I need some BIG help! [Bug/Glitch] Whole computer freezes!

General chit-chat and minor questions about just about anything

Moderator: NBJeff

XMan3
level1
level1
Posts: 12
Joined: Thu Jul 03, 2014 8:54 am

I need some BIG help! [Bug/Glitch] Whole computer freezes!

Postby XMan3 » Mon Aug 04, 2014 6:22 pm

When i start Prison architect on my Steam, it starts normally, but when the empty prison appears, it is pitch black!
I get message saying Cashflow XX
XX is 35 or something like that.
When i wait some seconds my WHOLE computer crashes! I have to restart it by using power button!
I have newest drivers, and using following:

GeForce GT 630M
Intel core i7-3610QM CPU @ 2.30GHz
6,00 GB RAM
Screen size: 1366x768 60Hz
OS: Windows 7 Home premium

This computer IS laptop... but is really good.
It HAS been able to run Prison architect before. But after A21(?) Update happend, it started doing this.

Anyone else having this problem? Or got fix?

And before anyone suggests safe mode, I HAVE TRIED IT. Didn't work.

Debug.txt:
alpha-23d pc steam compiled 17:59:09, Jul 31 2014
Loading Preferences from C:\Users\Mikko\AppData\Local/Introversion/Prison Architect/preferences.txt
BEGIN DataRegistry DUMP:
Screen
ScreenW [int] 0
ScreenH [int] 0
ScreenWindowed [bool] 0
ScreenHighDPI [bool] 0
ScreenMultiSampled [bool] 0
ScreenSuperSampled [bool] 0
Sound
SoundMixFrequency [int] 22050
SoundVolume [int] 255
SoundSwapStereo [bool] 0
SoundEnableDsp [bool] 1
RenderRooms [bool] 1
RecentMap [string]
FirstTime [bool] 0
AutoSaveTimer [int] 10
HardwareCompat [int] 0
LastKnownVersion [string] alpha-22-pc-steam
RegistrationShown [bool] 0
TimeLapseCamera [int] 0
TimeLapseInterval [int] 1
TimeLapseFPSNumerator [int] 24
TimeLapseFPSDenominator [int] 1
TimeLapseQuality [int] 63
Mods [string]
LastSubCheck [int] 0
UiScale [float] 1.00
ForumId [int] 0
END DataRegistry DUMP:
Suggested resolution : 1366 x 768
OpenGL Vendor : NVIDIA Corporation
OpenGL Renderer : GeForce GT 630M/PCIe/SSE2
OpenGL Version : 4.4.0
OpenGL GLSL : 4.40 NVIDIA via Cg compiler
Parsing archive main.dat...
Parsing archive at path 'main.dat'
DONE
Parsing archive sounds.dat...
Parsing archive at path 'sounds.dat'
DONE
Invalid multi-byte UTF8 character: 0XFF
Loaded in 1780 strings
Couldn't open unicode language file data/language/fullgame.txt
Initialising SDL Audio:
Frequency: 22050
Format: 32784
Channels: 2
Samples: 512
Size of Stereo Sample: 4
SoundLibrary2D Starting buffer topup thread....
SoundSystem started : 22050Hz x 64 sound channels (including 8 music channels)
Requesting message-of-the-day...
Curl version libcurl/7.27.0
MessageQueue HTTPThread (115F6518) running.
There are 0 mod sub directories
Invalid multi-byte UTF8 character: 0XFF
Loaded in 1780 strings
Couldn't open unicode language file data/language/fullgame.txt
libpng version 1.4.7 - April 10, 2011
(Running with version 1.4.7)
Object spritebank composite took 3822ms
Warning: Loading a very high res image (2432x128)
Warning: mipmaps requested for non-power-of-two image (2432x128), will break on OpenGL ES
[SteamWrapper] SteamAPI is initialised.
[SteamWorkshopWrapper::ListPublishedFiles] Listing published files from index 0
Fonts loaded in 610ms
OpenGL Max texture Size 16384 x 16384 [192 tex units]
Multisampled Framebuffer support : yes
Supersampling support at screen res 1366 x 768 : yes
================
== NEW MAP ===
================
MaterialLibrary reading from 'data/materials.txt'
ReformProgramManager reading from data/reform_programs.txt...
World Initialised to size 100 x 80 cells
GridRoutingSystem(132E0F18) constructed.
MessageQueue GridRoutingSystem (132E0F18) running.
Grid Navigation System initialised
GridRoutingSystem created Route Work-In-Progress and CellInfo (size 468Kb)
EscapeMap Initialised : 62Kb
MessageQueue LightMap (11597DF0) running.
Lightmap initialised in 3ms : 93Kb
Danger initialised : 31Kb
Patrol System Initialised : 218Kb
Gang System Initialised : 125Kb
Created FrameBuffer of size 512 x 512 in 10ms
Water System Initialised : 312Kb
PowerSystem initialised : 62Kb
Research System reading layout from data/research-layout.txt
PolaroidSystem has 41 polaroids in the database
ScriptSystem initialised in 0ms
Parsing LUA script 'data/grants.lua'
BiographyGenerator reading bios...
BiographyGenerator read 27 fornames, 235 surnames, 48 crimes
BiographyGenerator reading Names in the Game...
BiographyGenerator read 9809 Names in the Game (including 74 Faces in the game)
Generating new world...
Create starting world done...
Saving Preferences to C:\Users\Mikko\AppData\Local/Introversion/Prison Architect/preferences.txt
Save successful!
[SteamWorkshopWrapper::OnListPublishedFiles] Starting subscribed files listing
[SteamWorkshopWrapper::ListSubscribedFiles] Listing published files from index 0
WorldRenderer: vexCellTypes initialised in 3ms : 16000 triangles (vex,tex), 0.9 MBytes
ShaderOpenGL successfully compiled : LightMap
WorldRenderer: vexCell2ndLayer initialised in 3ms : 16000 triangles (vex,tex), 0.9 MBytes
WorldRenderer: vexDetails initialised in 4ms : 16000 triangles (vex,tex,col), 1.1 MBytes
ShaderOpenGL successfully compiled : SunShadows
WorldRenderer: vexFowBlueprint initialised in 3ms : 16000 triangles (vex,tex), 0.9 MBytes
ShaderOpenGL successfully compiled : VisMap
Warning: mipmaps requested for non-power-of-two image (1000x1000), will break on OpenGL ES
Warning: mipmaps requested for non-power-of-two image (359x436), will break on OpenGL ES
Saving Preferences to C:\Users\Mikko\AppData\Local/Introversion/Prison Architect/preferences.txt
Save successful!
[SteamWorkshopWrapper::OnListSubscribedFiles] Getting file details
[SteamWorkshopWrapper::GetFileDetails] No more file details to get

Preferences:

ScreenW 0
ScreenH 0
ScreenWindowed false
ScreenHighDPI false
ScreenMultiSampled false
ScreenSuperSampled false
SoundMixFrequency 22050
SoundVolume 255
SoundSwapStereo false
SoundEnableDsp true
RenderRooms true
RecentMap (empty)
FirstTime false
AutoSaveTimer 10
HardwareCompat 0
LastKnownVersion alpha-23d-pc-steam
RegistrationShown false
TimeLapseCamera 0
TimeLapseInterval 1
TimeLapseFPSNumerator 24
TimeLapseFPSDenominator 1
TimeLapseQuality 63
Mods (empty)
LastSubCheck 0
UiScale 1.00000
ForumId 0

Mods:
NONE
Last edited by XMan3 on Tue Jan 06, 2015 5:26 pm, edited 2 times in total.
User avatar
xander
level5
level5
Posts: 16869
Joined: Thu Oct 21, 2004 11:41 pm
Location: Highland, CA, USA
Contact:

Re: I need some BIG help!

Postby xander » Mon Aug 04, 2014 6:47 pm

Have you tried playing the game in safe mode? Have you turned off optimization at the graphics card level (for instance, turning off Catalyst AI---the specific thing that needs to be changed depends on the graphics card and I am not enough of a hardware jock to remember which program is associated with which cards)?

xander
RGeezy911
level5
level5
Posts: 1098
Joined: Fri Aug 09, 2013 7:21 pm

Re: I need some BIG help!

Postby RGeezy911 » Mon Aug 04, 2014 7:16 pm

Not sure, but this caught my eye:

Code: Select all

Warning: mipmaps requested for non-power-of-two image (1000x1000), will break on OpenGL ES
Warning: mipmaps requested for non-power-of-two image (359x436), will break on OpenGL ES


No idea what causes that warning, but I suggest checking your drivers again.
XMan3
level1
level1
Posts: 12
Joined: Thu Jul 03, 2014 8:54 am

Re: I need some BIG help!

Postby XMan3 » Mon Aug 04, 2014 9:28 pm

xander wrote:Have you tried playing the game in safe mode? Have you turned off optimization at the graphics card level (for instance, turning off Catalyst AI---the specific thing that needs to be changed depends on the graphics card and I am not enough of a hardware jock to remember which program is associated with which cards)?

xander


As i told in my thread, i have tried using Safe mode, and i do not use Catalyst control center, i use NVidia GeForce Experience.
XMan3
level1
level1
Posts: 12
Joined: Thu Jul 03, 2014 8:54 am

Re: I need some BIG help!

Postby XMan3 » Mon Aug 04, 2014 9:29 pm

RGeezy911 wrote:Not sure, but this caught my eye:

Code: Select all

Warning: mipmaps requested for non-power-of-two image (1000x1000), will break on OpenGL ES
Warning: mipmaps requested for non-power-of-two image (359x436), will break on OpenGL ES


No idea what causes that warning, but I suggest checking your drivers again.


Is there way to fix it? I do not know about Prison architect things and configs.
User avatar
xander
level5
level5
Posts: 16869
Joined: Thu Oct 21, 2004 11:41 pm
Location: Highland, CA, USA
Contact:

Re: I need some BIG help!

Postby xander » Mon Aug 04, 2014 9:49 pm

XMan3 wrote:As i told in my thread, i have tried using Safe mode, and i do not use Catalyst control center, i use NVidia GeForce Experience.

You comment about safe mode got burried in your post (code tags would have made it easier to parse)---I'm sorry I missed it. As to Catalyst AI, please note the text that surrounded that. All of the major card manufactures have optimizations that can be turned off or on, with Catalyst AI being a particular example. I am certain that there are options in the NVidia GeForce Experience configuration tool that allow you to activate and deactivate various schema that are meant to make games run faster. Have you tried turning those off?

Also, to reiterate RGeezy911's comment, are sure that your drivers up-to-date? What version of the drivers are you using? There is also a bit of the output that looks a little odd to me:

Code: Select all

ScreenW [int] 0
ScreenH [int] 0
ScreenWindowed [bool] 0

It looks like the game is trying to run fullscreen with a resolution of 0x0. That can't be right. Find preference.txt and delete it (or, if you are feeling brave, edit it manually to set the resolution to what you want it to be, and perhaps set ScreenWindowed to 1 in order to run the game in a window and see what happens).

RGeezy911: after some quick Googling, it looks to me that OpenGL ES (the thing that might get broken by non-power-of-two images) is a subset of OpenGL that is aimed at embedded systems like phones or consoles. I don't *think* that this should be causing problems for a desktop or laptop machine with commodity hardware installed.

xander
XMan3
level1
level1
Posts: 12
Joined: Thu Jul 03, 2014 8:54 am

Re: I need some BIG help!

Postby XMan3 » Mon Aug 04, 2014 10:00 pm

xander wrote:
XMan3 wrote:As i told in my thread, i have tried using Safe mode, and i do not use Catalyst control center, i use NVidia GeForce Experience.

You comment about safe mode got burried in your post (code tags would have made it easier to parse)---I'm sorry I missed it. As to Catalyst AI, please note the text that surrounded that. All of the major card manufactures have optimizations that can be turned off or on, with Catalyst AI being a particular example. I am certain that there are options in the NVidia GeForce Experience configuration tool that allow you to activate and deactivate various schema that are meant to make games run faster. Have you tried turning those off?

Also, to reiterate RGeezy911's comment, are sure that your drivers up-to-date? What version of the drivers are you using? There is also a bit of the output that looks a little odd to me:

Code: Select all

ScreenW [int] 0
ScreenH [int] 0
ScreenWindowed [bool] 0

It looks like the game is trying to run fullscreen with a resolution of 0x0. That can't be right. Find preference.txt and delete it (or, if you are feeling brave, edit it manually to set the resolution to what you want it to be, and perhaps set ScreenWindowed to 1 in order to run the game in a window and see what happens).

RGeezy911: after some quick Googling, it looks to me that OpenGL ES (the thing that might get broken by non-power-of-two images) is a subset of OpenGL that is aimed at embedded systems like phones or consoles. I don't *think* that this should be causing problems for a desktop or laptop machine with commodity hardware installed.

xander


I have tried deleting the preferences.txt file, re-installing prison architect and stuff like that.
Also i have tried changing it, i just don't want to waste much of my computer's life, becuase i have to shut down it from the power button what is not always the best thing to do...
XMan3
level1
level1
Posts: 12
Joined: Thu Jul 03, 2014 8:54 am

Re: I need some BIG help!

Postby XMan3 » Tue Sep 02, 2014 6:01 pm

Any help?!
Having still same problem!!
tertaim
level3
level3
Posts: 302
Joined: Fri Sep 28, 2012 11:24 pm

Re: I need some BIG help!

Postby tertaim » Mon Sep 08, 2014 7:19 am

what videocard are you using to play the game? since you have a laptop, there is a onboard (I assume intel card) and your dedicated nvidia card. go to your steamapps folder and right click the game and select play with geforce.
XMan3
level1
level1
Posts: 12
Joined: Thu Jul 03, 2014 8:54 am

Re: I need some BIG help!

Postby XMan3 » Tue Sep 09, 2014 6:16 pm

tertaim wrote:what videocard are you using to play the game? since you have a laptop, there is a onboard (I assume intel card) and your dedicated nvidia card. go to your steamapps folder and right click the game and select play with geforce.


I haven't touched it ever, but how do i see it?
XMan3
level1
level1
Posts: 12
Joined: Thu Jul 03, 2014 8:54 am

Re: I need some BIG help!

Postby XMan3 » Tue Sep 09, 2014 6:19 pm

tertaim wrote:what videocard are you using to play the game? since you have a laptop, there is a onboard (I assume intel card) and your dedicated nvidia card. go to your steamapps folder and right click the game and select play with geforce.


Ok, i found out it.
Nvidia default thing... I have Finnish operating system so i do not know the english translation...
For the finnish version...
Parannetun suorituskyvyn NVIDIA-Suoritin (oletus)
Possible?
Better performance NVIDIA-Graphics processing unit(I guess?) (default)
i have another one, but i do not like testing it too much, because ofc the startup crashes my computer!
tertaim
level3
level3
Posts: 302
Joined: Fri Sep 28, 2012 11:24 pm

Re: I need some BIG help!

Postby tertaim » Thu Sep 11, 2014 11:31 am

since you have a nvidia card you can download geforce experience, this keeps your graphic river up to date and tells you what system specs you have, i highly recommend you download it
XMan3
level1
level1
Posts: 12
Joined: Thu Jul 03, 2014 8:54 am

Re: I need some BIG help!

Postby XMan3 » Fri Sep 12, 2014 3:11 pm

tertaim wrote:since you have a nvidia card you can download geforce experience, this keeps your graphic river up to date and tells you what system specs you have, i highly recommend you download it


Yes, i have it and i got those specs in my main post from it.
tertaim
level3
level3
Posts: 302
Joined: Fri Sep 28, 2012 11:24 pm

Re: I need some BIG help!

Postby tertaim » Fri Sep 12, 2014 3:19 pm

Yes, i have it and i got those specs in my main post from it.[/quote]

what mods do you have installed at the moment?
XMan3
level1
level1
Posts: 12
Joined: Thu Jul 03, 2014 8:54 am

Re: I need some BIG help!

Postby XMan3 » Thu Sep 25, 2014 1:07 pm

tertaim wrote:Yes, i have it and i got those specs in my main post from it.


what mods do you have installed at the moment?[/quote]

None. I have already tried disabling them, and uninstalling and unsubscribing in steam workshop. But no, still no LUCK :(

Return to “General”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests