[SUGGESTION] Clone Flip/Rotate

(previously 'DEVELOPER') Private forum for registered community members. To register, please visit www.prison-architect.com/register.

Moderator: NBJeff

Bromstine
level1
level1
Posts: 12
Joined: Thu May 01, 2014 2:38 pm

[SUGGESTION] Clone Flip/Rotate

Postby Bromstine » Sun Sep 21, 2014 3:11 am

My cell blocks (currently) are two rows of cells around a central corridor. Which means the rows are mirror images of each other.

I can clone a cell or two nicely, but if I could flip the cells around an axis, that would be even sweeter, if would spare me the recloning... or whatever you'd call right-dragging a new template.


Along with rotation, that would sweet: cell block A to E are vertical, say, and two more are horizontal. Rotate template, voila, make new cells for block F and G.
Reeferken
level1
level1
Posts: 44
Joined: Wed Jul 31, 2013 9:12 pm

Re: [SUGGESTION] Clone Flip/Rotate

Postby Reeferken » Thu Sep 25, 2014 4:08 am

i would really love this feature...

aka bigger cloning zones (including foundations)
+ flip and rotate options !!

would make adding a new cell block that's identical to your previous one sooo much simpeler !
User avatar
bae85
level1
level1
Posts: 54
Joined: Tue Sep 02, 2014 6:31 am
Location: UK

Re: [SUGGESTION] Clone Flip/Rotate

Postby bae85 » Thu Sep 25, 2014 6:12 am

Reeferken wrote:i would really love this feature...

aka bigger cloning zones (including foundations)
+ flip and rotate options !!

would make adding a new cell block that's identical to your previous one sooo much simpeler !


That's just laziness! :D
Reeferken
level1
level1
Posts: 44
Joined: Wed Jul 31, 2013 9:12 pm

Re: [SUGGESTION] Clone Flip/Rotate

Postby Reeferken » Fri Sep 26, 2014 4:29 am

doing lots of hard work is just a waste when a lazy person could do it with half the effort
User avatar
bae85
level1
level1
Posts: 54
Joined: Tue Sep 02, 2014 6:31 am
Location: UK

Re: [SUGGESTION] Clone Flip/Rotate

Postby bae85 » Fri Sep 26, 2014 6:31 am

Reeferken wrote:doing lots of hard work is just a waste when a lazy person could do it with half the effort


Don't know if you noticed but the games called Prison Architect not Prison Clone. You would be shooting yourself in the foot and get bored pretty quickly if there was no effort when building.
Reeferken
level1
level1
Posts: 44
Joined: Wed Jul 31, 2013 9:12 pm

Re: [SUGGESTION] Clone Flip/Rotate

Postby Reeferken » Fri Sep 26, 2014 6:36 am

id it was pure based on the name we wouldn't need prisoners or staff, just a big drawing board to design the prison and that's it

given the new alpha and the future implementations which will give us a lot more headaches in managing these hoodlums building an exact copy of an already buildt cellblock is just unnecessary timewasting
User avatar
bae85
level1
level1
Posts: 54
Joined: Tue Sep 02, 2014 6:31 am
Location: UK

Re: [SUGGESTION] Clone Flip/Rotate

Postby bae85 » Fri Sep 26, 2014 6:42 am

Reeferken wrote:id it was pure based on the name we wouldn't need prisoners or staff, just a big drawing board to design the prison and that's it

given the new alpha and the future implementations which will give us a lot more headaches in managing these hoodlums building an exact copy of an already buildt cellblock is just unnecessary timewasting


Now we're getting to the crux of the problem, is the game a Prison Building Simulator or a Prison Management Simulator? The name Prison Architect implies it is a Building game, so by your reckoning the name is wrong and the game should be called Prison Manager or something like that?
Reeferken
level1
level1
Posts: 44
Joined: Wed Jul 31, 2013 9:12 pm

Re: [SUGGESTION] Clone Flip/Rotate

Postby Reeferken » Fri Sep 26, 2014 9:03 am

you mentioned the name as an argument to your point, i was just going through with it

I'm just saying it could save a lot of time if you could copy an entire cell block at once rather than spending an hour copying the thing while the game is most likely paused... gives you more time to manage, deal with small or big fires, and build the tons of other buildings, coridors, yards, security measures, ... that are needed
5hifty
level4
level4
Posts: 589
Joined: Sun Aug 18, 2013 8:22 am

Re: [SUGGESTION] Clone Flip/Rotate

Postby 5hifty » Fri Sep 26, 2014 10:53 am

Yeah I'm all for this idea. I want to spend time actually designing my prison, not constantly reinventing the wheel. I don't find 'selecting items repeatably from the menu to construct the same this I just constructed' to be an integral part of the game. The less time I can spend looking at menus, is more time I can spend optimizing and designing my prison. Simplifying the item placement process if detracting from the 'architecture' of the game
Kilmannan
level1
level1
Posts: 18
Joined: Fri Feb 22, 2013 9:19 am

Re: [SUGGESTION] Clone Flip/Rotate

Postby Kilmannan » Fri Sep 26, 2014 7:47 pm

Completely agree - the Clone feature should be able to be as big as you like, with a variety of Clone options:

    Clone Tool:
    Clone structures
    Clone objects
    Clone materials
    Clone utilities
    Clone sub-surface
    Clone all surface
    Clone all

I'm not here to keep clicking on pipes and walls, I want to manage and run my prison - dragging a wall around is not fun. If you don't want to use it, great, don't impose your game style on us though if you don't like the idea. :)
Bossi
level0
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Jun 28, 2014 1:24 am

Re: [SUGGESTION] Clone Flip/Rotate

Postby Bossi » Fri Jan 02, 2015 8:52 pm

Just chiming in to +1 all of this! Was about to make this very same feature request: cloning by any size, and being able to mirror along the x or y axes. I love the planning; not the intimate micromanaging of the construction details.
lunaticneko
level2
level2
Posts: 86
Joined: Mon Oct 29, 2012 3:41 pm
Contact:

Re: [SUGGESTION] Clone Flip/Rotate

Postby lunaticneko » Sat Jan 03, 2015 9:13 am

For some reason the term "architect" sounds like design and resource management.

After all it's not Prison Foreman (where you tell your workers where to place each brick directly) or Prison Electrician (where you manage three-phase generators and keep them synchronized).
windoze9x
level1
level1
Posts: 15
Joined: Mon Jun 30, 2014 12:28 am

Re: [SUGGESTION] Clone Flip/Rotate

Postby windoze9x » Sat Jan 03, 2015 9:32 am

All the clone tool does is spare tedious work. The main problem now though is with such a small clone area you kinda gotta puzzle pieces together. I've gotten pretty used to it personally but if it could be expanded to at least 2x the current size that would be nice. Not sure if cloning utilities would be a good idea...it would definitely have to be an option. Sometimes depending on my power grid placement I could see that causing problems. It would be nice to be able to flip the clone, however for that to work it would be best if the tool showed you what you were cloning instead of the big green box.
User avatar
Alpatron
level1
level1
Posts: 38
Joined: Tue Dec 24, 2013 10:52 pm
Location: The Czech Republic

Re: [SUGGESTION] Clone Flip/Rotate

Postby Alpatron » Sun Jan 04, 2015 3:25 pm

bae85 wrote:
Reeferken wrote:id it was pure based on the name we wouldn't need prisoners or staff, just a big drawing board to design the prison and that's it

given the new alpha and the future implementations which will give us a lot more headaches in managing these hoodlums building an exact copy of an already buildt cellblock is just unnecessary timewasting


Now we're getting to the crux of the problem, is the game a Prison Building Simulator or a Prison Management Simulator? The name Prison Architect implies it is a Building game, so by your reckoning the name is wrong and the game should be called Prison Manager or something like that?


It's named Prison Architect because Prison Tycoon was already taken. :-D
Geeves
level0
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Dec 12, 2014 11:52 am

Re: [SUGGESTION] Clone Flip/Rotate

Postby Geeves » Sun Jan 04, 2015 5:35 pm

I agree that the cloning tool should have some more options.

I do think that having extra options for the cloning tool could be researchable.
And that those researches are locked behind Micromanagement AND Cloning itself.

Having a bigger cloning field would would make starting over a prison (sell -> restart with more cash) a lot faster to do.

Return to “Community Members”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests