a little help....

Talk about your new mod or map here

Moderators: bert_the_turtle, jelco

hibbs
level2
level2
Posts: 96
Joined: Sun Sep 23, 2007 2:58 am

a little help....

Postby hibbs » Tue Sep 25, 2007 9:21 pm

i've been trying to do an intro level type thing one that explains where the virus came from eg. use of god dish. for use in a mod i'm developing, but i can't do a few things

1. make god dish work (and yes i know about GodDishActivate/GodDishDeactivate spawn research/spam)

2. make other locations avable.

3.make mine & yard work.

if anyone can help me i would apprectate it.
User avatar
xander
level5
level5
Posts: 16869
Joined: Thu Oct 21, 2004 11:41 pm
Location: Highland, CA, USA
Contact:

Re: a little help....

Postby xander » Tue Sep 25, 2007 9:58 pm

hibbs wrote:1. make god dish work (and yes i know about GodDishActivate/GodDishDeactivate spawn research/spam)

Is the GodDish global?

hibbs wrote:2. make other locations avable.

The MakeAvailable script command does not work (unless it was fixed in 1.5x). Thus, a work around is needed. As a location is made available when a TrunkPort that connects to it is brought online. Thus, you need to put a TrunkPort in some level that connects to the level that you want to access, then bring that TrunkPort online with an engineer at some point. Alternatively, you an make the level available by default in game.txt by setting the appropriate setting to 1.

hibbs wrote:3.make mine & yard work.

You really need to be more specific than that.

xander
hibbs
level2
level2
Posts: 96
Joined: Sun Sep 23, 2007 2:58 am

Postby hibbs » Tue Sep 25, 2007 10:20 pm

ok i want to make a working yard but i'm having trouble, i saw a post about it but i got confused. as for the god dish i'll check.

edit

i checked but it wasn't. it is now, but it still won't work how hard can it be to make an on/off switch?
User avatar
xander
level5
level5
Posts: 16869
Joined: Thu Oct 21, 2004 11:41 pm
Location: Highland, CA, USA
Contact:

Postby xander » Wed Sep 26, 2007 12:32 am

A working Yard requires (1) power, (2) primitives, and (3) DGs. Power can come directly from solar panels (the more you have, the faster it will work), or can come from a PylonStart (though there are tricks to getting that to work properly -- I would suggest searching the forums for those). Primitives can come directly from Mines, by way of a Refinery, or can come from a TrackStart. DGs come from the places that DGs come from. A very basic Yard system might look like this:

Code: Select all

A -> B means that A is linked to B
A <= B means that B is toggled by A (that is, when A is active, B is active)

For instance, a TrackStart could be toggled by a TrunkPort.  When the TrunkPort is active, and connected to another level (i.e. that Stargate effect is going on), a TrackStart that is toggled by it will start producing primitives.

TrunkPort <= TrackStart -> TrackLink
                  ^            |
                  |            v
             TrackLink    TrackLink                       SolarPanel
                  ^            |                            |
                  |            v                            v
             TrackLink    TrackEnd => Yard => PylonEnd <- Pylon <- SolarPanel
                  ^            |                            ^
                  |            v                            |
             TrackLink <- TrackLink                      SolarPanel


xander
hibbs
level2
level2
Posts: 96
Joined: Sun Sep 23, 2007 2:58 am

Postby hibbs » Wed Sep 26, 2007 1:19 am

ok i still can't get the god dish to work but, i've almost got a working yard. is there anyway to increase the size of the level?

edit well my yard crashed ,and now darwinia is complaining about a incubator thats not in this level (uniue id) not in the map_****.txt file ether.
User avatar
The GoldFish
level5
level5
Posts: 3961
Joined: Fri Mar 01, 2002 9:01 pm
Location: Bowl / South UK
Contact:

Postby The GoldFish » Wed Sep 26, 2007 2:00 am

What is your map called? There's a stealth issue with naming your maps the same as those from the original game which can result in unique ID issues. One simpel way to bypass the issue is change the ID of the building it thinks is conflicting but that's only a short term fix (ie until you create another new building, hehe) - the better fix is change the name of the level (if this is even the cause) and use levelname lines in strings_default to present it as desired. Or I guess bundle an empty file with the mission name from the original game with your mod, but this might not work at all. All of this is assuming it's caused by level name issues.

Anyway regarding the god dish, I dunno what your issue is, really. It could be being caused by how your script works, and the goddishactivate being called in a script which starts either from the world map or in another location, and that line being performed before the level has loaded, or it could just be some form of magical insanity. I should point out I suppose that eg Stricken's god dish (which last time I checked worked fine) is non global. However only the first god dish in a given location will be activated, though I doubt this is the issue (you'd probably notice)

I think the probable cause is a minor script malfunction, or a wait mistake. It'd be helpful to see your goddish activation script!

Also yes, you can increase the size of the level, in either of the terrain edit modes there should be a couple of vbalues (default 2000) which you can change to increase the area of your map, though bare in mind you should always make your level have equal dimentions otherwise the water goes funny (even if you don't fill the space)

edit and/or have a gander at God Dish Tester!
Last edited by The GoldFish on Wed Sep 26, 2007 2:18 am, edited 1 time in total.
hibbs
level2
level2
Posts: 96
Joined: Sun Sep 23, 2007 2:58 am

Postby hibbs » Wed Sep 26, 2007 2:13 am

ok game.txt has an event when the safearea comes online the following script is called:

Goddish.txt
+===============+
ResetResearch
GodDishActivate
GodDishSpawnResearch
GodDishSpawnResearch
GodDishSpawnResearch
GodDishDeactivate

+===============+


it was just a test to see if it would work so there's no

SPOILERS!
SPOILERS!
SPOILERS!
SPOILERS!
SPOILERS!
SPOILERS!
SPOILERS!
SPOILERS!
SPOILERS!
SPOILERS!
SPOILERS!
SPOILERS!
SPOILERS!
SPOILERS!
SPOILERS!
SPOILERS!
SPOILERS!
SPOILERS!
SPOILERS!
SPOILERS!
SPOILERS!
SPOILERS!
SPOILERS!
SPOILERS!
SPOILERS!
SPOILERS!
SPOILERS!
SPOILERS!



sorry about that. i hated to find out what the last enemy was before i got to the last level (which i still haven't)

......No spam cubes.
and i'm still looking for that error...... wait.....
There's a stealth issue with naming your maps the same as those from the original game which can result in unique ID issues


:shock: DU DUH DUH

::oops forgot an h...... :(
User avatar
The GoldFish
level5
level5
Posts: 3961
Joined: Fri Mar 01, 2002 9:01 pm
Location: Bowl / South UK
Contact:

Postby The GoldFish » Wed Sep 26, 2007 2:22 am

yeah uh, your problem is you have no waits in there at all, so the god dish turns on and off basically instantly. I would expect that the research does get spawned though... I haven't experimented.

Either way, put in some wait # lines to make the game wait a few seconds between each line, as you'll see in the goddishtester I just made for you.

edit - Oh and uh, why do you have reset research in there, out of curiosity?
hibbs
level2
level2
Posts: 96
Joined: Sun Sep 23, 2007 2:58 am

Postby hibbs » Wed Sep 26, 2007 2:48 am

it's for the dg's :twisted:

all so what's the wait command and it usage?
User avatar
The GoldFish
level5
level5
Posts: 3961
Joined: Fri Mar 01, 2002 9:01 pm
Location: Bowl / South UK
Contact:

Postby The GoldFish » Wed Sep 26, 2007 7:30 am

Here's the first little stint from goddishtester's script (you should probably have just taken this mod apart already!):

Code: Select all

CamMove view1 1000
WaitFade
CamMove view1 30
Wait 2
GodDishActivate
GodDishSpawnResearch
Wait 3
GodDishSpawnResearch
Wait 18
GodDishDeactivate
WaitCam


Wait # functions like waitsay, waitcam etc, except it waits for a specified number of seconds before progressing. It seems to take about 14 or 15 seconds for a spawned cube to get all the way down to the ground. Oh, and I'm pretty sure wait accepts floats (like 0.359 for example), too, but I'm not entirely sure.

Also yes, I'm aware it effects the DGs, I was just wondering what the point is when all you're doing is summoning fake research cubes! It doesn't really matter though, I'm sure if you know what it does (apparently you do) you have a reason for using it!.
hibbs
level2
level2
Posts: 96
Joined: Sun Sep 23, 2007 2:58 am

Postby hibbs » Wed Sep 26, 2007 3:16 pm

well once i get this working i'll have the spam cubes. i just haven't goten it to work yet. and this was a test script. just to see if i could make it work. if it works i'll incorprate it into a mod i'm working on, mabe as an intro level that explains where the virus came from. i'm thinking use it as an opener to the mod, then go through the mod's other levels then use it as the last level in the mod.

although i still cant get that yard working. do you have to link the yard object to the end track link for the primitaves or do you have to do the oppisite?
brice
level2
level2
Posts: 167
Joined: Fri Feb 23, 2007 6:04 am

Postby brice » Wed Sep 26, 2007 5:07 pm

Post the map file for your yard level. Use [ code ] tags to quote it. Also post the relevant trigger code which calls the script for the goddish. Maybe your script isn't getting called.
User avatar
xander
level5
level5
Posts: 16869
Joined: Thu Oct 21, 2004 11:41 pm
Location: Highland, CA, USA
Contact:

Postby xander » Wed Sep 26, 2007 5:21 pm

hibbs wrote:although i still cant get that yard working. do you have to link the yard object to the end track link for the primitaves or do you have to do the oppisite?

As I recall, neither. You need to link the TrackEnd to the next TrackLink in the circuit, and have the TrackEnd be toggled by the Yard.

xander
hibbs
level2
level2
Posts: 96
Joined: Sun Sep 23, 2007 2:58 am

Postby hibbs » Wed Sep 26, 2007 8:05 pm

i got the god dish to work just the way i like it. if you want i can still post he code.

here's the "yard level"

Code: Select all

 

Landscape_StartDefinition
   worldSizeX 2000
   worldSizeZ 2000
   cellSize 12.00
   outsideHeight -10.00
   landColourFile landscape_default.bmp
   wavesColourFile waves_default.bmp
   waterColourFile water_default.bmp
Landscape_EndDefinition

LandscapeTiles_StartDefinition
   #                            frac  height desired gen         lowland
   # x       y       z    size   dim  scale  height  method seed smooth  guideGrid
   # =============================================================================
      430   0.00    364   1514  1.20   1.00    200      1 38982351   1.00     0
      972   0.00     60    654  1.20   1.00    200      1      0   1.00     0
LandscapeTiles_EndDefinition

LandFlattenAreas_StartDefinition
   # x      y       z      size
   # ==========================
   1242.1   60.9  146.6   40.0
   1212.9   71.1  159.6   40.0
   1186.7   84.3  194.2   40.0
   1172.1   94.9  219.3   40.0
LandFlattenAreas_EndDefinition

Lights_StartDefinition
   # x      y      z        r      g      b
   # =========================================
Lights_EndDefinition

Buildings_StartDefinition
   # Type              id      x       z       tm      rx      rz      isGlobal
   # ==========================================================================
   TrackLink           3       787.32  1136.99 1       -0.96   0.29    0       4       
   TrackLink           4       862.59  1280.78 1       -0.32   0.95    0       5       
   TrackLink           5       1023.29 1210.68 1       0.68    0.73    0       6       
   TrackLink           6       1069.81 1026.72 1       1.00    0.00    0       7       
   Refinery            2       1158.12 299.74  1       0.83    0.56    0       8       
   TrackLink           7       1202.12 471.27  1       1.00    0.00    0       2       
   TrackLink           8       1275.97 82.83   1       0.50    0.87    0       9       
   TrackLink           9       1458.42 109.28  1       -0.08   1.00    0       10     
   TrackLink           10      1603.73 294.08  1       -0.92   0.40    0       11     
   TrackLink           11      1690.13 433.83  1       -0.90   -0.44   0       12     
   TrackLink           12      1591.14 519.78  1       -0.57   -0.82   0       13     
   TrackLink           13      1249.23 960.64  1       -0.97   -0.26   0       14     
   TrackLink           14      1251.09 1177.93 1       -0.82   0.57    0       16     
   Mine                0       730.08  1000.01 1       -0.49   -0.87   0       3       
   TrackEnd            16      1500.81 1219.00 1       -0.70   0.71    0       18      -1     
   Yard                17      1527.88 1478.88 1       1.00    0.00    0       
   TrackLink           18      1757.55 1184.90 1       0.44    0.90    0       19     
   TrackLink           19      1816.77 1017.54 1       1.00    0.00    0       20     
   TrackLink           20      1821.06 457.58  1       1.00    0.00    0       21     
   TrackLink           21      1779.36 161.61  1       0.70    -0.72   0       22     
   TrackLink           22      1592.49 46.31   1       0.22    -0.98   0       23     
   TrackLink           23      1080.36 41.39   1       -0.16   -0.99   0       25     
   TrackLink           24      780.72  293.32  1       -0.94   -0.33   0       26     
   TrackLink           25      826.34  121.83  1       -0.88   -0.47   0       24     
   TrackLink           26      698.83  518.79  1       -0.88   -0.47   0       27     
   TrackStart          27      629.14  888.99  1       -0.99   0.11    0       0       -1     
   SolarPanel          1       1003.83 1660.68 1       0.00    0.98    0       32     
   SolarPanel          15      1014.70 1557.39 1       0.00    0.99    0       32     
   SolarPanel          28      1039.07 1453.90 1       0.00    0.95    0       32     
   SolarPanel          29      1160.80 1594.94 1       0.00    0.97    0       35     
   SolarPanel          30      1188.44 1499.96 1       0.00    0.99    0       35     
   SolarPanel          31      1248.38 1712.84 1       0.00    0.98    0       35     
   PylonStart          32      771.98  1505.95 1       0.27    0.96    0       33      -1     
   Pylon               33      797.63  1812.58 1       1.00    0.00    0       34     
   Pylon               34      883.29  1889.54 1       0.14    -0.99   0       37     
   PylonStart          35      1345.47 1582.01 1       -0.80   0.60    0       38      -1     
   PylonEnd            36      1447.26 1619.63 1       -0.46   0.89    0       17     
   Pylon               37      1139.17 1824.95 1       0.17    0.99    0       38     
   Pylon               38      1347.80 1720.45 1       -0.50   -0.86   0       36     
Buildings_EndDefinition





BTW: i'm at school right now. so i'm problay not going to answer any more questions until 4 pm EST (-5:00 GMT)

edit

i realize there are no virus, or dg's on the level, this will crash the game, but not the editor.
brice
level2
level2
Posts: 167
Joined: Fri Feb 23, 2007 6:04 am

Postby brice » Wed Sep 26, 2007 8:36 pm

Code: Select all

  TrackEnd        16    1500.81 1219.00 1       -0.70   0.71    0    18   -1     
  Yard            17    1527.88 1478.88 1       1.00    0.00    0       


You've got the TrackEnd right, but the Yard building isn't "toggled by" the TrackEnd. The last zero on the Yard line should be the building ID of the TrackEnd, which is 16 not 0. In the editor select the Yard and type in "16" in the field for "toggled by". Be sure to hit Enter before selecting another building. This should solve your problem. Or you can edit the line directly with a text editor. Your PylonEnd is correctly linked to the Yard, so I don't see any other problems.

FYI, lack of virii, DGs, etc should not cause your mod to crash. If it's crashing, you probably have other issues somewhere.

EDIT: you don't need a PylonStart when you use SolarPanels. PylonStart is only for special situations. Search the forum for it (or click here http://forums.introversion.co.uk/darwin ... php?t=3905 and skip to the end of the thread). You can link SolarPanels to each other n:1 and you can link them directly to regular Pylons. Pylons can link n:1 to each other too, and you can probably link Pylons to SolarPanels if you want. The PylonStart may be causing your crashes.

Also, if you have the Mine / Refinery system in the level you don't need the TrackStart either. That is also for special situations, and may be causing you crashes here. Like xander said, the TrackEnd should be linked back to the first TrackLink to close the loop.

TrackStarts and PylonStarts are used when you want the goods to look like they're coming from a Trunkport.
Last edited by brice on Wed Sep 26, 2007 9:08 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Return to “Mod Projects”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 28 guests