Wobbly Radar

Problems with the Windows version of Darwinia

Moderators: bert_the_turtle, jelco, Chris, andy, John

User avatar
Starfyre
level5
level5
Posts: 3247
Joined: Sat Jun 29, 2002 3:00 pm
Location: in the tree house

Wobbly Radar

Postby Starfyre » Tue Aug 31, 2004 8:06 am

Error type:
Glitch

Reproduceable:
Yes

Report:
Activate the first command center on your startout island. Then point the radar at the shore farthest away:
http://web3.ewsg.net/bilder/screenshots/radarwobble.jpg

It will establish a link to it.
Now, take your engineer and send him over to the farthest radar (the one you linked to) and activate it's command center. Then try to turn the dish to match the other one.

It'll wobble back and forth in place, never quite managing to turn.

Blackbox file:
http://blackboxfiles.ath.cx/blackboxdec ... ox8798.txt
goweb
level3
level3
Posts: 377
Joined: Fri Aug 09, 2002 6:25 pm
Location: Guildford, Surrey, England
Contact:

Postby goweb » Tue Aug 31, 2004 9:25 am

It does this with the radar on the refinery island as well, although eventually it'll stop.
User avatar
D Dude
level2
level2
Posts: 172
Joined: Tue Apr 15, 2003 9:50 pm
Location: England
Contact:

Postby D Dude » Tue Aug 31, 2004 7:10 pm

I believe this to be the same bug.

When the radar is wobbling, I moved the radar it was trying to connect to but it kept making a connection at one point then disconnecting so flashing a lot.

However this did stop after a few mins but the wobbling didn't.
Andcarne
level4
level4
Posts: 675
Joined: Mon May 26, 2003 1:44 am

Postby Andcarne » Tue Aug 31, 2004 7:42 pm

Starfyre: just a note, but blackbox files are only for when Darwnia crashes. Otherwise it's not written out to the file.
Iwudacus
level2
level2
Posts: 145
Joined: Thu Jul 08, 2004 12:56 pm
Contact:

Postby Iwudacus » Thu Sep 02, 2004 9:03 am

I think this might be some sort of logic bug, so I posted the same thing in Class B bugs. The reason for thinking this is that once I managed to establish a 2way connection between radars, which was reported as a bug, but then said to be normal. But that was the only time it worked. The wobbly-shakiness causes the radar to be unable to establish a connection with a radar connected to it, esentially making 2way connections impossible.
Mouse
level1
level1
Posts: 37
Joined: Thu Aug 05, 2004 12:15 pm
Location: Cambridge, UK

Postby Mouse » Fri Sep 03, 2004 12:50 pm

Actually if you point the radar away, then back it sometimes makes the connection (i usually click on the ground below the target rader).
I've made the 2-way connection lots of time.

However the first time it always wobbles as you say :)

Return to “Windows Issues”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests