Modability?

General chit-chat and minor questions about just about anything

Moderator: NBJeff

User avatar
City Builder
level2
level2
Posts: 93
Joined: Mon Apr 02, 2007 8:23 pm
Location: Weston Super Mare

Modability?

Postby City Builder » Mon Oct 01, 2012 3:55 am

Hello,

How much if any of the game will be moddable?
User avatar
a__gun
level3
level3
Posts: 281
Joined: Wed Sep 26, 2012 4:16 pm
Location: UK

Postby a__gun » Mon Oct 01, 2012 10:44 am

At the moment, pretty much everything is unencrypted plain text. Judging by IV's previous games, modding will be readily available.
Ushijima
level0
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Oct 01, 2012 6:04 pm

Main.dat

Postby Ushijima » Mon Oct 01, 2012 6:14 pm

I unzipped main.dat last night to see what files were accessible.
There's the material files and been able to modify the price of objects
I'm trying to find what controls the timer at wich get the prisoners arrival.
There's also the objects tilesets. Haven't played too much with the files yet
Can't wait to get back home after work to toy with that.
User avatar
MGakowski
level0
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Oct 02, 2012 12:47 am
Location: Australia
Contact:

Modability

Postby MGakowski » Fri Oct 05, 2012 4:21 am

Right now it's completely mod-able I've already changed the way some things look and how much stuff costs(tried to make the prices more realistic), good thing I like lua.
Plus if you're really bored sometimes like me you can create an entire prison from notepad although it is easy to screw up :P
User avatar
MGakowski
level0
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Oct 02, 2012 12:47 am
Location: Australia
Contact:

Modding

Postby MGakowski » Fri Oct 05, 2012 5:00 am

One cool thing to do that's not modding is to open the "main.dat" file with 7zip or something and go into the "campaign" folder then go into the "deathrow" folder and open all the .txt files and resave them as ".prison" files into your saves folder for Prison Architect. Then run PA and open these prisons.
User avatar
City Builder
level2
level2
Posts: 93
Joined: Mon Apr 02, 2007 8:23 pm
Location: Weston Super Mare

Postby City Builder » Fri Oct 05, 2012 5:00 am

Did their other games stay moddable or did they end up encrypting it before gold release?
Illanair
level3
level3
Posts: 270
Joined: Tue Jan 11, 2011 8:43 pm
Location: Denmark

Postby Illanair » Fri Oct 05, 2012 10:15 am

City Builder wrote:Did their other games stay moddable or did they end up encrypting it before gold release?


They are quite moddable - Uplink in particular. PA seems no different.

Of course there are going to be some hardcoded values, but if IV releases the source code some years down the line (as they did with Uplink if memory serves), it will become open as a book by the time most people have moved on to new titles.
Mas Tnega
level5
level5
Posts: 7898
Joined: Sat Mar 02, 2002 11:54 pm
Location: Edinburgh
Contact:

Postby Mas Tnega » Fri Oct 05, 2012 12:24 pm

objects.spritebank is plaintext.

The campaign seems to only care about finding a Lua script with the function BeginChapter() and then finding Lua scripts with all the other function calls. I suspect the only way at the moment to play new campaigns is to have them in the deathrow campaign folder.
yourmomsmomsgrandma
level0
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Sep 27, 2012 5:21 am

Postby yourmomsmomsgrandma » Sat Oct 06, 2012 5:51 am

i was able to access the intro map and put into my own new map so i could play and edit it on my own... its fairly simple for now.. but if anyone knows how to change your balance could you please tell me..
User avatar
MGakowski
level0
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Oct 02, 2012 12:47 am
Location: Australia
Contact:

Change Balance

Postby MGakowski » Sat Oct 06, 2012 6:13 am

yourmomsmomsgrandma wrote:i was able to access the intro map and put into my own new map so i could play and edit it on my own... its fairly simple for now.. but if anyone knows how to change your balance could you please tell me..


Open your saves folder and find the prison with the balance you want to change, then open it with Notepad or any text editor. Then search(Ctrl+F) for the word "Balance", when you find it the number to the right of it will be your current balance, change this number to the desired amount, then hit "Save" and restart Prison Architect load your ma and voilà!
kubaf2000
level0
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Nov 15, 2012 4:12 pm

Postby kubaf2000 » Wed Dec 19, 2012 7:20 pm

Does anyone know how to switch continous intake off?
Mas Tnega
level5
level5
Posts: 7898
Joined: Sat Mar 02, 2002 11:54 pm
Location: Edinburgh
Contact:

Postby Mas Tnega » Wed Dec 19, 2012 7:37 pm

By saved prison editing: Find the save, open it up in notepad or something, find the line "EnabledIntake true" and delete it. Don't forget to save.

Normally: When starting up a new prison, make sure that check box for "Continuous Intake" is empty.
kubaf2000
level0
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Nov 15, 2012 4:12 pm

Postby kubaf2000 » Wed Dec 19, 2012 7:39 pm

Mas Tnega wrote:By saved prison editing: Find the save, open it up in notepad or something, find the line "EnabledIntake true" and delete it. Don't forget to save.

Normally: When starting up a new prison, make sure that check box for "Continuous Intake" is empty.

Thanks for the answer, but i figured it out. I didn't delete it, i just change it to false.
Anonymous53
level0
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Jul 16, 2013 10:55 am

Postby Anonymous53 » Tue Jul 16, 2013 12:36 pm

Hello,

is there a way to mod new objects or functions? like edit the workshop in a new workshop?

mfg
anonymous
Anonymous53
level0
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Jul 16, 2013 10:55 am

Re: Modability?

Postby Anonymous53 » Wed Sep 04, 2013 3:47 pm

hmm...

Return to “General”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests