lol + Rofl (= 3Lol) = Lmao
FTR123
level2
level2
Posts: 107
Joined: Fri Jul 08, 2005 12:33 am

Postby FTR123 » Sat Mar 25, 2006 2:29 am

I can´t believe i digged this forum up from one the first one´s post it here. and u guys keep going at it. lol
Go Visit My first Website

www.freewebs.com/dolphin_2
coldhand
level1
level1
Posts: 74
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2006 2:13 am
Contact:

Postby coldhand » Mon Mar 27, 2006 4:24 pm

GeneralSamov wrote:Lol + Lol = Rofl
2Lol = Rofl
Lol + Rofl (= 3Lol) = Lmao


does that mean that

Rofl + Rofl (= 4 LOL) = Lmfao :?:
Everyone that wants to learn how you must act on a forum or just want to laugh, watch this movie
click here for very useful uplink guide

Return to “General”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests