Is this a known error?

Problems with the Linux version of Darwinia

Moderators: bert_the_turtle, jelco, Chris, andy, John

dweebs0r
level1
level1
Posts: 10
Joined: Sun Nov 14, 2004 2:22 am
Location: $HOME=/atoka/tn/
Contact:

Is this a known error?

Postby dweebs0r » Sat Jan 08, 2005 8:02 pm

Hello,

I just installed beta 5 for Linux. The game seems to play well but when I exit the game this is what's on the command line:

CLIENT : Sending disconnect...

Saving profile dweebs0r

Saved global data for profile dweebs0r

*** glibc detected *** free(): invalid pointer: 0x081a30e0 ***
./darwinia: line 4: 6504 Aborted $here/lib/darwinia.bin.x86

This look familiar to anyone? If it's a bug or error of importance than I'll file a bug report, I just want to make sure this isn't a common error that's already reported.

--Dweebs0r
tx2rx
level0
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Aug 06, 2004 12:46 am

Postby tx2rx » Sun Jan 09, 2005 1:23 am

I get this as well using the beta5 client:
free(): invalid pointer 0x81a30e0!
User avatar
Dave2
level4
level4
Posts: 550
Joined: Wed Feb 20, 2002 9:07 pm
Location: Reading, England

Postby Dave2 » Sun Jan 09, 2005 1:38 am

The free() is a known bug (although it's not been posted here before for some reason. Probably never thought to).
dweebs0r
level1
level1
Posts: 10
Joined: Sun Nov 14, 2004 2:22 am
Location: $HOME=/atoka/tn/
Contact:

Postby dweebs0r » Sun Jan 09, 2005 7:19 am

Ok, thanks for the replies. Nothing to do on my part then, I suppose.

--Dweebs
sloth
level0
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Nov 13, 2004 8:36 am
Location: Grass Valley, CA

Postby sloth » Sun Jan 09, 2005 10:56 am

This problem was originally documented for the beta 4 here:

http://forums.introversion.co.uk/darwinia/viewtopic.php?t=1193

I have also found that it happens just about every time I run beta 5, but there is no longer any blackbox.txt file created. I've only had a chance to run beta 5 a couple of times, so I did not have enough info to add to the topic.
dweebs0r
level1
level1
Posts: 10
Joined: Sun Nov 14, 2004 2:22 am
Location: $HOME=/atoka/tn/
Contact:

Postby dweebs0r » Sun Jan 09, 2005 11:17 am

So, is there a Linux phase 2 yet? And, if not, will there be? There aren't that many Linux testers probably, so maybe quite a few of us will move on to the phase 2 beta. I'm hopeful.

--Dweebs
User avatar
ixplode
level2
level2
Posts: 129
Joined: Thu Nov 25, 2004 4:50 am
Location: New York
Contact:

Postby ixplode » Mon Jan 10, 2005 7:05 am

I don't believe there is a phase 2 yet. (Juding from the fact that John doesn't have a "Linux Phase 2 Tester" badge)
`` The perfect blossom is a rare thing. You could spend your life looking for one, and it would not be a wasted life. ``
User avatar
John
Introversion Staff
Introversion Staff
Posts: 478
Joined: Sun Dec 10, 2000 6:22 pm
Location: London, UK

Postby John » Mon Jan 10, 2005 12:27 pm

Hi, yes I found that bug, so it should be fixed in the next release. There will be a linux phase 2, starting soon hopefully.
User avatar
ixplode
level2
level2
Posts: 129
Joined: Thu Nov 25, 2004 4:50 am
Location: New York
Contact:

Postby ixplode » Tue Jan 11, 2005 6:31 am

Excellent, I can't wait to see what the rest of the game is like :D
`` The perfect blossom is a rare thing. You could spend your life looking for one, and it would not be a wasted life. ``
dweebs0r
level1
level1
Posts: 10
Joined: Sun Nov 14, 2004 2:22 am
Location: $HOME=/atoka/tn/
Contact:

Postby dweebs0r » Thu Jan 13, 2005 5:27 am

John wrote:There will be a linux phase 2, starting soon hopefully.


John,

What can we do to help at this point? I am posting what information I can but I haven't found many bugs on my system other than what I have posted. If there is something in particular that is needed?

--Dweebs

Return to “Linux Issues”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests