1.42 Sound Issue Leading to Darwinia Crash

Problems with the Windows version of Darwinia

Moderators: jelco, bert_the_turtle, Chris, andy, John

Laz
level0

1.42 Sound Issue Leading to Darwinia Crash

Postby Laz » Sat Mar 11, 2006 4:35 am

When playing the Pattern Buffer level on build 1.42 of Darwinia the game looks up when I use the armor. Usually when I am employing the second or third unit. I have tried decreasing the sound settings and the problem still occurs. This is my first time on the level and it is really my first time trying to use the armor effectively. Before the game locks up the graphics become very slow and jerky. Up until this point, the game has ran flawlessly on my system (All previous play was on build 1.3 - up to the pattern buffer lev). I hope that the info helps resolve the problem. Keep up the great work. I love the game. System info and blackbox text below:

System Specs
Motherboard: DFI- LP UT nF3 250GB nVIDIA nFORCE3 250GB, CPU AMD Athlon 64 3400+ socket 754, nforce driver 5.11
Memory: Corsair twinx1024-3200XL 2X64X64 400MHZ 2X512MB (matched pair) 2-2-2-5,
Hard Drives: 2 Seagate 160GB Barracuda SATA 7200RPM 8MB
Video Card: BFG 6800 with 128MB driver ver 81.98
Sound: onboard sound driver ver4.62
Operating System: WindowsXP Pro with SP2 and latest updates

----

BlackBoc Text
VERSION : win32-full-steam-1.4.2
ERROR : 'DirectSound ERROR
C:\Development\Darwinia\code\sound\sound_library_3d_dsound.cpp line 997
Direct sound couldn't set fx
Error Code : E_OUTOFMEMORY
Ran out of memory'

=========================
====== PREFERENCES ======
ServerAddress = 127.0.0.1
BypassNetwork = 1
IAmAServer = 1
TextLanguage = english
TextSpeed = 15
HelpEnabled = 1
SoundLibrary = dsound
SoundMixFreq = 44100
SoundMasterVolume = 255
SoundChannels = 32
SoundHW3D = 0
SoundSwapStereo = 0
SoundMemoryUsage = 1
SoundBufferSize = 512
SoundDSP = 1
ScreenWidth = 800
ScreenHeight = 600
ScreenWindowed = 0
ScreenZDepth = 24
ScreenColourDepth = 32
ScreenRefresh = 85