Steam version - crash on startup

Problems with the Windows version of Darwinia

Moderators: bert_the_turtle, jelco, Chris, andy, John

Lorewin
level0
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Jan 25, 2006 5:30 pm

Steam version - crash on startup

Postby Lorewin » Wed Jan 25, 2006 5:45 pm

Was working, now isn't - unsure what if anything has changed in my general Windows install. On startup, screen goes black then gives me a Windows dialog box with the audio error shopwn in the blackbox.txt, below:

=========================
DARWINIA BLACK BOX REPORT
=========================

VERSION : win32-full-steam-v1.4
ERROR : 'Failed to open audio output device: "Specified device ID is out of range"'

=========================
====== PREFERENCES ======
=========================

ServerAddress = 127.0.0.1
BypassNetwork = 1
IAmAServer = 1
TextLanguage = english
TextSpeed = 15
HelpEnabled = 1
SoundLibrary = dsound
SoundMixFreq = 22050
SoundMasterVolume = 255
SoundChannels = 32
SoundHW3D = 0
SoundSwapStereo = 0
SoundMemoryUsage = 1
SoundBufferSize = 512
SoundDSP = 1
ScreenWidth = 1024
ScreenHeight = 768
ScreenWindowed = 0
ScreenZDepth = 24
ScreenColourDepth = 32
ScreenRefresh = 60
RenderLandscapeDetail = 1
RenderWaterDetail = 1
RenderBuildingDetail = 1
RenderEntityDetail = 1
RenderCloudDetail = 1
RenderPixelShader = 1
ControlMouseButtons = 3
ControlMethod = 1
BootLoader = firsttime
UserProfile = NewUser
RenderSpecialLighting = 0

=========================
====== STACKTRACE =======
=========================

retAddress = 0042134F
retAddress = 0047F4C7
retAddress = 00483D7E
retAddress = 00483CAA
retAddress = 004B37F3
retAddress = 004B39B3
retAddress = 00425FA4
retAddress = 004D2576
retAddress = 7C816D4F
retAddress = 00000000


I've uninstalled and reinstalled the game, (including deleting the darwina folder from SteamApps), and updatd my audio drivers to the ones released yesterday by Creative. Also tried:
reducing Directsound acceleration to zero in dxdiag
setting SoundHW3D = 0 in preferences.txt
setting SoundDSP = 0 in preferences.txt
setting BootLoader = none in preferences.txt

Current (default) Preferences.txt:

ServerAddress = 127.0.0.1
BypassNetwork = 1
IAmAServer = 1

TextLanguage = english
TextSpeed = 15
HelpEnabled = 1

SoundLibrary = dsound
SoundMixFreq = 22050
SoundMasterVolume = 255
SoundChannels = 32
SoundHW3D = 0
SoundSwapStereo = 0
SoundMemoryUsage = 1
SoundBufferSize = 512
SoundDSP = 1

ScreenWidth = 1024
ScreenHeight = 768
ScreenWindowed = 0
ScreenZDepth = 24
ScreenColourDepth = 32
ScreenRefresh = 60

RenderLandscapeDetail = 1
RenderWaterDetail = 1
RenderBuildingDetail = 1
RenderEntityDetail = 1
RenderCloudDetail = 1
RenderPixelShader = 1

ControlMouseButtons = 3
ControlMethod = 1
BootLoader = firsttime
UserProfile = NewUser
RenderSpecialLighting = 0

Initial section of DXdiag.txt:

------------------
System Information
------------------
Time of this report: 1/25/2006, 15:50:27
Machine name: ALBERT
Operating System: Windows XP Professional (5.1, Build 2600) Service Pack 2 (2600.xpsp_sp2_gdr.050301-1519)
Language: English (Regional Setting: English)
System Manufacturer: NVIDIA
System Model: AWRDACPI
BIOS: )Phoenix - Award WorkstationBIOS v6.00PG
Processor: AMD Athlon(tm) 64 Processor 3500+, MMX, 3DNow, ~2.2GHz
Memory: 1022MB RAM
Page File: 361MB used, 2099MB available
Windows Dir: C:\WINDOWS
DirectX Version: DirectX 9.0c (4.09.0000.0904)
DX Setup Parameters: Not found
DxDiag Version: 5.03.2600.2180 32bit Unicode

------------
DxDiag Notes
------------
DirectX Files Tab: No problems found.
Display Tab 1: No problems found.
Sound Tab 1: DirectSound test results: All tests were successful.
Sound Tab 2: DirectSound test results: All tests were successful.
Music Tab: No problems found.
Input Tab: No problems found.
Network Tab: No problems found.

--------------------
DirectX Debug Levels
--------------------
Direct3D: 0/4 (n/a)
DirectDraw: 0/4 (retail)
DirectInput: 0/5 (n/a)
DirectMusic: 0/5 (n/a)
DirectPlay: 0/9 (retail)
DirectSound: 0/5 (retail)
DirectShow: 0/6 (retail)

Note that I have both onboard sound (nVidia nForce4 AMD) and an Audigy2 soundcard - the Audigy2 is the windows default (I use the Nvidia with a headset). Both were enabled previouslyt when the game run without issues.

Please help - I was close to finishing this fabulous game and would really like to get it going again!
Illumia
level0
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Jan 01, 2012 2:49 pm

Postby Illumia » Mon Jan 02, 2012 9:53 pm

I have exactly same problem need help fixing it :(
Ellawill
level0
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Apr 11, 2013 7:10 am

Postby Ellawill » Thu Apr 11, 2013 10:18 am

I think there is some problem with the device diver as the application is not recognizing the audio output device.

Business phone providers

Return to “Windows Issues”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests