Alpha 16 running worst than Alpha 15

(previously 'DEVELOPER') Private forum for registered community members. To register, please visit www.prison-architect.com/register.

Moderator: NBJeff

adamwpe
level1
level1
Posts: 48
Joined: Sun Oct 14, 2012 12:52 pm

Alpha 16 running worst than Alpha 15

Postby adamwpe » Mon Dec 30, 2013 2:58 pm

Is this just me, i started a new prison with lakes ect. when building it getting laggy, i means not 1 fps but like 10 fps which is really annoying, and in alpha 16 i can easily run 300+ prisoner prison without lag issues.
thekillergreece
level4
level4
Posts: 876
Joined: Wed Jun 12, 2013 1:31 pm
Location: Ammm...Greece maybe?

Re: Alpha 16 running worst than Alpha 15

Postby thekillergreece » Mon Dec 30, 2013 3:30 pm

Yep, I got some lags when I start new prison(Only when I start the game, thought), Apparently, Alpha16 features NO perfomance improvements.
User avatar
Meeeps
level3
level3
Posts: 352
Joined: Thu Oct 10, 2013 2:28 pm

Re: Alpha 16 running worst than Alpha 15

Postby Meeeps » Mon Dec 30, 2013 4:03 pm

I think, Alpha15 had "too much" performance optimization, specially the fast forwards were mostly unusable. That Alpha 16 might run slower because they fixed some issues regarding to those immense optimization
b0rk
level1
level1
Posts: 12
Joined: Sun Sep 15, 2013 5:29 pm

Re: Alpha 16 running worst than Alpha 15

Postby b0rk » Mon Dec 30, 2013 9:03 pm

I think from watching my test large prison open that some form of delay load behaviour has been implemented. So that the save initially loads very quickly to the point of displaying the map whilst path finding and area's are calculated in the background. Alpha 15 may have introduced this? but the more sophisticated zoning of alpha 16 now takes quite a while to recalculate and the game lags badly whilst this is going on.

I've found a 900 inmate jail opens in about 2 minutes but takes approx 15 minutes to fully load before ultimately running at a similar speed to alpha 15.
Murp
level0
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Oct 19, 2013 10:33 pm

Re: Alpha 16 running worst than Alpha 15

Postby Murp » Mon Dec 30, 2013 9:12 pm

None of the time speedups work for me. Does anybody else have this problem?
User avatar
Meeeps
level3
level3
Posts: 352
Joined: Thu Oct 10, 2013 2:28 pm

Re: Alpha 16 running worst than Alpha 15

Postby Meeeps » Mon Dec 30, 2013 9:23 pm

Murp wrote:None of the time speedups work for me. Does anybody else have this problem?
Yes, prisons with more than 100 inmates won't profit from those speedups, but on those sizes, the speedups are not very much needed anyway.
Murp
level0
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Oct 19, 2013 10:33 pm

Re: Alpha 16 running worst than Alpha 15

Postby Murp » Mon Dec 30, 2013 9:38 pm

Meeeps wrote:
Murp wrote:None of the time speedups work for me. Does anybody else have this problem?
Yes, prisons with more than 100 inmates won't profit from those speedups, but on those sizes, the speedups are not very much needed anyway.

I don't have any inmates. I just opened the map and after some time spent building i saved and quit PA and now when I go on to continue construction I can't speed up the game.

Return to “Community Members”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests