My Computer Meets All the Requirements but Game Still Lags?

(previously 'DEVELOPER') Private forum for registered community members. To register, please visit www.prison-architect.com/register.

Moderator: NBJeff

RyRyTheGoodGuy
level0
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Feb 01, 2016 9:39 pm

My Computer Meets All the Requirements but Game Still Lags?

Postby RyRyTheGoodGuy » Sat Mar 05, 2016 9:19 pm

My computer meets all the recommended requirements for the game, but whenever I reach over 500 prisoners, it lags and the framerate goes down, I don't get what's wrong.

Computer specs:
Graphics: AMD Radeon R7 240 2GB
CPU:FX-770K
Ram: 8GB
Storage: 1000 GB (1 TB)
Operating System: Win 10 64
Direct X: DX12

Now I know that my specs aren't the greatest, so don't say how crappy they are or say that I need to go out and buy a better computer, but they all are more than you need to run the game (or so I think, correct me if i'm wrong).Why does it lag?
Trixi
level2
level2
Posts: 245
Joined: Wed Mar 04, 2015 9:22 am
Location: Ulm, Germany
Contact:

Re: My Computer Meets All the Requirements but Game Still La

Postby Trixi » Sat Mar 05, 2016 10:08 pm

because everything have to be calculated, so its normal that fps drops.

but at steam there is a performancetest version out. i've heard that the prisoners runs about twice as fast as normal version.
RyRyTheGoodGuy
level0
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Feb 01, 2016 9:39 pm

Re: My Computer Meets All the Requirements but Game Still La

Postby RyRyTheGoodGuy » Sat Mar 05, 2016 10:14 pm

Trixi wrote:because everything have to be calculated, so its normal that fps drops.

but at steam there is a performancetest version out. i've heard that the prisoners runs about twice as fast as normal version.


A performancetest version? What's that?
TheXev
level0
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Dec 15, 2015 1:53 am

Re: My Computer Meets All the Requirements but Game Still La

Postby TheXev » Mon Mar 07, 2016 12:13 am

I found the steam thread on this: https://steamcommunity.com/app/233450/d ... 355317048/

I'll be installing fraps to test the differences.

*edit* its a night and day change. I ran run prisons nearly twice the size on my strangely speced system:

AMD Phenom 920
8GBs of RAM
AMD Radeon R9 290

Frame Rate be damned, I can now try to build prisons larger then 180 inmates with way less lag! Beats having to upgrade my cpu (new mobo/cpu/ram atm.. no thanks)
ulix
level1
level1
Posts: 17
Joined: Wed Dec 24, 2014 6:25 am

Re: My Computer Meets All the Requirements but Game Still La

Postby ulix » Mon Mar 07, 2016 3:59 pm

Yeah, I can only repeat my thanks to Introversion for FINALLY tackling performance. The performance beta on Steam gave me a 70%-100% boost. If they continue working on it, maybe we'll soon be able to build prisons with 1000 inmates that actually run smoothly?

One can dream...
Pompier15
level1
level1
Posts: 18
Joined: Wed Dec 31, 2014 10:53 pm

Re: My Computer Meets All the Requirements but Game Still La

Postby Pompier15 » Mon Mar 07, 2016 8:56 pm

Wow It's just amazing thank you Introversion it's all I wanted for the game it's amazing, really !!!! Thank you so much to listen so carefully the community. Really thank YOU !!!! :D :D :D
grubbyseismic
level0
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu Aug 14, 2014 12:22 am
Contact:

Re: My Computer Meets All the Requirements but Game Still La

Postby grubbyseismic » Wed Mar 09, 2016 11:22 pm

I didn't know about this! I'm going to try it now...
grubbyseismic
level0
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu Aug 14, 2014 12:22 am
Contact:

Re: My Computer Meets All the Requirements but Game Still La

Postby grubbyseismic » Fri Mar 25, 2016 12:52 am

As the new update has arrived, I'm going to test if the latest version has incorporated these "speed-fixes"...
RyRyTheGoodGuy
level0
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Feb 01, 2016 9:39 pm

Re: My Computer Meets All the Requirements but Game Still La

Postby RyRyTheGoodGuy » Fri Mar 25, 2016 3:25 am

grubbyseismic wrote:As the new update has arrived, I'm going to test if the latest version has incorporated these "speed-fixes"...


Oh, is the game actually faster?
rgargvanshu
level1
level1
Posts: 30
Joined: Wed Feb 25, 2015 6:52 pm

Re: My Computer Meets All the Requirements but Game Still La

Postby rgargvanshu » Wed Mar 30, 2016 7:16 pm

TheXev wrote:I found the steam thread on this: https://steamcommunity.com/app/233450/d ... 355317048/

I'll be installing fraps to test the differences.

*edit* its a night and day change. I ran run prisons nearly twice the size on my strangely speced system:

AMD Phenom 920
8GBs of RAM
AMD Radeon R9 290

Frame Rate be damned, I can now try to build prisons larger then 180 inmates with way less lag! Beats having to upgrade my cpu (new mobo/cpu/ram atm.. no thanks)

but...why do you need fraps, for checking fps?
Just enable fps overlay from steam and it will show fps , i have it enabled for all my games.

Return to “Community Members”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests