Page 3 of 7

Posted: Mon Feb 05, 2007 11:53 pm
by xander
combineguy wrote:

Code: Select all

Events_StartDefinition
action runscript landing_intro.txt
event BuildingOnline :landing,3 BuildingOnline :landing,4
action runscript landing_complete.txt
End
action runscript incubator_intro.txt
event buildingonline :incubator,17 buildingonline :incubator,15
action runscript incubator_complete
End
Events_EndDefinition

Okay, this is just wrong. All game.txt events and triggers should look like this:

Code: Select all

Event [some event]
     Action [some action]
     End


What you have written makes no sense!

xander

Posted: Tue Feb 06, 2007 1:24 am
by combineguy
AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I'm sick of this!!!!

My map has totally fallen apart! I can't spawn any buildings, I can't even enter the map unless I'm in editor mode! what is going on!? at this rate I'm just gonna have to wipe the map and start over... I REALLY don't wanna do that unless I absolutly have to.

EDIT:
xander wrote:
combineguy wrote:

Code: Select all

Events_StartDefinition
action runscript landing_intro.txt
event BuildingOnline :landing,3 BuildingOnline :landing,4
action runscript landing_complete.txt
End
action runscript incubator_intro.txt
event buildingonline :incubator,17 buildingonline :incubator,15
action runscript incubator_complete
End
Events_EndDefinition

Okay, this is just wrong. All game.txt events and triggers should look like this:

Code: Select all

Event [some event]
     Action [some action]
     End


What you have written makes no sense!

xander


ok LOOK einstein! I don't care if it makes sense! I just care if it works alright!? for the landing level it works fine, but I get no response for the incubator level, all I need, is a little bit of help, I don't need you to tell me what makes sense or not!

Posted: Tue Feb 06, 2007 1:36 am
by Testrie
combineguy wrote:Snip!


1) ok. flaming won't help. try to remain in a calm and happy mood.

2) err... did you check the crash guide? I'll get a link in a sec... tada!

elyea

Posted: Tue Feb 06, 2007 2:12 am
by Montyphy
combineguy wrote:I don't care if it makes sense!


If you want people to help and understand it then you should care.

Posted: Tue Feb 06, 2007 9:16 pm
by The GoldFish
The game cares if it makes sense.

That isn't at all how you make intro scripts run, did you follow howto 1 much?

From "populating the level"

"Right, what else will we need to make this level work? How about an incubator, and an all important Script Trigger for the introduction. Both these buildings will want to be dynamic, because the incubator has a number of souls variable, which obviously we change, and we don't want the introduction to fire off every time someone enters the level (well, maybe we do, but this tuitorial says we don't!)

For the script trigger, set dynamic, the condition to be always, but ignore the rest."

This is basically saying you need to put a script trigger in the level for the introduction

And from "Objectives"

"That done, look back at your mission file in the buildings section, you should see your script trigger! If you don't, you didn't make it dynamic, and it'll be in the map file. Wherever it is, go to the end of the line, to where it says NewScript. I'm going to replace this with, you guessed it, ubersux_intro.txt (you NEED the txt, if your script has a .txt extention which it probably will...) Anyway, we're done here, save but dont close the mission file.

Now we arrange for an outro, in game.txt..." (you appear to have done this already)

Anyway, the most likely reason that your incubator outro isn't working is that, if you're on windows, you neglected to make one of either building ID 17 or 15 global, which is a requirement for all game.txt entries and objectives. (if you're not on windows there's a bug which this can also be)

I would imagine that each level should have a script trigger in which is;
a) set to always
b) triggers the script [levelname]_intro.txt

and that game.txt should have the following;

Code: Select all

Events_StartDefinition
event BuildingOnline :landing,3 BuildingOnline :landing,4
           action runscript landing_complete.txt
           End
event buildingonline :incubator,17 buildingonline :incubator,15
           action runscript incubator_complete
           End
Events_EndDefinition



If your level continues to crash, and this is just a guess from what you're describing, one of your spawn links (or the master) thinks it's linked to a building that you deleted at some stage after you linked it. Hence, whenever you create a new building, it fills the ID gab, the other building tries to link to it and instantly crashes the game. The best remedy for this is to just delete all the 'link' values for buildings in your map file. Or, you could try and work out which ID number it is which causes the problem by finding which number in sequence is missing, and then finding out which building links to that number, but, that takes a long time and doesn't necesserily solve the problem since you can have *lots* of missing links if you didn't realise this was a problem. (I did this quite a few times in CW and MS, although they were late onsetting; in your case they're immidiete which makes it sound like it's a link very close to the spawn point master, *or the spm itself*.)

To CHECK if this is the case, comment out (with #s) *all* the spawning related buildings in your map file (or mission file if this is where they are), and see if the problem 'goes away', but DON'T save your level in the ingame editor, as it will probably wipe out all your commented buildings! Then you'll know if the problem is with the spawn link system or not, and you can use one of the methods described above to try and fix it.

Posted: Sat Feb 10, 2007 12:16 am
by combineguy
The GoldFish wrote: The best remedy for this is to just delete all the 'link' values for buildings in your map file.


I don't think I'll have to do that, I think I know which link it is. thanks.

and to xander: sorry about that, I guess I'm just kinda frustrated. Thanks for your help.

Posted: Sat Feb 10, 2007 12:35 am
by combineguy
yep! that was it. ok, now everything is working EXCEPT, the spawnpointmaster STILL won't send any souls out, and the spawners still won't spawn anything! =( grrr

EDIT: oh no..... oh no.....

ok... I had darwinia a long time ago once, I played for a long time and beat it, but after a while it quit working. everytime I tried to get on, I got the message "darwinia.exe had ecountered a problem and needs to close." no matter what I did, I couldn't play anymore, I even reinstalled it. nothing. Now I have a new computer and have been playing it here, but I just got the same problem again, now I'm thinking I won't be able to play it anymore. =(

EDIT2: *slaps self in face, multiple times* (slap slap slap)

I forgot to put END at the end of one of the lines in game.txt duh.

Posted: Thu Feb 15, 2007 5:01 pm
by combineguy
good news guys! the demo is done! I'll try to release it later today when I finish testing it. (I'm pretty sure it's safe to release, but I wanna make sure) I think I'm pretty much to the point where I can do this on my own now. Thanks for all your help seriously!

EDIT: oh yeah, one more question, I wanna make my custom darwinians for the game, how do I get them into the game?

also, I want red darwinians to be completly differant then the green ones, is that possible?

Posted: Thu Feb 15, 2007 5:22 pm
by sirvoks
The green and red darwinians use the same sprite image.. open main.dat and find out where it is .. :P - i forgot.

That means:

You cannot have diffrent sprites for red and green darwinians currently.

Posted: Thu Feb 15, 2007 6:19 pm
by The GoldFish
The most you can do currently is the top section of Nihil's The Pot - It probably isn't very helpful though. Ice's mod hax version of Darwinia apparently lets us do this but we'll we waiting a while for that it seems.

Posted: Thu Feb 15, 2007 10:59 pm
by combineguy
awww. Well thanks, but now I have another problem. whenever a level is completed, doctor sepevulda says the default text, THEN what I told him to say... and it cuts off the last line of my thing cause of this.

Posted: Thu Feb 15, 2007 11:16 pm
by xander
combineguy wrote:awww. Well thanks, but now I have another problem. whenever a level is completed, doctor sepevulda says the default text, THEN what I told him to say... and it cuts off the last line of my thing cause of this.

When a level is compete, it will always say the "level complete" string. That is hard coded. Nothing you can do about that.

xander

Posted: Fri Feb 16, 2007 12:28 am
by blackhole12
You could change it to a blank string in the strings_default.txt though...

Posted: Fri Feb 16, 2007 12:37 am
by xander
blackhole12 wrote:You could change it to a blank string in the strings_default.txt though...

Blank strings cause Darwinia to crash. You could change it to something that is not rendered (i.e. Ω), but it will still bring up the Sepulveda avatar a bit early.

xander

Posted: Fri Feb 16, 2007 10:08 am
by The GoldFish
You could try combining it with the ShutUp command.

Also it ought to not cut off any strings at all - make sure there's an empty line at the end of your strings_default file.