[Bug] More zoning issues (see pg. 2)

(previously 'DEVELOPER') Private forum for registered community members. To register, please visit www.prison-architect.com/register.

Moderator: NBJeff

Legion303
level1
level1
Posts: 59
Joined: Sat Sep 30, 2006 10:19 am

[Bug] More zoning issues (see pg. 2)

Postby Legion303 » Sun Sep 30, 2012 2:49 pm

Image

I don't know how to reproduce this. I've never seen it before this map, which has deliveries moved and no prisoners. But as you can see, the filing cabinet took on the room requirements somehow, so that the room is showing a warning even though it meets all requirements.

Win7 32-bit, 4GB RAM, Core 2 Duo processor, ATI X1450 graphics card with legacy drivers (laptop).

EDIT: changed subject from "Items gaining room properties"
Last edited by Legion303 on Tue Oct 02, 2012 12:51 pm, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
a__gun
level3
level3
Posts: 281
Joined: Wed Sep 26, 2012 4:16 pm
Location: UK

Postby a__gun » Sun Sep 30, 2012 4:35 pm

I believe that highlighting any object in an incomplete room brings up the rooms requirements. You are technically over a room square
User avatar
xyzyxx
level5
level5
Posts: 3790
Joined: Wed Jul 02, 2003 7:50 pm
Location: Iowa, USA
Contact:

Postby xyzyxx » Sun Sep 30, 2012 4:38 pm

I also seemed to encounter a bug where objects would gain the attribute of a staff member:

I clicked on a toilet and it said "Escort Prisoner to Holding Cell (Queued)"
Some people talk because they have something to say. Others talk because they have to say something.
User avatar
a__gun
level3
level3
Posts: 281
Joined: Wed Sep 26, 2012 4:16 pm
Location: UK

Postby a__gun » Sun Sep 30, 2012 5:04 pm

Was the toilet on top of the square the prisoner was meant to be escorted to? Thats meant to happen
Mas Tnega
level5
level5
Posts: 7898
Joined: Sat Mar 02, 2002 11:54 pm
Location: Edinburgh
Contact:

Postby Mas Tnega » Sun Sep 30, 2012 5:17 pm

xyzyxx wrote:I also seemed to encounter a bug where objects would gain the attribute of a staff member:

I clicked on a toilet and it said "Escort Prisoner to Holding Cell (Queued)"
That'll be because it's that holding cell that the prisoner is being escorted to. More accurately, that square which happens to be a holding cell zone is where the prisoner is being escorted to. There's just a toilet on that square as well.

Edit: What a__gun said.
Legion303
level1
level1
Posts: 59
Joined: Sat Sep 30, 2006 10:19 am

Postby Legion303 » Mon Oct 01, 2012 3:18 am

a__gun wrote:I believe that highlighting any object in an incomplete room brings up the rooms requirements. You are technically over a room square


If that were the case, then the other objects in the room would also have displayed the same message, but they didn't.

I have also seen this behavior on a free-standing outdoor light.
User avatar
a__gun
level3
level3
Posts: 281
Joined: Wed Sep 26, 2012 4:16 pm
Location: UK

Postby a__gun » Mon Oct 01, 2012 10:23 am

Well I dunno about the outdoor light, but what I said certainly applies to all indoor items for me. Was the outdoor light in a outdoor room perhaps..?
Legion303
level1
level1
Posts: 59
Joined: Sat Sep 30, 2006 10:19 am

Postby Legion303 » Mon Oct 01, 2012 2:16 pm

Look at the picture again.
User avatar
a__gun
level3
level3
Posts: 281
Joined: Wed Sep 26, 2012 4:16 pm
Location: UK

Postby a__gun » Mon Oct 01, 2012 3:10 pm

What am I looking at? The fact that the room already contains everything to meet the requirements? I'd assumed that as there was still an exclamation over the room itself then the game had still not registered the requirements being completed (game on pause perhaps)
Luzal
level1
level1
Posts: 12
Joined: Wed Sep 26, 2012 5:30 pm

Postby Luzal » Mon Oct 01, 2012 3:17 pm

Looks like the part of the room containing the desk and the chair (reported missing) is not part of the "Office" Label. No ckeckboard on them.
Legion303
level1
level1
Posts: 59
Joined: Sat Sep 30, 2006 10:19 am

Postby Legion303 » Mon Oct 01, 2012 4:33 pm

You're looking at the bug I reported. The room does contain everything it requires, the entire square is covered by the room type, and the game had been running for several in-game days with this bug showing before I took the screen shot.
gorse
level1
level1
Posts: 14
Joined: Mon Oct 01, 2012 4:05 pm

Postby gorse » Mon Oct 01, 2012 4:53 pm

Cant tell from the screenshot but is there even a way into the room? The door looks the wrong way round.
Maybe that is stopping the game from "completing" the room, and this "bug" is a side-effect of that?
User avatar
iheartpie
level1
level1
Posts: 28
Joined: Wed Sep 26, 2012 10:41 pm
Location: United Kingdom
Contact:

Postby iheartpie » Mon Oct 01, 2012 6:15 pm

You're looking at the bug I reported. The room does contain everything it requires, the entire square is covered by the room type, and the game had been running for several in-game days with this bug showing before I took the screen shot.


The bottom left of the room isn't a security room. So the desk and chair aren't in the room. You can see the checkboard colour is different - you just need to make that bottom corner part of the security room. As an additional indicator, the exclamation mark isn't in the center of the walled area which it would be if the whole room was designated as a security room. Hope it helps!

Also, your door is on sideways :)
Voideka
level1
level1
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Sep 27, 2012 10:20 pm

Postby Voideka » Mon Oct 01, 2012 9:36 pm

iheartpie wrote:The bottom left of the room isn't a security room. So the desk and chair aren't in the room. You can see the checkboard colour is different - you just need to make that bottom corner part of the security room. As an additional indicator, the exclamation mark isn't in the center of the walled area which it would be if the whole room was designated as a security room. Hope it helps!

Also, your door is on sideways :)


Can't be. First of all the word "security" spans the whole thing, meaning it's part of the room. Secondly, if they were separate rooms, both would be marked as incomplete since the bottom left one would be missing the filing cabinet.

In either case I would suggest trying to dezone and then rezone the room.
User avatar
Hessen
level3
level3
Posts: 291
Joined: Wed Sep 26, 2012 7:47 pm
Location: Swindon, England

Postby Hessen » Mon Oct 01, 2012 9:40 pm

The word security spans the whole thing because the top left of the room is zoned correctly.

The bottom left squares are clearly not zoned as security. In fact it isn't zoned as anything at all which is why there is no second alert for it.

The door also needs rotating :p

Return to “Community Members”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 35 guests