[QUESTIONS] About bunkbeds and staff only zones

(previously 'DEVELOPER') Private forum for registered community members. To register, please visit www.prison-architect.com/register.

Moderator: NBJeff

LennyLeak
level2
level2
Posts: 98
Joined: Wed Nov 07, 2012 6:55 pm
Location: Copenhagen

[QUESTIONS] About bunkbeds and staff only zones

Postby LennyLeak » Mon Jan 06, 2014 12:56 am

I have two questions that I have been wondering about, and thought someone here might be able to answer them. I did search to find answers to them, but came up short.

I assume that multiple prisoners in a cell is forthcoming since it is both a very intiutive and requested feature. I think it would be rather silly and futile to ask for an ETA, so what I am wondering is, how difficult it will be to implement. That will not tell me when it will be implemented, but it will give me an idea of wether it is a huge change in code that is far down the road, or it is just a matter of getting around to it. So:

1. How hard will it be (code-wise) to implement multiple prisoners pr. cell?

My second question is about the staff only zones, and is pretty straight forward. I remember when the staff only zones were implemented, the devs stated that they were a bit overpowered, since prisoners could not enter them at all.

2. Is the staff only zones still OP, meaning that no prisoner will EVER go there, or have they been fixed to allow mischievous prisoners to trespass?

Regards,
planettop92
level2
level2
Posts: 159
Joined: Sun Dec 08, 2013 4:27 pm

Re: [QUESTIONS] About bunkbeds and staff only zones

Postby planettop92 » Mon Jan 06, 2014 2:36 am

LennyLeak wrote:1. How hard will it be (code-wise) to implement multiple prisoners pr. cell?

to answer this, you have to think about where in the code each prisoner-cell pairing would be utilized. I can think of several examples (not comprehensive):
  • when building the cell, you need to identify whether or not its single or double
  • when getting new prisoners, you need to check which cells are open
  • whenever a prisoner is released, escapes, dies, etc., you need to open up the cell for the next prisoner
  • whenever you implement a search (either by cell, prisoner, or cell block), you need to search the cell (self-explanatory)
  • when creating the sleep animation, you need to check which prisoner gets the top bunk
depending on the perspective, this may or may not seem hard. in my opinion, it's a lot of work/testing involved especially considering this is just what I came up with from the top of my head.

LennyLeak wrote:2. Is the staff only zones still OP, meaning that no prisoner will EVER go there, or have they been fixed to allow mischievous prisoners to trespass?

as far as I can tell, they'll only ever enter the staff only zones when rioting, being escorted to the holding cell/cell, or when they're being released. if IV ever makes it so prisoners can escape by breaking out, that'll probably be when staff only zones are balanced
planettop92
level2
level2
Posts: 159
Joined: Sun Dec 08, 2013 4:27 pm

Re: [QUESTIONS] About bunkbeds and staff only zones

Postby planettop92 » Mon Jan 06, 2014 2:47 am

also, you have to consider what happens when the player decides to get creative and place more than one bed into the cell. for example, using two single beds instead of one bunk bed. or maybe try to use several bunk beds. what would happen when there is both a single and a bunk bed inside the cell?

it's not so intuitive from the programming stand-point, but then again, most things aren't
LennyLeak
level2
level2
Posts: 98
Joined: Wed Nov 07, 2012 6:55 pm
Location: Copenhagen

Re: [QUESTIONS] About bunkbeds and staff only zones

Postby LennyLeak » Mon Jan 06, 2014 5:58 am

Thanks for your thoughts on this.

Personally I would just love to get more prisoners in a single cell. I does not matter a whole lot to me, if it is bunkbeds or just being able to place multiple beds in a single cell. I see your point about the bunkbeds. IMO it would be just perfect, if the code somehow detected how many beds are in a cell, and allowed that many prisoners to get assigned to the cell. Ideally assigning prisoners to a certain bed. I guess this will require quite a bit more variables and AI work.. I'm still curious about the amount of time this would actually take to implement.
User avatar
RichieGrape
level4
level4
Posts: 580
Joined: Sat Dec 28, 2013 5:44 am
Location: Cleveland, OH USA

Re: [QUESTIONS] About bunkbeds and staff only zones

Postby RichieGrape » Mon Jan 06, 2014 10:12 am

planettop92 wrote: if IV ever makes it so prisoners can escape by breaking out, that'll probably be when staff only zones are balanced

i have had a group of inmates break out once but they didn't escape..just broke down door...rioted in the street for a lil bit and than went back into the prison to do more damage

later found out riot was caused by saving/loading my game while inmates are asleep.,...
RotorHed
level0
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Jan 03, 2014 9:24 am

Re: [QUESTIONS] About bunkbeds and staff only zones

Postby RotorHed » Mon Jan 06, 2014 7:07 pm

Just thinking out loud about the multiple prisoner/cell feature, it seems relatively straightforward to create a new room type (multi-occupant cell) with the same requirements as the current cell except a bunk must be used rather than a bed.

In fact the game already has a the holding cell so really a variant of that could be made which prisoners get assigned to long term. Then you can create cells as big a you like with various amounts of beds and let the prisoners stay there.

Rotor.
planettop92
level2
level2
Posts: 159
Joined: Sun Dec 08, 2013 4:27 pm

Re: [QUESTIONS] About bunkbeds and staff only zones

Postby planettop92 » Mon Jan 06, 2014 7:51 pm

RichieGrape wrote:
planettop92 wrote: if IV ever makes it so prisoners can escape by breaking out, that'll probably be when staff only zones are balanced

i have had a group of inmates break out once but they didn't escape..just broke down door...rioted in the street for a lil bit and than went back into the prison to do more damage

later found out riot was caused by saving/loading my game while inmates are asleep.,...

hmm, this may be a bug; I'm not sure if it's already been reported or not.

RotorHed wrote:Just thinking out loud about the multiple prisoner/cell feature, it seems relatively straightforward to create a new room type (multi-occupant cell) with the same requirements as the current cell except a bunk must be used rather than a bed.

again, it's not really whether or not this is hard or straightforward to do, it's more about the amount of work and (as LennyLeak mentioned) the amount of time it'll take to implement it.

RotorHed wrote:In fact the game already has a the holding cell so really a variant of that could be made which prisoners get assigned to long term. Then you can create cells as big a you like with various amounts of beds and let the prisoners stay there.

when considering a multi-occupant cell, you have to think about what it really means for a prisoner to be assigned a cell. holding cells are different in that they aren't really meant to house prisoners, although due to the nature of the game, players have the freedom to do so if they wanted hahaha.
HerrJoebob
level4
level4
Posts: 750
Joined: Sat Nov 24, 2012 8:57 pm
Location: Oregon

Re: [QUESTIONS] About bunkbeds and staff only zones

Postby HerrJoebob » Mon Jan 06, 2014 10:16 pm

planettop92 wrote:
RotorHed wrote:In fact the game already has a the holding cell so really a variant of that could be made which prisoners get assigned to long term. Then you can create cells as big a you like with various amounts of beds and let the prisoners stay there.

when considering a multi-occupant cell, you have to think about what it really means for a prisoner to be assigned a cell. holding cells are different in that they aren't really meant to house prisoners, although due to the nature of the game, players have the freedom to do so if they wanted hahaha.


Actually holding cells are long-term accomodation now; not sure when it changed, but at least as of A16 HC occupants are no longer automatically escorted out when a cell opens up. My current prison has 2 HCs and if prisoners overflow into them, I just let the ones with no privacy issues stay there for their term instead of assigning them a private cell.

So, we essentially already have multi-occupant cells in the game.
User avatar
RichieGrape
level4
level4
Posts: 580
Joined: Sat Dec 28, 2013 5:44 am
Location: Cleveland, OH USA

Re: [QUESTIONS] About bunkbeds and staff only zones

Postby RichieGrape » Tue Jan 07, 2014 2:55 am

HerrJoebob wrote:
planettop92 wrote:
RotorHed wrote:In fact the game already has a the holding cell so really a variant of that could be made which prisoners get assigned to long term. Then you can create cells as big a you like with various amounts of beds and let the prisoners stay there.

when considering a multi-occupant cell, you have to think about what it really means for a prisoner to be assigned a cell. holding cells are different in that they aren't really meant to house prisoners, although due to the nature of the game, players have the freedom to do so if they wanted hahaha.


Actually holding cells are long-term accomodation now; not sure when it changed, but at least as of A16 HC occupants are no longer automatically escorted out when a cell opens up. My current prison has 2 HCs and if prisoners overflow into them, I just let the ones with no privacy issues stay there for their term instead of assigning them a private cell.

So, we essentially already have multi-occupant cells in the game.

yea i've been using the holding cell as more of a open dormitory and cells for an actuall cell block

Return to “Community Members”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest