Darwinian not "getting on the mine" and getting st

Problems with the Windows version of Darwinia

Moderators: bert_the_turtle, jelco, Chris, andy, John

User avatar
D Dude
level2
level2
Posts: 172
Joined: Tue Apr 15, 2003 9:50 pm
Location: England
Contact:

Darwinian not "getting on the mine" and getting st

Postby D Dude » Sat Aug 28, 2004 12:15 am

For some reason the darwinians didn't want to get on the last spot on one of the mines. They just kept on circling around it.

As here:
http://images.pi3.co.uk/darwinia/betasc ... _30_17.jpg
and it was the mine in the centre of this screen:
http://images.pi3.co.uk/darwinia/betasc ... _30_27.jpg

on the 3rd island just above the incubator.

After that one of the darwinians got stuck in at the edge of the water and just kept running around the base of the cliff near the incubator:

http://images.pi3.co.uk/darwinia/betasc ... _34_06.jpg
http://images.pi3.co.uk/darwinia/betasc ... _34_07.jpg
http://images.pi3.co.uk/darwinia/betasc ... _34_09.jpg
Superpig
level4
level4
Posts: 658
Joined: Sat May 04, 2002 10:06 pm
Location: Right behind you
Contact:

Postby Superpig » Sat Aug 28, 2004 12:24 am

Confirmed. I had three guys running around that same terminal, refusing to actually get into it. They were actually running *through* the terminal - i.e. disappearing into the wall.
Superpig
- Saving pigs from untimely fates
TripH
level1
level1
Posts: 24
Joined: Wed Feb 20, 2002 5:07 pm

Postby TripH » Sat Aug 28, 2004 12:47 am

Yes, I had that too. My guess would be that the AI system has some kind of mechanism to prevent a deadlock, which results in a chain reaction. You know, A tries to get in, B does the same thing. Because only one can get in, A performs a check, recognizes B and lets him go in instead. B does the same with C who again does a step back in favour of A.
That's just wild guessing though, I have no idea how this is actually implemented.
User avatar
Soulkeeper
level3
level3
Posts: 457
Joined: Sun Jun 27, 2004 3:04 pm
Location: Dorset, UK
Contact:

Postby Soulkeeper » Sat Aug 28, 2004 1:16 am

Actually, I think its a bug with the station itself, seeing as it happened to me too, and it all appears to be the exact same station (this will probably need confirmation). Should be relatively easy to fix, must be a dodgy variable/array for the station data.
- I see your destiny, I control your fate. I am the Guardian Soulkeeper. -
User avatar
Phydaux
level5
level5
Posts: 1615
Joined: Tue Feb 26, 2002 3:00 am
Location: Cardiff, UK
Contact:

Postby Phydaux » Sat Aug 28, 2004 6:51 pm

Yes I had this problem with a lot of darwinians. Exact same mine, and work-station.

All the darwinians bounced back and forth in a perfect curve without entering station.

They also wouldn't listen to officer orders. Damn crazy people.

Observe:
Image
Stewsburntmonkey
level5
level5
Posts: 11553
Joined: Wed Jul 10, 2002 7:44 pm
Location: Nashville, TN
Contact:

Postby Stewsburntmonkey » Sat Aug 28, 2004 8:34 pm

Yea, I have a screen capture just like Phydaux's. It seems to be that one terminal that is the issue. :)
Superpig
level4
level4
Posts: 658
Joined: Sat May 04, 2002 10:06 pm
Location: Right behind you
Contact:

Postby Superpig » Sat Aug 28, 2004 10:13 pm

triph wrote:Yes, I had that too. My guess would be that the AI system has some kind of mechanism to prevent a deadlock, which results in a chain reaction. You know, A tries to get in, B does the same thing. Because only one can get in, A performs a check, recognizes B and lets him go in instead. B does the same with C who again does a step back in favour of A.
No, I doubt it's anything so elaborate. if(!terminal->occupant) { terminal->occupant = this; WalkTo(terminal); }

I suspect it may be a pathfinding bug, actually.
Superpig

- Saving pigs from untimely fates
User avatar
Jimmy D
level1
level1
Posts: 52
Joined: Thu Jun 24, 2004 3:27 pm
Location: Southampton, UK

Postby Jimmy D » Mon Aug 30, 2004 2:29 am

Ya I had the exact same problem with the exact same terminal, could be a problem with that terminal, as I've sent massive numbers of darwinians to the other mines and they've always been able to sort themselves out, I'd guess that once a darwinian recieves an order, it tries to do that order until it's completed, hence darwinians sometimes get stuck at the edge of the water. In this case, it looks like once a darwinian gets within a certain proximity of the terminal, it recieves an order to go to that terminal, and then once it reaches it, it's supposed to be put into the terminal, except that the game never triggers that a darwinian reaches the terminal, so it carries on trying to carry out the order. Also, since the terminal isn't filled, it carries on giving orders to any darwinian in close proximity an order to go to the terminal.

EDIT: Although not all the terminals are filled, the mine still produces polygons, but not in every crate that goes through, will just check whether this occurs with other mines.

EDIT 2: Ok, all darwinian powered structures work without the full number of darwinians, albeit at a lower capacity, so probably not a bug, unless structures aren't meant to work at all without the full number of darwinians.
goweb
level3
level3
Posts: 377
Joined: Fri Aug 09, 2002 6:25 pm
Location: Guildford, Surrey, England
Contact:

Postby goweb » Mon Aug 30, 2004 9:32 pm

I had this, but only when lots of Darwinians were trying to get into one place. It still happened after sending all but one away. The mine was still producting polygons, and it was the second mine along. Screenshot attached:

Image
User avatar
Epsilon
level1
level1
Posts: 69
Joined: Sat Jan 04, 2003 4:43 am
Location: Canada
Contact:

Postby Epsilon » Thu Sep 02, 2004 6:58 am

Y'know, not only has the circling happened when darwinians are trying to enter the last mine alcove, but it's happened after being ordered to a regular location too.

Image
Resident #Uplink Half-Op
-=-==============-=-
irc.uplinkcorp.net #uplink
User avatar
D Dude
level2
level2
Posts: 172
Joined: Tue Apr 15, 2003 9:50 pm
Location: England
Contact:

Postby D Dude » Thu Sep 02, 2004 11:04 am

That looks like the same as this.

But could you move them again?
User avatar
Hektik sniper
level5
level5
Posts: 3642
Joined: Tue May 07, 2002 4:58 pm
Location: A Field with my fellow Clows.... MOOOOOOO!!!!!
Contact:

Postby Hektik sniper » Thu Sep 02, 2004 11:27 am

I had this earlier, if you just demote your officer, they all walk into place.
British Army The Number 1 UK Soldat Clan
Winners of Storm and Destory CTF
User avatar
Mad_Big_Sausage
level2
level2
Posts: 171
Joined: Mon Jul 26, 2004 2:05 pm
Location: Dublin, Ireland
Contact:

Postby Mad_Big_Sausage » Thu Sep 02, 2004 12:43 pm

I think the problem with that slot in the mine is the pylon beside it. The pylon is slightly too close to let them into that slot.
Darwinians seem to take a wider path around objects than other units. Can't think of why though.
Bug?
If you see Kaye, why owe you?
User avatar
Josh mc
level3
level3
Posts: 465
Joined: Fri May 02, 2003 8:30 pm
Location: :noitacoL . .///////|\\\\\\\ . . . . . . |..---...,...---..| . |........|........| . |...\__.__/...|
Contact:

Postby Josh mc » Sat Sep 04, 2004 9:21 pm

I thionk its a specific bug with that mine and that terminal, like this:

Darwinian is ordered to Mine.
Reaches mine
Pathfinding says "Go to terminal"
Darwinian cant get to terminal, so turns around and tries to go around.
Darwinian cant get to terminal, so turns around and tries to go around.
Darwinian cant get to terminal, so turns around and tries to go around.
Darwinian cant get to terminal, so turns around and tries to go around.
Darwinian cant get to terminal, so turns around and tries to go around.
Darwinian cant get to terminal, so turns around and tries to go around.
etc.
Meklort
level1
level1
Posts: 31
Joined: Tue Jun 29, 2004 10:06 pm
Location: Colorado Springs, CO, USA
Contact:

Postby Meklort » Wed Sep 15, 2004 12:26 am

exact same thing happened to me, same mine, same terminal.
I had about 5 darwinianw trying to enter it, but none could. I made all of them officers, and still none. Then i demoted one officer, and... still none.

Return to “Windows Issues”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 20 guests