[BUG] Cannot turn power on no matter what I try.

(previously 'DEVELOPER') Private forum for registered community members. To register, please visit www.prison-architect.com/register.

Moderator: NBJeff

User avatar
Wasgood
level5
level5
Posts: 1082
Joined: Sat Sep 02, 2006 11:44 am

[BUG] Cannot turn power on no matter what I try.

Postby Wasgood » Thu Sep 27, 2012 12:22 pm

This could be user error (it's still helpful to know what needs clarifying in the tutorial anyway right?)
I have my prision, I ran out of power. I added capacitors, they did not solve the problem, I then added another generator, which didn't help. I tried turning them all off and on again in a few different sequences.

Here's a save of my prision
https://dl.dropbox.com/u/10743226/POWER.prison
Vampyre
level1
level1
Posts: 26
Joined: Mon Dec 13, 2010 5:39 pm

Did you try

Postby Vampyre » Thu Sep 27, 2012 12:28 pm

Did you tried turning the capactor on before turning the generator on ?
User avatar
Wasgood
level5
level5
Posts: 1082
Joined: Sat Sep 02, 2006 11:44 am

Postby Wasgood » Thu Sep 27, 2012 12:36 pm

Yes. I have.
User avatar
gsuberland
level2
level2
Posts: 161
Joined: Wed Sep 26, 2012 7:29 pm
Location: United Kingdom
Contact:

Postby gsuberland » Thu Sep 27, 2012 12:48 pm

Maybe my power bug wasn't as erroneous as I thought...
User avatar
Wasgood
level5
level5
Posts: 1082
Joined: Sat Sep 02, 2006 11:44 am

Postby Wasgood » Thu Sep 27, 2012 12:51 pm

I did see that, but it looks like you solved your problem, I don't know what would be different in my situation.
Vampyre
level1
level1
Posts: 26
Joined: Mon Dec 13, 2010 5:39 pm

Postby Vampyre » Thu Sep 27, 2012 12:59 pm

I just tried your save, and in all honesty, I have no idea what to do.

I tried to remove the 3 capacitors that are jumping when the electricity fails, but it doesn't solve it.

If it would be in real life, I would say there is a shortcut somewhere... But for now I don't see why the electricity fail... I keep searching and will post you if I find something. I need to check every system you place, so it might take a little bit of time...
User avatar
Wasgood
level5
level5
Posts: 1082
Joined: Sat Sep 02, 2006 11:44 am

Postby Wasgood » Thu Sep 27, 2012 1:02 pm

A bug I found!
Vampyre
level1
level1
Posts: 26
Joined: Mon Dec 13, 2010 5:39 pm

Postby Vampyre » Thu Sep 27, 2012 1:04 pm

Hmmm I found something... I need to check this out... Look at the screenie :

Image

See the difference between the two ? What is that green bar on the right electric generator ? Is there any durability in them ?
Vampyre
level1
level1
Posts: 26
Joined: Mon Dec 13, 2010 5:39 pm

Postby Vampyre » Thu Sep 27, 2012 1:11 pm

Hmmm no, nothing changing by removing and rebuilding the power generator. Very interesting thing... But right now, I have no idea what's wrong... Yes, maybe you could rename your thread with a bug since I don't know why it's powering for 3 seconds and shutting down.

It's not a lack of power either since placing two generator doesn't solve it.

I only see two things right now that could explain it.

1 - There are to many systems interconnected
2 - A bug

I could try recreating your save by dividing in two things with two generator. Let's say the right generator delivers the right side, while the left one the left side...

Not sure if I have enough money though to try that.
Vampyre
level1
level1
Posts: 26
Joined: Mon Dec 13, 2010 5:39 pm

Postby Vampyre » Thu Sep 27, 2012 1:15 pm

I got it !

I can now confirm you have to many systems interconnected. I did this :

Image

And it works (notice the red power bar... It seems that if it's to high, it's overpowered and you need to isolate systems).
User avatar
gsuberland
level2
level2
Posts: 161
Joined: Wed Sep 26, 2012 7:29 pm
Location: United Kingdom
Contact:

Postby gsuberland » Thu Sep 27, 2012 1:16 pm

If you look carefully, the graphic for the generator is actually just offset by a bit. The "bar" you see behind is the underlying bitmap colour, probably copied from the backbuffer.
Vampyre
level1
level1
Posts: 26
Joined: Mon Dec 13, 2010 5:39 pm

Postby Vampyre » Thu Sep 27, 2012 1:25 pm

There you are.

This is your save modified with one section not powered, and as you can see, you have electricity.

What do do now ?

- either put a lot of capacitors
- either add a second generator and isolate the circuits.

Hope this help :-)

Nice prison btw :p

http://dl.dropbox.com/u/92373474/power.prison
User avatar
Wasgood
level5
level5
Posts: 1082
Joined: Sat Sep 02, 2006 11:44 am

Postby Wasgood » Thu Sep 27, 2012 1:31 pm

Thanks! Too many systems interconnected? What do you mean by that?

So I simply had too much stuff connected? I solve this with another generator right? What do capacitors actually do?
Vampyre
level1
level1
Posts: 26
Joined: Mon Dec 13, 2010 5:39 pm

Postby Vampyre » Thu Sep 27, 2012 1:38 pm

Well, check your power generator.

It has a limit to what you can connect to it. You were way over its capacity. The generator could not generate enough power to sustain all the systems that were linked to you power generator (i'm sorry, I'm not english native, and just trying to do my best :p)

So now, either build other capacitors, or build a new generator. I tried that second solution, but it doesn't divide the electricity in two (even though you should be able to sustain in theory since you have twice the power). The first generator being overloaded, it still jump out of electricity. So if you chose for a second generator, you have to isolate what this system will power. In your example, I would build a second generator on top of the map, and deliver electricity to the places I shut down in the save.

One of those two should do it either way, one being more complicated than the other.

Edit : if you want I can deliver a save game with what I have in mind, which is easier to explain.
User avatar
Wasgood
level5
level5
Posts: 1082
Joined: Sat Sep 02, 2006 11:44 am

Postby Wasgood » Thu Sep 27, 2012 1:42 pm

I've done what you said and constructed a second generator, this works fine.

Your english is quite good.

Return to “Community Members”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest