Generator not working?

Talk about your new mod or map here

Moderators: bert_the_turtle, jelco

User avatar
Testrie
level3
level3
Posts: 486
Joined: Thu Aug 17, 2006 8:02 pm
Location: CA, United States
Contact:

Generator not working?

Postby Testrie » Sun Aug 27, 2006 6:06 pm

Its not comming online and the Gq/s "meter" in the objectives screen isn't changing... Why?

Tes
User avatar
trickfred
level5
level5
Posts: 1691
Joined: Sat Jul 24, 2004 5:01 am
Location: The Great White North, Eh?
Contact:

Re: Generator not working?

Postby trickfred » Sun Aug 27, 2006 7:18 pm

Testrie wrote:Its not comming online and the Gq/s "meter" in the objectives screen isn't changing... Why?

Tes


Survey says.... change its Global setting to 1.
User avatar
Testrie
level3
level3
Posts: 486
Joined: Thu Aug 17, 2006 8:02 pm
Location: CA, United States
Contact:

Re: Generator not working?

Postby Testrie » Sun Aug 27, 2006 7:29 pm

trickfred wrote:
Testrie wrote:Its not comming online and the Gq/s "meter" in the objectives screen isn't changing... Why?

Tes


Survey says.... change its Global setting to 1.


it is at 1
User avatar
trickfred
level5
level5
Posts: 1691
Joined: Sat Jul 24, 2004 5:01 am
Location: The Great White North, Eh?
Contact:

Re: Generator not working?

Postby trickfred » Sun Aug 27, 2006 7:34 pm

Testrie wrote:
trickfred wrote:
Testrie wrote:Its not comming online and the Gq/s "meter" in the objectives screen isn't changing... Why?

Tes


Survey says.... change its Global setting to 1.


it is at 1


Odd. Easiest thing to do is look at another mod with a Generator setup that you know works, (or even the original Generator level, that might be easier), and have a look at what's different between your setup and its setup. Post back here with results either way.
User avatar
Testrie
level3
level3
Posts: 486
Joined: Thu Aug 17, 2006 8:02 pm
Location: CA, United States
Contact:

Re: Generator not working?

Postby Testrie » Sun Aug 27, 2006 7:45 pm

trickfred wrote:
Testrie wrote:
trickfred wrote:
Testrie wrote:Its not comming online and the Gq/s "meter" in the objectives screen isn't changing... Why?

Tes


Survey says.... change its Global setting to 1.


it is at 1


Odd. Easiest thing to do is look at another mod with a Generator setup that you know works, (or even the original Generator level, that might be easier), and have a look at what's different between your setup and its setup. Post back here with results either way.


You're going to think I'm crazy for asking this... but... do you HAVE to use team 0 DGs to power solar panels?
User avatar
trickfred
level5
level5
Posts: 1691
Joined: Sat Jul 24, 2004 5:01 am
Location: The Great White North, Eh?
Contact:

Re: Generator not working?

Postby trickfred » Sun Aug 27, 2006 8:32 pm

Testrie wrote:
trickfred wrote:
Testrie wrote:
trickfred wrote:
Testrie wrote:Its not comming online and the Gq/s "meter" in the objectives screen isn't changing... Why?

Tes


Survey says.... change its Global setting to 1.


it is at 1


Odd. Easiest thing to do is look at another mod with a Generator setup that you know works, (or even the original Generator level, that might be easier), and have a look at what's different between your setup and its setup. Post back here with results either way.


You're going to think I'm crazy for asking this... but... do you HAVE to use team 0 DGs to power solar panels?


Unfortunately, no, Team 1 DGs will power them as well - the Solar Panels don't care who are manning them, just as a bicycle doesn't care who's pedalling it. Make sure to leave most of the Solar panels empty, though, so that the red DGs don't complete the objective for you. :P
User avatar
Testrie
level3
level3
Posts: 486
Joined: Thu Aug 17, 2006 8:02 pm
Location: CA, United States
Contact:

Re: Generator not working?

Postby Testrie » Sun Aug 27, 2006 9:32 pm

trickfred wrote:
Testrie wrote:
trickfred wrote:
Testrie wrote:
trickfred wrote:
Testrie wrote:Its not comming online and the Gq/s "meter" in the objectives screen isn't changing... Why?

Tes


Survey says.... change its Global setting to 1.


it is at 1


Odd. Easiest thing to do is look at another mod with a Generator setup that you know works, (or even the original Generator level, that might be easier), and have a look at what's different between your setup and its setup. Post back here with results either way.


You're going to think I'm crazy for asking this... but... do you HAVE to use team 0 DGs to power solar panels?


Unfortunately, no, Team 1 DGs will power them as well - the Solar Panels don't care who are manning them, just as a bicycle doesn't care who's pedalling it. Make sure to leave most of the Solar panels empty, though, so that the red DGs don't complete the objective for you. :P


Actually... i was thinking of a "race against the team 1 DGs type thing... you have to kill them all before the generator comes online :) - just making sure that the generator WILL come online.

I've made the conditions exactly the same as the one in reciever... (except for the red dgs powering the panels), and its still not comming online.
Tes
User avatar
xander
level5
level5
Posts: 16868
Joined: Thu Oct 21, 2004 11:41 pm
Location: Highland, CA, USA
Contact:

Postby xander » Mon Aug 28, 2006 5:01 am

Do you have a control tower attached to the Generator?

xander
User avatar
martin
level5
level5
Posts: 3210
Joined: Fri Nov 19, 2004 8:37 pm
Location: ::1
Contact:

Postby martin » Mon Aug 28, 2006 2:55 pm

ok, putting myself at huge risk of being accused of pimping TBM, have a look at the scanner level of TBM:TheDeserts; the generator there works perfectly.
GENERATION 22:The first time you see this, copy it into your sig on any forum and add 1 to the generation. Social experiment.
User avatar
Montyphy
level5
level5
Posts: 6745
Joined: Tue Apr 19, 2005 2:28 pm
Location: London, England

Postby Montyphy » Mon Aug 28, 2006 3:14 pm

Well ofcourse your going to be accused pimping when you keep saying your pimping and you keep mentioning your mod. For frigsake we all know about your damn mod.
Uplink help: Check out the Guide or FAQ.
Latest Uplink patch is v1.55.
User avatar
xander
level5
level5
Posts: 16868
Joined: Thu Oct 21, 2004 11:41 pm
Location: Highland, CA, USA
Contact:

Postby xander » Mon Aug 28, 2006 4:01 pm

I also had another thought -- when you create a Generator objective, you need to have a PylonEnd somewhere after the Generator. I figured that out while trying to put together the tutorial level for Generators. The total system should look something like this:

Code: Select all

SolarPanel -> Pylon \_ Pylon _
SolarPanel -> Pylon /         \ Pylon -> Generator -> PylonEnd
SolarPanel -> Pylon  \_ Pylon /
...                  /
SolarPanel -> Pylon /


xander
User avatar
Testrie
level3
level3
Posts: 486
Joined: Thu Aug 17, 2006 8:02 pm
Location: CA, United States
Contact:

Postby Testrie » Mon Aug 28, 2006 11:45 pm

xander wrote:I also had another thought -- when you create a Generator objective, you need to have a PylonEnd somewhere after the Generator. I figured that out while trying to put together the tutorial level for Generators. The total system should look something like this:

Code: Select all

SolarPanel -> Pylon \_ Pylon _
SolarPanel -> Pylon /         \ Pylon -> Generator -> PylonEnd
SolarPanel -> Pylon  \_ Pylon /
...                  /
SolarPanel -> Pylon /


xander


oh.

It's not working.

Tes

I played your mod... and suddenly noticed... i forgot the control tower.
User avatar
martin
level5
level5
Posts: 3210
Joined: Fri Nov 19, 2004 8:37 pm
Location: ::1
Contact:

Postby martin » Tue Aug 29, 2006 8:57 am

see? See!? SEE!?! 0.o

ahem...

looking at my mods after I didn't pimp them does help sometimes!
GENERATION 22:The first time you see this, copy it into your sig on any forum and add 1 to the generation. Social experiment.
User avatar
Montyphy
level5
level5
Posts: 6745
Joined: Tue Apr 19, 2005 2:28 pm
Location: London, England

Postby Montyphy » Tue Aug 29, 2006 9:35 am

She was talking to xander so thus we must deduce she was talking about xander's mod, you muppet.
Uplink help: Check out the Guide or FAQ.

Latest Uplink patch is v1.55.
User avatar
xander
level5
level5
Posts: 16868
Joined: Thu Oct 21, 2004 11:41 pm
Location: Highland, CA, USA
Contact:

Postby xander » Tue Aug 29, 2006 2:18 pm

martin wrote:see? See!? SEE!?! 0.o

ahem...

looking at my mods after I didn't pimp them does help sometimes!

When trouble comes alongs, you must ZIP IT!

xander

PS: Muppet... heh.

Return to “Mod Projects”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests