STARTUP - Direct Sound couldn't create a sound device

Problems with the Windows version of Darwinia

Moderators: bert_the_turtle, jelco, Chris, andy, John

Smaug
level1
level1
Posts: 24
Joined: Sun Aug 31, 2003 2:20 am
Location: AR

STARTUP - Direct Sound couldn't create a sound device

Postby Smaug » Fri Sep 03, 2004 12:42 am

=========================
DARWINIA BLACK BOX REPORT
=========================

VERSION : win32-demo-beta2
ERROR : 'DirectSound ERROR
C:\Development\Darwinia\code\sound\sound_library_3d_dsound.cpp line 207

Direct Sound couldn't create a sound device
Error Code : DSERR_ALLOCATED
The call failed because resources (such as a priority level) were already being used by another caller'

=========================
===== SYSTEM REPORT =====
=========================

SysInfoGenVersion: 2
CpuVendor: GenuineIntel
CpuModel: x86 Family 6 Model 8 Stepping 10
Num Processors: 1
Country: Argentina
Language: Spanish
Num sound devices: 1
Primary sound device: SB PCI128 Playback
Graphics Card: NVIDIA GeForce FX 5200
Operating System: Windows ME
Computer Name: PC-NUEVA



=========================
====== USER DATA ========
=========================

USERNAME : Smaug
EMAIL : *********************DELETED

=========================
====== PREFERENCES ======
=========================

ServerAddress = 127.0.0.1
BypassNetwork = 1
SinglePlayer = 1
IAmAServer = 1
TextLanguage = english
TextSpeed = 15
HelpEnabled = 1
SoundLibrary = dsound
SoundDriver = -1
SoundMixFreq = 44100
SoundMasterVolume = 255
SoundChannels = 16
SoundHW3D = 0
SoundSwapStereo = 1
ScreenWidth = 1024
ScreenHeight = 768
Windowed = 0
RenderLandscapeLighting = 0
RenderLandscapeOverlay = 1
RenderLandscapeDetail = 1
RenderWater = 1
RenderWaterDetail = 1
RenderClouds = 1
RenderNegative = 0
RenderPixelShader = 1
RenderSmoothLines = 1
RenderHighDetailVirii = 0
RecordDemo = 0
DemoFrameRate = 25
StartMap = mine
TestHarness = 0
ShowIntro = 0

=========================
====== STACKTRACE =======
=========================

retAddress = 00410729
retAddress = 0043F7F0
retAddress = 00443017
retAddress = 004471D2
retAddress = 0045D131
retAddress = 0045D27F
retAddress = 0045D518
retAddress = 0041475F
retAddress = 0046AED2
retAddress = BFF7B9E4
retAddress = BFF7B896
retAddress = BFF7A24F
retAddress = 08630863
Last edited by Smaug on Wed Jun 20, 2012 3:02 am, edited 1 time in total.
UPLINK FAN
Don't beat me, I know than my english is very bad T_T
User avatar
LLamaBoy
level5
level5
Posts: 1627
Joined: Sun Aug 18, 2002 12:18 pm
Location: Nicosia, Cyprus
Contact:

Postby LLamaBoy » Fri Sep 03, 2004 12:47 am

Are you perhaps running some other program in the background that uses sound, for example, Winamp?
Smaug
level1
level1
Posts: 24
Joined: Sun Aug 31, 2003 2:20 am
Location: AR

Postby Smaug » Fri Sep 03, 2004 1:01 am

Nop :? , only Windows and Darwinia
UPLINK FAN
Don't beat me, I know than my english is very bad T_T
User avatar
LLamaBoy
level5
level5
Posts: 1627
Joined: Sun Aug 18, 2002 12:18 pm
Location: Nicosia, Cyprus
Contact:

Postby LLamaBoy » Fri Sep 03, 2004 1:19 am

I'm out of ideas then. What with it giving you a source specific error though, I suspect Chris and Andy would be interested in this.
Smaug
level1
level1
Posts: 24
Joined: Sun Aug 31, 2003 2:20 am
Location: AR

Postby Smaug » Fri Sep 03, 2004 3:30 am

This is the error message on startup :?

Image
UPLINK FAN
Don't beat me, I know than my english is very bad T_T
elDiablo
level5
level5
Posts: 3111
Joined: Thu Mar 14, 2002 12:23 pm
Location: London, UK

Postby elDiablo » Fri Sep 03, 2004 8:39 am

I think I got the same (if not a similar) error when I tried to put the HW3DSound thingy = 1, instead of 0... You done that too?

Edit - ignore my stupidity, Llama pointed out you posted your blackbox, and its set to 0 ;) SORRY
We dont stop playing cos we get old... We get old cos we stop playing.
User avatar
Josh mc
level3
level3
Posts: 465
Joined: Fri May 02, 2003 8:30 pm
Location: :noitacoL . .///////|\\\\\\\ . . . . . . |..---...,...---..| . |........|........| . |...\__.__/...|
Contact:

Postby Josh mc » Sat Sep 04, 2004 4:47 pm

I'm also getting this:

=========================
DARWINIA BLACK BOX REPORT
=========================

VERSION : win32-demo-beta2
ERROR : 'DirectSound ERROR
C:\Development\Darwinia\code\sound\sound_library_3d_dsound.cpp line 207

Direct Sound couldn't create a sound device
Error Code : DSERR_ALLOCATED
The call failed because resources (such as a priority level) were already being used by another caller'

=========================
===== SYSTEM REPORT =====
=========================

SysInfoGenVersion: 2
CpuVendor: AuthenticAMD
CpuModel: AMD-K6(tm) 3D processor
Num Processors: 1
Country: United Kingdom
Language: English
Num sound devices: 4
Primary sound device: SB AudioPCI Playback
Graphics Card: Rage Fury
Operating System: Windows 98
Computer Name: MC1



=========================
====== USER DATA ========
=========================

USERNAME : Josh
EMAIL : j.mcnamee@onet.co.uk

=========================
====== PREFERENCES ======
=========================

ServerAddress = 127.0.0.1
BypassNetwork = 1
SinglePlayer = 1
IAmAServer = 1
TextLanguage = english
TextSpeed = 15
HelpEnabled = 1
SoundLibrary = dsound
SoundDriver = -1
SoundMixFreq = 44100
SoundMasterVolume = 255
SoundChannels = 16
SoundHW3D = 0
SoundSwapStereo = 1
ScreenWidth = 1024
ScreenHeight = 768
Windowed = 0
RenderLandscapeLighting = 0
RenderLandscapeOverlay = 1
RenderLandscapeDetail = 1
RenderWater = 1
RenderWaterDetail = 1
RenderClouds = 1
RenderNegative = 0
RenderPixelShader = 1
RenderSmoothLines = 1
RenderHighDetailVirii = 0
RecordDemo = 0
DemoFrameRate = 25
StartMap = mine
TestHarness = 0
ShowIntro = 0

=========================
====== STACKTRACE =======
=========================

retAddress = 00410729
retAddress = 0043F7F0
retAddress = 00443017
retAddress = 004471D2
retAddress = 0045D131
retAddress = 0045D27F
retAddress = 0045D518
retAddress = 0041475F
retAddress = 0046AED2
retAddress = BFF8B560
retAddress = BFF8B412
retAddress = BFF89DD5

I am crushed. I get back from holiday to find i've missed phase 1, then, when i finally get the sysinfo to work, i cant even get on the game -sniff-.
rob_quill
level1
level1
Posts: 69
Joined: Fri Apr 16, 2004 7:41 pm

Postby rob_quill » Sat Sep 04, 2004 7:44 pm

This is still phase one. You just missed the first version, and all that was was a more buggy version of what you have now, with some incredibly annoying crash bugs.

Rob
Smaug
level1
level1
Posts: 24
Joined: Sun Aug 31, 2003 2:20 am
Location: AR

Postby Smaug » Sat Sep 04, 2004 8:06 pm

I get into intro screen for few secconds!. I delete the soundo library "dsound", so the problem is my sound card :?


PD: Sorry for my bad english


=========================
DARWINIA BLACK BOX REPORT
=========================

VERSION : win32-demo-beta2
ERROR : 'Couldn't send sound data 2'

=========================
===== SYSTEM REPORT =====
=========================

SysInfoGenVersion: 2
CpuVendor: GenuineIntel
CpuModel: x86 Family 6 Model 8 Stepping 10
Num Processors: 1
Country: Argentina
Language: Spanish
Num sound devices: 1
Primary sound device: SB PCI128 Playback
Graphics Card: NVIDIA GeForce FX 5200
Operating System: Windows ME
Computer Name: PC-NUEVA



=========================
====== USER DATA ========
=========================

USERNAME : Smaug
EMAIL : ********************DELETED

=========================
====== PREFERENCES ======
=========================

ServerAddress = 127.0.0.1
BypassNetwork = 1
SinglePlayer = 1
IAmAServer = 1
TextLanguage = english
TextSpeed = 15
HelpEnabled = 1
SoundLibrary =
SoundDriver = -1
SoundMixFreq = 44100
SoundMasterVolume = 255
SoundChannels = 16
SoundHW3D = 0
SoundSwapStereo = 1
ScreenWidth = 1024
ScreenHeight = 768
Windowed = 0
RenderLandscapeLighting = 0
RenderLandscapeOverlay = 1
RenderLandscapeDetail = 1
RenderWater = 1
RenderWaterDetail = 1
RenderClouds = 1
RenderNegative = 0
RenderPixelShader = 1
RenderSmoothLines = 1
RenderHighDetailVirii = 0
RecordDemo = 0
DemoFrameRate = 25
StartMap = mine
TestHarness = 0
ShowIntro = 0

=========================
====== STACKTRACE =======
=========================

retAddress = 00410729
retAddress = 0043F20C
retAddress = 0045D4EA
retAddress = 0045D518
retAddress = 0041475F
retAddress = 0046AED2
retAddress = BFF7B9E4
retAddress = BFF7B896
retAddress = BFF7A24F
retAddress = 00000000
Last edited by Smaug on Wed Jun 20, 2012 3:03 am, edited 1 time in total.
UPLINK FAN
Don't beat me, I know than my english is very bad T_T
User avatar
Josh mc
level3
level3
Posts: 465
Joined: Fri May 02, 2003 8:30 pm
Location: :noitacoL . .///////|\\\\\\\ . . . . . . |..---...,...---..| . |........|........| . |...\__.__/...|
Contact:

Postby Josh mc » Sat Sep 04, 2004 9:36 pm

Sorry, I meant beta one. And it still meant something to me. However, I can be happy now, as I can run it! If you change dsound to 0, it works! At least for me, but I can't see why it shouldn't as this is essentially disabling the sound, which is causeing the error.
User avatar
Josh mc
level3
level3
Posts: 465
Joined: Fri May 02, 2003 8:30 pm
Location: :noitacoL . .///////|\\\\\\\ . . . . . . |..---...,...---..| . |........|........| . |...\__.__/...|
Contact:

Postby Josh mc » Sat Oct 30, 2004 5:59 pm

This is now worse on Beta 3. i can't load the game at all, even with edited prefs.
Meklort
level1
level1
Posts: 31
Joined: Tue Jun 29, 2004 10:06 pm
Location: Colorado Springs, CO, USA
Contact:

Postby Meklort » Mon Nov 01, 2004 11:39 pm

When i was looking at my black box, vrs your, mine says
Meklort's Blackbox / Pref's wrote:SoundLibrary = dsound
SoundDriver = -1
SoundMixFreq = 44100
SoundMasterVolume = 255
SoundChannels = 16
SoundHW3D = 0
SoundSwapStereo = 1
SoundBufferSize = 2000

And your's
[quote]
SoundLibrary = dsound
SoundDriver = -1
SoundMixFreq = 44100
SoundMasterVolume = 255
SoundChannels = 16
SoundHW3D = 0
SoundSwapStereo = 1
[/quote="Your balck Box"]
Yours does not seam to have the "SoundBufferSize = 2000", i would check to see if this is in the preferences, No matter what i do to the sound it works, so...
User avatar
simonk
level2
level2
Posts: 90
Joined: Wed Sep 15, 2004 1:00 am
Location: Australia

DirectX

Postby simonk » Tue Nov 02, 2004 3:03 am

Perhaps you could try different versions of DirectX? Though it sounds like something else is using your sound card. Perhaps everyone who reads this could leave their soundcard type to see if there is a pattern or certain brand that fails?

I use an onboard AC 97 Pro (Built into a Gigabyte board)

SiMonk
Talking to you is like clubbing seals....disgusting but somewhat refreshing!

Return to “Windows Issues”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest