[beta5] Underwater Camera

Problems with the Mac version of Darwinia

Moderators: bert_the_turtle, jelco, Chris, andy, John

User avatar
xander
level5
level5
Posts: 16868
Joined: Thu Oct 21, 2004 11:41 pm
Location: Highland, CA, USA
Contact:

[beta5] Underwater Camera

Postby xander » Fri Jan 07, 2005 12:20 am

http://forums.introversion.co.uk/darwin ... php?t=1154

I initially posted this in the Class B bugs area. The problem seems to have been solved for Windows users, and the original topic has been locked. However, the problem still seems to be present in the Mac version. Also, I have managed to refine the conditions that cause the bug.

When the camera is in debug mode (either because a menu is on screen, or because it has been manually set to always be in debug mode), obsticals seem to be ignored, i.e. the camera can pass through mountains, water, buildings, &c. If the camera is in an obstacale (i.e. underwater, under a mountain) when the camera is returned to its normal mode (i.e. when the menu is closed, or the debug camera is manually turned to 'Never'), it 'springs' straight up, and ends up about as far above the obstacale as it was below the obstacale before 'springing'.

That is an ugly sentence. Sorry.

Basically, the debug camera seems to disregard obsticals.

Cheers,
xander

EDIT: spelling -- sum day, I wil lern too spel in thee English langwage.
Last edited by xander on Sat Jan 15, 2005 5:40 pm, edited 1 time in total.
coolsi
level5
level5
Posts: 3990
Joined: Wed Apr 10, 2002 6:46 pm

Postby coolsi » Fri Jan 07, 2005 1:01 am

I assume this is for debug purposes and probably won't be included in the final game.
Andcarne
level4
level4
Posts: 675
Joined: Mon May 26, 2003 1:44 am

Postby Andcarne » Fri Jan 07, 2005 2:40 am

Debug camera can go anywhere. It's not meant to be used in-game, so this isn't really a bug.
User avatar
xander
level5
level5
Posts: 16868
Joined: Thu Oct 21, 2004 11:41 pm
Location: Highland, CA, USA
Contact:

Postby xander » Fri Jan 07, 2005 7:08 am

Perhaps the debug camera is meant to go anywhere. This would make sense. However, I do not believe that one should be able to go underwater or through mountains when a menu is on screen, which is the other part of the problem.

I will try to be more clear, as I realize that my last post was lacking in clarity. When a menu is on the screen (i.e. the 'Location Menu', accessed by hitting [esc]), it is possible to use the keyboard to travel through obsticals (i.e. underwater, through mountains).

I can acheive the same effect by using the debug camera, but it is not the debug camera alone that causes the problem.

Sorry for the confusion,
xander
Andcarne
level4
level4
Posts: 675
Joined: Mon May 26, 2003 1:44 am

Postby Andcarne » Fri Jan 07, 2005 7:11 am

Ah, that makes sense. Yeah, I agree that the screen should just be locked when in menus, instead of switching to the debug cam.
User avatar
xander
level5
level5
Posts: 16868
Joined: Thu Oct 21, 2004 11:41 pm
Location: Highland, CA, USA
Contact:

Postby xander » Fri Jan 07, 2005 4:51 pm

A similar bug/feature has been reported in the Class C bugs section:
http://forums.introversion.co.uk/darwin ... php?t=1253

And here in the Class B bugs section:
http://forums.introversion.co.uk/darwin ... php?t=1339

Maybe this topic ought to be moved out of Mac specific bugs?

xander

EDIT: Added a new link.
User avatar
xander
level5
level5
Posts: 16868
Joined: Thu Oct 21, 2004 11:41 pm
Location: Highland, CA, USA
Contact:

Postby xander » Thu Mar 31, 2005 6:57 am

This still occurs in the final mac version.

xander

Return to “Mac Issues”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest