unlimited squads bug/glitch

Problems with the Mac version of Darwinia

Moderators: jelco, bert_the_turtle, Chris, andy, John

tobio2501
level0
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri Apr 22, 2005 10:45 pm
Location: London
Contact:

unlimited squads bug/glitch

Postby tobio2501 » Fri Apr 22, 2005 11:13 pm

I have only had the game five minutes and seem to have found myself a new bug! It doesn't crash the game, so it is more of a glitch, like when you get the yellow cone on your screen, and when find yourself moving backwards forever until you press all the cursors to unstick it (both of which I have also experienced, but are well mentioned elsewhere)

This bug lets you have loads of squads, but I find it gets a bit unstable if you do it too many times. You send a squad through a satellite, and as soon as the first member has gone into the beam hit ctrl-c do delete them. Only the squad members that were actually in the beam get deleted, the ones that were still outside go right on through and out the other side. you can still control them, but the game thinks they are gone and they don't show up in the task manager, letting you pile loads and loads of squads through the satellite, and run other programs. great for making your first steps into that unexplored, virus infested island.

In all seriousness, its not that useful in the single player game, but if (when) multiplayer is put in it would be just plain unfair to be able to do this.
User avatar
xander
level5
level5
Posts: 16869
Joined: Thu Oct 21, 2004 11:41 pm
Location: Highland, CA, USA
Contact:

Postby xander » Sat Apr 23, 2005 2:46 am

This has been mentioned before:

http://forums.introversion.co.uk/darwin ... .php?t=201
http://forums.introversion.co.uk/darwin ... .php?t=248
http://forums.introversion.co.uk/darwin ... .php?t=265

And you thought you were unique, didn't you ^_^

By the way, welcome to the boards.

xander
tobio2501
level0
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri Apr 22, 2005 10:45 pm
Location: London
Contact:

Postby tobio2501 » Sat Apr 23, 2005 12:21 pm

dah, didn't think to look in the windows issues boards...
User avatar
xander
level5
level5
Posts: 16869
Joined: Thu Oct 21, 2004 11:41 pm
Location: Highland, CA, USA
Contact:

Postby xander » Sat Apr 23, 2005 4:49 pm

Heh. Don't worry about it. Notice the very low ID number on those threads -- they have been around for a while.

xander

Return to “Mac Issues”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest