[SUGGESTION] Text-Tool for Planing Mode

(previously 'DEVELOPER') Private forum for registered community members. To register, please visit www.prison-architect.com/register.

Moderator: NBJeff

Zottel
level0
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Nov 30, 2013 12:49 pm
Location: Germany

[SUGGESTION] Text-Tool for Planing Mode

Postby Zottel » Thu Apr 03, 2014 6:46 am

First: English is not my mother tongue, so sorry for bad spelling :D

So, here my suggestion: I really miss a text-tool feature for the planning mode, so that I can write some notes onto the map, like names for rooms or something else. Perhaps with a selection of different font sizes.
It would be great, if the devs could implement this neat little feature :) Thanks.
Sparrrrow
level1
level1
Posts: 64
Joined: Tue Mar 04, 2014 1:25 pm

Re: [SUGGESTION] Text-Tool for Planing Mode

Postby Sparrrrow » Thu Apr 03, 2014 8:41 am

would make planning large prisons easier.
now you sometimes forget what building is supposed to be what
5hifty
level4
level4
Posts: 589
Joined: Sun Aug 18, 2013 8:22 am

Re: [SUGGESTION] Text-Tool for Planing Mode

Postby 5hifty » Thu Apr 03, 2014 9:49 am

Maybe make it so you could place a ground type anywhere reguardless of its indoor/outdoor-ness so ou could map them out. They just obviously wouldn't work.
scoobytheoriginal
level0
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Dec 28, 2013 11:12 am

Re: [SUGGESTION] Text-Tool for Planing Mode

Postby scoobytheoriginal » Fri Apr 04, 2014 12:59 pm

+1
I would really like this.
Arnie13
level0
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Apr 05, 2014 2:04 pm

Re: [SUGGESTION] Text-Tool for Planing Mode

Postby Arnie13 » Sat Apr 05, 2014 2:17 pm

+1

I had the same idea of being able to apply text in planning. So that I can remember what I designated that area for.
User avatar
knoest26
level5
level5
Posts: 1380
Joined: Thu Jul 11, 2013 6:55 pm
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: [SUGGESTION] Text-Tool for Planing Mode

Postby knoest26 » Sat Apr 05, 2014 2:28 pm

If you remove the property of indoors from a room in the "materials.txt" file it might help, You can download a mod for it here
User avatar
111none
level4
level4
Posts: 970
Joined: Fri Oct 19, 2012 3:32 am
Location: Wangjing, Beijing, Peoples Republic of China

Re: [SUGGESTION] Text-Tool for Planing Mode

Postby 111none » Mon Apr 07, 2014 8:15 am

This was implemented in an earlier IV game, it should be trivial for them to add this.
User avatar
r0y
level1
level1
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu Apr 03, 2014 8:49 pm
Location: San Luis Obispo, California

Re: [SUGGESTION] Text-Tool for Planing Mode

Postby r0y » Tue Apr 08, 2014 1:58 am

It would also be a great tool to convert existing (built) prisons into layout/blanks. User benpowerman started a thread on blueprints and any text-tool for planning would be made even cooler by having a convert-to-layout tab...
Gabriel10010
level1
level1
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Nov 29, 2013 4:24 pm

Re: [SUGGESTION] Text-Tool for Planing Mode

Postby Gabriel10010 » Tue Apr 08, 2014 2:48 am

+1

Yup! I've been wanting that, BUT I think also, the room labels ( like for when you complete one, ) to know which room is which or as said, use a Text-Label to jot notes and room names.
paeck86
level0
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Sep 09, 2013 4:11 am

Re: [SUGGESTION] Text-Tool for Planing Mode

Postby paeck86 » Mon Aug 11, 2014 3:19 pm

+1

Since this post got published quite a while ago, and I still miss the Text-Tool...maybe somebody gets a little reminder when we keep posting on this thread :lol:
dooferorg
level1
level1
Posts: 24
Joined: Mon Aug 11, 2014 8:40 pm

Re: [SUGGESTION] Text-Tool for Planing Mode

Postby dooferorg » Mon Aug 11, 2014 9:31 pm

I like that mod, very helpful. It would be nice too to have something to say 'okay, build it', from all the plans made. Maybe a 'build this area' selection similar to clone tool that turns the ideas into actual orders to build.

Further to this, the 'objects' planning thing is nice and all, but what if you're new to the game and don't KNOW that the serving station is 5 blocks and the tables are 4. Would be nice to have ghosted representations of all objects, even ones you can't yet place. This would flesh out the whole planning process and make it possible to forsee where things WILL or MIGHT go, without having to hold a lot in ones memory (useful if you start a plan and come back to it).
wafels45
level0
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Sep 13, 2014 6:06 pm

Re: [SUGGESTION] Text-Tool for Planing Mode

Postby wafels45 » Sat Sep 27, 2014 10:27 pm

+1
Glad I didnt start a new topic on this. Was thinking the same things but one thing I would like to add is the abbillity to clone the plans themselves. That way it would be much easier to layout plans for cell blocks and other repetitious rooms.

Return to “Community Members”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests