Gridded Tileset

General chit-chat and minor questions about just about anything

Moderator: NBJeff

rainbowlolipop
level0
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Jan 11, 2013 9:18 pm

Gridded Tileset

Postby rainbowlolipop » Fri Jan 11, 2013 9:34 pm

I was playing earlier today and kept getting lost counting squares while trying to build, was puzzled there was no grid overlay option, so I just added one super quick.

INSTRUCTIONS:

1) Open the "main.dat" file in your PA folder with WinZip (or similar)
2) Make a copy of your "tileset.png" (simply drag it onto your desktop - this is your backup copy of the tileset)
3) Download the image below, and convert the ".jpg" image to ".png" (I didn't catch that imgur converted it in my hurry)
4) Drag the "tileset.png" you downloaded into the archive window
5) Save it
6) Enjoy building, just switch out copies of each as you need.

I'm sure someone else could do better, there is a bit of grid line madness at times...

TILESET IMAGE TO DOWNLOAD:

http://i.imgur.com/Xwxp8.jpg

** If you can't figure out how to convert the image file, here is a video for windows (loud music fyi: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oWyXLLKgI_g )
Last edited by rainbowlolipop on Sun Jan 13, 2013 9:42 pm, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
Nebthtet
level0
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Jan 07, 2013 9:07 pm
Location: Poland, Warsaw

Postby Nebthtet » Fri Jan 11, 2013 10:12 pm

oh, that's something that'll come in really handy for me :)

Thanks!
User avatar
paktsardines
level5
level5
Posts: 1752
Joined: Mon Oct 01, 2012 11:10 am
Location: Australia

Postby paktsardines » Sat Jan 12, 2013 4:24 pm

Nice work. I was going to suggest the addition of grid lines.
rainbowlolipop
level0
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Jan 11, 2013 9:18 pm

Postby rainbowlolipop » Sat Jan 12, 2013 8:44 pm

Thanks y'all.

It was also fun to look at the items that aren't in the game yet in the other texture files.
HerrJoebob
level4
level4
Posts: 750
Joined: Sat Nov 24, 2012 8:57 pm
Location: Oregon

Postby HerrJoebob » Sat Jan 12, 2013 10:50 pm

Looks like a lovely tileset, but when I update my main.dat I get an assertion error when it loads and none of my tiles show up... I think it's because the linked image is a .jpg when it wants a .png.

What am I missing here?
User avatar
christopher1006
level5
level5
Posts: 1019
Joined: Sat Jul 28, 2012 9:01 pm

Postby christopher1006 » Sun Jan 13, 2013 12:11 am

When you save the linked image change the .jpg to a .png
Yes, that is a penguin with rabies. Deal with it.
HerrJoebob
level4
level4
Posts: 750
Joined: Sat Nov 24, 2012 8:57 pm
Location: Oregon

Postby HerrJoebob » Sun Jan 13, 2013 12:23 am

christopher1006 wrote:When you save the linked image change the .jpg to a .png


That's what I did.
User avatar
NeatNit
level5
level5
Posts: 2929
Joined: Mon Jan 28, 2008 2:41 pm
Location: Israel
Contact:

Postby NeatNit » Sun Jan 13, 2013 12:47 am

not just the filename
HerrJoebob
level4
level4
Posts: 750
Joined: Sat Nov 24, 2012 8:57 pm
Location: Oregon

Postby HerrJoebob » Sun Jan 13, 2013 3:50 am

NeatNit wrote:not just the filename


Gotcha, didn't expect to have to convert it. I'll give it a shot!
rainbowlolipop
level0
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Jan 11, 2013 9:18 pm

Postby rainbowlolipop » Sun Jan 13, 2013 9:37 pm

Whoops! Didn't see that imgur converted it to .jpg - yeah it must be .png formatted. Good catch.
User avatar
MeatNit
level1
level1
Posts: 31
Joined: Tue Nov 27, 2012 5:56 pm
Location: Freezer

Postby MeatNit » Sun Jan 13, 2013 9:40 pm


Return to “General”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests