weird dots all over the screen

General chit-chat and minor questions about just about anything

Moderator: NBJeff

dogbandit2
level0
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Nov 24, 2012 6:07 pm

weird dots all over the screen

Postby dogbandit2 » Fri Sep 25, 2015 8:45 pm

Hi ive been trying to play PA and i am having a lot of graphical issues.

windowed mode: i get these weird dots all over the screen (in the screenshot i attached)

full screen: i have to click off the game for anything to work and then as soon as i click on the game it freezes but i have sound.

I have reinstalled PA, used compatability modes and safe mode. I even turned off catalyst A.I. and still nothing works. In all the searches i have done so far on the internet i have found one person on steam that has had the dots but they never got a solution to this problem on their thread on the steam community. I really need help with this issues as i do not have any idea what to do. Im sure it is not a hardware issues as my computer has had it installed for a while and it always worked. I didnt play it for a couple of months. I come back on and it isnt working. All help will be appreciated and if anyone knows a solution please help me.

Link to the screenshot: http://1drv.ms/1OyNHFK
GC13
level2
level2
Posts: 211
Joined: Tue Jul 23, 2013 4:06 pm

Re: weird dots all over the screen

Postby GC13 » Fri Sep 25, 2015 10:19 pm

You say it's likely not a hardware problem, but what hardware are you using? Knowing your OS would also help.

Have you updated your graphics card's driver? If it's been a while, try updating. If you've updated recently, try rolling back. Software is weird like that sometimes.
dogbandit2
level0
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Nov 24, 2012 6:07 pm

Re: weird dots all over the screen

Postby dogbandit2 » Sat Sep 26, 2015 11:33 am

I'm running Windows 8.1 and I updated the graphics drivers after I noticed the problem and still nothing. My graphics hardware is Radeon r5 235x and Radeon HD 8650 dual graphics and it worked fine last time I played it. I found this time that it is not working. I have no idea what's happened to it.
GC13
level2
level2
Posts: 211
Joined: Tue Jul 23, 2013 4:06 pm

Re: weird dots all over the screen

Postby GC13 » Sat Sep 26, 2015 5:22 pm

Well have you tried disabling one card? The code for Prison Architect has been changing a lot over time: an optimization may have broken your setup.
dogbandit2
level0
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Nov 24, 2012 6:07 pm

Re: weird dots all over the screen

Postby dogbandit2 » Sat Sep 26, 2015 5:26 pm

Okay I will try that and let you know thanks for the help
dogbandit2
level0
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Nov 24, 2012 6:07 pm

Re: weird dots all over the screen

Postby dogbandit2 » Sat Sep 26, 2015 11:25 pm

It worked :) Thank you for your help
GC13
level2
level2
Posts: 211
Joined: Tue Jul 23, 2013 4:06 pm

Re: weird dots all over the screen

Postby GC13 » Sun Sep 27, 2015 12:10 am

Huzzah! I'm glad you can play again.

Return to “General”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests