Installation and crash issue

Problems with the Windows version of Darwinia

Moderators: jelco, bert_the_turtle, Chris, andy, John

CarthAnne
level0

Installation and crash issue

Postby CarthAnne » Mon Jun 15, 2009 3:07 pm

I installed Darwinia started to play it and crashed when I hit the garden I tryed to install the patch but said I had an incomplete version of Darwinia I reinstall and have the same problem how do I make sure Darwinia installs properly Oh and when first attmepted to play it said {error data transfer 00004} or something like that

Specs:
AMD Athlon 64 X@ Dual Processor 4000+
2.00 GB Ram
32 bit operating system

Anything else you need to know?
bert_the_turtle
level5
level5

Postby bert_the_turtle » Mon Jun 15, 2009 3:26 pm

I'm not an expert here, but know what the experts need as additional information:
- the contents of the files blackbox.txt and preferences.txt from your profile directoy (just do a file search for them)
- which version of Darwinia you installed
- what graphics card you are using
- which operating system you have. Since you're on the Windows Troubleshooting forum, that means XP or Vista.

oh and please use some punctuation the lack of it makes it hard to read what you write it essentially is just a string of words that go on and on punctuation is your friend it will make you look that much smarter
CarthAnne
level0

Postby CarthAnne » Mon Jun 15, 2009 4:20 pm

Darwinia version is 1.42, operating system is Windows 7 beta.

And I don`t know how to check what graphics card I`m using and don`t know where blackbox.txt or preferences.txt
xander
level5
level5

Postby xander » Mon Jun 15, 2009 4:57 pm

At the top of this forum, there is a stickied post. Did you read that?

xander
CarthAnne
level0

Postby CarthAnne » Tue Jun 16, 2009 12:30 am

Yes I did and I didnt find the answer to my problem there
xander
level5
level5

Postby xander » Tue Jun 16, 2009 2:49 am