Stuck at a framerate of 20

Problems with the Windows version of Darwinia

Moderators: bert_the_turtle, jelco, Chris, andy, John

Axus
level1
level1
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Sep 15, 2008 6:10 am

Stuck at a framerate of 20

Postby Axus » Wed Aug 12, 2009 6:05 am

Help!

Im stuck at a framerate of 20.

I have and HP Pavillion dv5-1235dx Notebook.

Specs:
Intel Core2Duo 6400
4 gigs. of Ram
Intel Extreme Graphics 4500MHD
Windows Vista Home Premium 64bit

I have tried EVERY solution available on the forums and still nothing.

Updated my drivers.
Changed the processor affinity.
Messed around with the preferences.txt adding the " RenderLandscapeMode " with values of 0 , 1 and 2.
Installed the latest patch.
Unnistalling and Installing the game again.

The weird thing is that i can lower all the graphics settings and still get the same framerate, no matter which settings i choose.

What can i do? Im really interested in playing this game. But at this framerate it's unplayable.
User avatar
bert_the_turtle
level5
level5
Posts: 4797
Joined: Fri Oct 13, 2006 6:11 pm
Location: Cologne
Contact:

Postby bert_the_turtle » Wed Aug 12, 2009 8:01 am

With 'all the graphics settings', do you also mean the resolution? Sometimes, for not so good graphics chips (and the intel ones certainly count as that), fillrate is the main problem and lowering the resolution is the only thing that helps.
Axus
level1
level1
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Sep 15, 2008 6:10 am

Postby Axus » Wed Aug 12, 2009 1:38 pm

I've lowered the resolution to the minimun (640x480) and i'm getting a framerate of 28.

Is this the best i can hope to achieve?

What else i can do?
User avatar
bert_the_turtle
level5
level5
Posts: 4797
Joined: Fri Oct 13, 2006 6:11 pm
Location: Cologne
Contact:

Postby bert_the_turtle » Wed Aug 12, 2009 2:17 pm

It may also be an OpenGL support problem. Did you fetch your GPU drivers from Intel or Microsoft? If Microsoft, I suggest you switch to Intel provided ones, Microsoft is known for delivering drivers with crippeled OpenGL.

Apart from that, sorry, there's nothing I can think of.
Axus
level1
level1
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Sep 15, 2008 6:10 am

Postby Axus » Wed Aug 12, 2009 2:28 pm

I wasn't thinking of gaming when i bought this notebook.

And, can't really expect a lot from an integrated gpu.

I will keep fiddling with the graphics settings to see if i can get a better framerate.

Thanks a lot for the help!
User avatar
xander
level5
level5
Posts: 16866
Joined: Thu Oct 21, 2004 11:41 pm
Location: Riverside, CA, USA
Contact:

Postby xander » Wed Aug 12, 2009 4:21 pm

Given the integrated graphics, I think you may be stuck with sub-30 framerates. That being said, I don't see why that makes Darwinia unplayable. When Darwinia came out, the only machine that I had capable of playing it was a PowerBook G4. That is a machine that is now... um... 6 years old. In some of the earlier levels, where there are fewer things going on, I can get maybe 30 FPS. In some levels, it can drop to 10. The game remains playable, if a little sluggish, at those framerates. It is only when framerates drop below 10 FPS that you start to have real problems. ;)

xander
Axus
level1
level1
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Sep 15, 2008 6:10 am

Postby Axus » Wed Aug 12, 2009 6:47 pm

Hahaha!

I know Xander, i just love to see those little Darwinians running smoothly around the landscape.

Im a bit demanding when it comes to the framerate.

But, oh well, slow motion from time to time is alright! :-P

Return to “Windows Issues”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest