Rocket model?

Talk about your new mod or map here

Moderators: bert_the_turtle, jelco

Sharpshot123
level1
level1

Rocket model?

Postby Sharpshot123 » Tue Dec 20, 2005 9:15 am

i am working on my own mod and id like a model of the rocket from the demo. also, if anyone can help me. id like to make a crash cutseen of that. but im new at this and dunno how to make any of that happen (moving it, making the flames come out, changing the terrian from before to after crash, ect.) so if anyone can help me with that, it would make my mod alot better looking :D .
xander
level5
level5

Postby xander » Tue Dec 20, 2005 4:59 pm

What you are asking to do is actually a lot of work. First, terrain is stored in the map file. Level names are based on the name of the map file (map file = map_LevelName.txt). This means that you have to have two seperate maps for one location -- they cannot share a name, so you will have to come up with a trick for making them look like the same place when they are not (see Droughtwinia for an example).

Second, building models are static. You place a building on the terrain, and it stays there without moving. There are exceptions (i.e. Refineries, Spam, Triffids, &c.), but they move only within very strict guidlines. I am not sure that you could actually animate a crashing Rocket Ship.

So, I think that your mod would have to do something like this:

First, you will need two maps. I am going to call them "map_NotCrashed.txt", "map_Crashed.txt".

map_NotCrashed.txt -- contains the uncrashed rocket and terrain
map_Crashed.txt -- contains the crashed rocket and terrain

Because you are swapping the map out for the terrain, you will not need a seperate mission file to swap buildings about -- you should be able to do that in map. That will make things a bit easier.

Then, you will need a script to run things together -- it will probably look something like this:

Code: Select all

#  in map_NotCrashed.txt
[Camera Movements, Strings, &c.]

ExitLocation