[Tool] Prison Architect Save Editor

General chit-chat and minor questions about just about anything

Moderator: NBJeff

User avatar
Threehorns
level3
level3
Posts: 263
Joined: Sun Feb 01, 2015 5:40 am

Re: [Tool] Prison Architect Save Editor

Postby Threehorns » Thu Feb 19, 2015 9:10 pm

nice tool.

I got suggestion for addition right away to remove some bugs:
- removing visitors that are linked to non-existing prisoners
- removing tunnels (under roads cant be removed atm)
- removing zombie prisoners that haven't learned to find the hearse. (ie the dead ones)
DATA78Lux
level0
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Feb 17, 2015 10:56 am

Re: [Tool] Prison Architect Save Editor

Postby DATA78Lux » Thu Feb 19, 2015 9:14 pm

blipadouzi wrote:Here are 2 prisons..

The first is a map I've been working on for a VERY long time, like since A23, and have been keeping updated. I last played it a week ago, so it is saved in the newest format. This one opens just fine in the editor for me.

https://app.box.com/s/ijp2komizr68n0347r5c1is1t52ohdm4

The second one is a prison I started just this morning, it has absolutely nothing in it except for a new planning lines. This too works in the editor.

https://app.box.com/s/moowlwz811wrqru29ppdv6o4141aqhis

EDIT: Forgot to answer your question... yes I use the Steam version


Hi,

thank you for the information and the save games.

Both aren't opening on my side so I think the problem doesn't come from the save games nor from the steam version.

Hmm what language setting are you using?

Thank you in advance.

Kind regards,
--
DATA78Lux
User avatar
blipadouzi
level4
level4
Posts: 567
Joined: Fri Sep 06, 2013 5:35 pm
Location: Canada
Contact:

Re: [Tool] Prison Architect Save Editor

Postby blipadouzi » Thu Feb 19, 2015 11:27 pm

OS is Windows 8 English standard
Game is in English (from the Vanilla game)
Steam is in English

BTW, I'm getting the impression from your question that you might be using a translation pack. Translations are considered as mods, so when we had this conversation:

DATA78Lux wrote:
blipadouzi wrote:Do the saves have any mods on them? Not sure how well the editor can handle modded saves.


Hi,

no, I don't use any modds I like the game how it is.../


If you are using a translation then you should have answered Yes.
DATA78Lux
level0
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Feb 17, 2015 10:56 am

Re: [Tool] Prison Architect Save Editor

Postby DATA78Lux » Fri Feb 20, 2015 7:54 am

blipadouzi wrote:OS is Windows 8 English standard
Game is in English (from the Vanilla game)
Steam is in English

BTW, I'm getting the impression from your question that you might be using a translation pack. Translations are considered as mods, so when we had this conversation:

DATA78Lux wrote:
blipadouzi wrote:Do the saves have any mods on them? Not sure how well the editor can handle modded saves.


Hi,

no, I don't use any modds I like the game how it is.../


If you are using a translation then you should have answered Yes.


Hi,

no translation running and also no modd.

Steam is English, game is English even Windows 8.1 64bit is English but my regional settings are English US with some changes (keyboard, currency, time ...),

Kind regards,
--
DATA78Lux
User avatar
blipadouzi
level4
level4
Posts: 567
Joined: Fri Sep 06, 2013 5:35 pm
Location: Canada
Contact:

Re: [Tool] Prison Architect Save Editor

Postby blipadouzi » Fri Feb 20, 2015 11:47 am

We pretty much have the same configuration then... not sure why it's not working for you.
mbiggs31183
level0
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Dec 20, 2014 10:10 pm

Re: [Tool] Prison Architect Save Editor

Postby mbiggs31183 » Sat Apr 04, 2015 8:12 pm

Are we going to see an update for alpha 31b or subsequent updates?
User avatar
blipadouzi
level4
level4
Posts: 567
Joined: Fri Sep 06, 2013 5:35 pm
Location: Canada
Contact:

Re: [Tool] Prison Architect Save Editor

Postby blipadouzi » Fri May 29, 2015 5:53 pm

mbiggs31183 wrote:Are we going to see an update for alpha 31b or subsequent updates?


The GitHub was updated recently.. but I have no idea how to compile the files into an EXE, and it seems the author hasn't released a compiled version
Ordem
level0
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue May 19, 2015 10:57 pm

Re: [Tool] Prison Architect Save Editor

Postby Ordem » Fri May 29, 2015 10:30 pm

awesome just thought about a Save editor a few days ago and now i see this *-*

Thank you for your awesome(ness) work :3
User avatar
CumpyLustard
level2
level2
Posts: 174
Joined: Wed Jul 16, 2014 12:26 am
Location: United States

Re: [Tool] Prison Architect Save Editor

Postby CumpyLustard » Mon Oct 12, 2015 3:28 am

(Sorry to revive this thread, although I guess the last reply wasn't that long ago, but it's still a pretty old thread regardless).

Has anyone tried using this in 1.0 yet? I realize it hasn't been updated in a while but I was curious if anyone had tried it out already.
Katsuhiko
level0
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Oct 12, 2015 2:12 pm

Re: [Tool] Prison Architect Save Editor

Postby Katsuhiko » Thu Oct 15, 2015 12:04 am

I've tried it, sadly it's not working for me.

It throws me a value error :/
Benmc70
level1
level1
Posts: 16
Joined: Fri Sep 11, 2015 6:15 pm

Re: [Tool] Prison Architect Save Editor

Postby Benmc70 » Sat Oct 17, 2015 12:11 pm

freakyguy59 wrote:This tool looks nice but unfortunately I can't load any savegames...
After launching the game and choosing the file i get this:

---------------------------
Error loading test.prison
---------------------------
An error occured while loading:

FormatException

Input string was not in a correct format.
---------------------------
OK
---------------------------

I run Win7 with latest .NET installed. Any suggestions what might cause this issue?
Thanks for any help. :)

Same for me. OS and game are set up in french and #net runtimes are in the latest version.
Inge Jones
level2
level2
Posts: 236
Joined: Tue Jul 29, 2014 9:15 am

Re: [Tool] Prison Architect Save Editor

Postby Inge Jones » Sat Oct 17, 2015 12:35 pm

Famous last words "I plan to keep this updated". If I had a penny for every time I saw those last words from some talented modder I'd be rich. Creative people sadly move onto other novelties.
WIssX
level1
level1
Posts: 17
Joined: Wed Oct 14, 2015 2:31 am

Re: [Tool] Prison Architect Save Editor

Postby WIssX » Sat Oct 17, 2015 6:10 pm

Gave me a idea. Challenge maps. Everything is pre set but you have 10 chalenges
User avatar
HockeyMike24
level1
level1
Posts: 20
Joined: Sat Jun 29, 2013 3:43 am
Location: Canada
Contact:

Re: [Tool] Prison Architect Save Editor

Postby HockeyMike24 » Sun Nov 08, 2015 11:48 pm

Does it work with escape mode?
sirNoolas
level1
level1
Posts: 39
Joined: Sat Nov 30, 2013 12:41 pm

Re: [Tool] Prison Architect Save Editor

Postby sirNoolas » Thu Dec 24, 2015 1:23 am

This tool inspired me to do a nice challenge project (being an unexperienced programmer). I got my old python 3.4 IDLE out of the dust, and got to work.

It turned out to become just above expectations (which weren't very high, to start with), but probably not of great use to others (sharing it here anyway).

I found that the object oriented approach of the original is very complex and hard to get into (for me, that is), it isn't commented either. I figured it was easier just to go with buggy and simple: the result was a buggy and simple tool (about 800 lines of code) which could theoretically (I got into problems while compiling D: ) be used on Linux, Mac and even Windows!

The code can be found here: https://github.com/sirNoolas/PA-Save-editor
Maybe someone can give a little feedback to this secondary-school non-python programmer (about the code preferably), it would be much appreciated

Return to “General”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 57 guests