Crash on exit

Problems with the Windows version of Darwinia

Moderators: jelco, bert_the_turtle, Chris, andy, John

tommy060289
level5
level5
Posts: 1135
Joined: Wed Jun 12, 2002 5:19 pm
Location: England
Contact:

Postby tommy060289 » Tue Aug 31, 2004 12:59 pm

wat are the odds, I got the error to :P, id promoted a darwinia to officer, and built a squad (four yellow things) I gave up after after the game was being silly and I couldnt get the squad from one island to another using the gateway.

=========================
DARWINIA BLACK BOX REPORT
=========================

VERSION : win32-demo-beta2
ERROR : 'Darwinia has been forced to shutdown.
Please post your 'blackbox' file to the Darwinia forums,with a description of the error you encountered'

=========================
===== SYSTEM REPORT =====
=========================

SysInfoGenVersion: 2
CpuVendor: AuthenticAMD
CpuModel: x86 Family 6 Model 8 Stepping 0
Num Processors: 1
Country: United Kingdom
Language: English
Num sound devices: 1
Primary sound device: C-Media Wave Device
Graphics Card: NVIDIA GeForce2 MX/MX 400
Operating System: Windows XP
Computer Name: TOMS-COMPUTER



=========================
====== USER DATA ========
=========================

USERNAME : tommy060289
EMAIL : tommy060289@tiscali.co.uk

=========================
====== PREFERENCES ======
=========================

ServerAddress = 127.0.0.1
BypassNetwork = 1
SinglePlayer = 1
IAmAServer = 1
TextLanguage = english
TextSpeed = 15
HelpEnabled = 1
SoundLibrary = dsound
SoundDriver = -1
SoundMixFreq = 44100
SoundMasterVolume = 255
SoundChannels = 16
SoundHW3D = 0
SoundSwapStereo = 1
ScreenWidth = 1024
ScreenHeight = 768
Windowed = 0
RenderLandscapeLighting = 0
RenderLandscapeOverlay = 1
RenderLandscapeDetail = 1
RenderWater = 1
RenderWaterDetail = 1
RenderClouds = 1
RenderNegative = 0
RenderPixelShader = 1
RenderSmoothLines = 1
RenderHighDetailVirii = 0
RecordDemo = 0
DemoFrameRate = 25
StartMap = mine
TestHarness = 0
ShowIntro = 0

=========================
====== STACKTRACE =======
=========================

retAddress = 00410729
retAddress = 0045D555
retAddress = 0041475F
retAddress = 0046AED2
retAddress = 7C816D4F
retAddress = 00000000
!toidI ,rorrim eht ni kool

Subliminal (burn) messaging (your) is (friends) awesome!
TimTim
level4
level4
Posts: 772
Joined: Wed Apr 17, 2002 8:42 pm

Postby TimTim » Tue Aug 31, 2004 1:11 pm

Just messing around sent squad to third island directly to see if it crashes when the trees are set on fire. Got attacked by spider, hit esc and blam.

Code: Select all

=========================
DARWINIA BLACK BOX REPORT
=========================

VERSION : win32-demo-beta2
ERROR   : 'Darwinia has been forced to shutdown.
Please post your 'blackbox' file to the Darwinia forums,with a description of the error you encountered'

=========================
===== SYSTEM REPORT =====
=========================

SysInfoGenVersion: 2
CpuVendor: AuthenticAMD
CpuModel: x86 Family 6 Model 8 Stepping 1
Num Processors: 1
Country: Ireland
Language: English
Num sound devices: 1
Primary sound device: C-Media Wave Device
Graphics Card: NVIDIA GeForce FX 5200
Operating System: Windows XP
Computer Name: TIMTIM



=========================
====== USER DATA ========
=========================

USERNAME : TimTim
EMAIL    : cpower12@online.ie

=========================
====== PREFERENCES ======
=========================

ServerAddress = 127.0.0.1
BypassNetwork = 1
SinglePlayer = 1
IAmAServer = 1
TextLanguage = english
TextSpeed = 15
HelpEnabled = 0
SoundLibrary = dsound
SoundDriver = -1
SoundMixFreq = 44100
SoundMasterVolume = 255
SoundChannels = 16
SoundHW3D = 0
SoundSwapStereo = 1
ScreenWidth = 1024
ScreenHeight = 768
Windowed = 0
RenderLandscapeLighting = 0
RenderLandscapeOverlay = 1
RenderLandscapeDetail = 1
RenderWater = 1
RenderWaterDetail = 1
RenderClouds = 1
RenderNegative = 0
RenderPixelShader = 1
RenderSmoothLines = 1
RenderHighDetailVirii = 0
RecordDemo = 0
DemoFrameRate = 25
StartMap = mine
TestHarness = 0
ShowIntro = 0

=========================
====== STACKTRACE =======
=========================

retAddress = 00410729
retAddress = 0045D555
retAddress = 0041475F
retAddress = 0046AED2
retAddress = 7C816D4F
retAddress = 00000000
User avatar
Phydaux
level5
level5
Posts: 1615
Joined: Tue Feb 26, 2002 3:00 am
Location: Cardiff, UK
Contact:

Postby Phydaux » Tue Aug 31, 2004 9:24 pm

Also had this error in Bata 2.

Playing for about 30s-1m

Had only created officers (and taken a few screenshots)

Code: Select all

=========================
DARWINIA BLACK BOX REPORT
=========================

VERSION : win32-demo-beta2
ERROR   : 'Darwinia has been forced to shutdown.
Please post your 'blackbox' file to the Darwinia forums,with a description of the error you encountered'

=========================
===== SYSTEM REPORT =====
=========================

SysInfoGenVersion: 2
CpuVendor: AuthenticAMD
CpuModel: x86 Family 6 Model 8 Stepping 1
Num Processors: 1
Country: United Kingdom
Language: English
Num sound devices: 1
Primary sound device: NVIDIA(R) nForce(TM) Audio
Graphics Card: NVIDIA GeForce4 MX Integrated GPU
Operating System: Windows XP
Computer Name: JOHN



=========================
====== USER DATA ========
=========================

USERNAME : Phydaux
EMAIL    : Phydaux101@hotmail.com

=========================
====== PREFERENCES ======
=========================

ServerAddress = 127.0.0.1
BypassNetwork = 1
SinglePlayer = 1
IAmAServer = 1
TextLanguage = english
TextSpeed = 15
HelpEnabled = 1
SoundLibrary = dsound
SoundDriver = -1
SoundMixFreq = 44100
SoundMasterVolume = 255
SoundChannels = 16
SoundHW3D = 0
SoundSwapStereo = 1
ScreenWidth = 1024
ScreenHeight = 768
Windowed = 0
RenderLandscapeLighting = 0
RenderLandscapeOverlay = 1
RenderLandscapeDetail = 1
RenderWater = 1
RenderWaterDetail = 1
RenderClouds = 1
RenderNegative = 0
RenderPixelShader = 1
RenderSmoothLines = 1
RenderHighDetailVirii = 0
RecordDemo = 0
DemoFrameRate = 25
StartMap = mine
TestHarness = 0
ShowIntro = 0

=========================
====== STACKTRACE =======
=========================

retAddress = 00410729
retAddress = 0045D555
retAddress = 0041475F
retAddress = 0046AED2
retAddress = 7C816D4F
retAddress = 00000000
User avatar
Cooleo
level2
level2
Posts: 128
Joined: Sun Jul 04, 2004 10:28 pm
Location: The MCP! Oh Noes!!1!!

Postby Cooleo » Fri Sep 03, 2004 11:28 pm

Seems to be after awhile once you've done certain things. Did it happen when you had altered the stats? I have yet to try this.

=========================
DARWINIA BLACK BOX REPORT
=========================

VERSION : win32-demo-beta2
ERROR : 'Darwinia has been forced to shutdown.
Please post your 'blackbox' file to the Darwinia forums,with a description of the error you encountered'

=========================
===== SYSTEM REPORT =====
=========================

SysInfoGenVersion: 2
CpuVendor: AuthenticAMD
CpuModel: x86 Family 6 Model 10 Stepping 0
Num Processors: 1
Country: United Kingdom
Language: English
Num sound devices: 2
Primary sound device: NVIDIA(R) nForce(TM) Audio
Graphics Card: RADEON 9800 PRO
Operating System: Windows XP
Computer Name: VICK2004



=========================
====== USER DATA ========
=========================

USERNAME : Cooleo
EMAIL : cooleo_no1@hotmail.com

=========================
====== PREFERENCES ======
=========================

ServerAddress = 127.0.0.1
BypassNetwork = 1
SinglePlayer = 1
IAmAServer = 1
TextLanguage = english
TextSpeed = 15
HelpEnabled = 1
SoundLibrary = dsound
SoundDriver = -1
SoundMixFreq = 44100
SoundMasterVolume = 255
SoundChannels = 16
SoundHW3D = 0
SoundSwapStereo = 1
ScreenWidth = 1024
ScreenHeight = 768
Windowed = 0
RenderLandscapeLighting = 0
RenderLandscapeOverlay = 1
RenderLandscapeDetail = 1
RenderWater = 1
RenderWaterDetail = 1
RenderClouds = 1
RenderNegative = 0
RenderPixelShader = 1
RenderSmoothLines = 1
RenderHighDetailVirii = 0
RecordDemo = 0
DemoFrameRate = 25
StartMap = mine
TestHarness = 0
ShowIntro = 0

=========================
====== STACKTRACE =======
=========================

retAddress = 00410729
retAddress = 0045D555
retAddress = 0041475F
retAddress = 0046AED2
retAddress = 77E814C7
retAddress = 00000000
User avatar
Totallyout2lunch
level2
level2
Posts: 179
Joined: Tue Oct 29, 2002 5:33 pm
Location: Dorset, UK.

Postby Totallyout2lunch » Wed Sep 08, 2004 7:31 am

Its actually much more simple than the hypothisis that you guys are making.

Crash Variation 1.

All you need to do is to create a squad, and move them. Whilst they are moving hit escape and it wil bomb out every time.

Crash Variation 2.

Create an Officer, then create a Squad. Dont touch anything or move anything, hit ESCAPE and Boom crash.



=========================
DARWINIA BLACK BOX REPORT
=========================

VERSION : win32-demo-beta2
ERROR : 'Darwinia has been forced to shutdown.
Please post your 'blackbox' file to the Darwinia forums,with a description of the error you encountered'

=========================
===== SYSTEM REPORT =====
=========================

SysInfoGenVersion: 2
CpuVendor: GenuineIntel
CpuModel: x86 Family 6 Model 9 Stepping 5
Num Processors: 1
Country: United Kingdom
Language: English
Num sound devices: 2
Primary sound device: VIA AC'97 Audio (WAVE)
Graphics Card: Intel(R) 82852/82855 GM/GME Graphics Controller
Operating System: Windows XP
Computer Name: ALIENWEAR



=========================
====== USER DATA ========
=========================

USERNAME : Totallyout2lunch
EMAIL : Totallyout2lunch@hotmail.com

=========================
====== PREFERENCES ======
=========================

ServerAddress = 127.0.0.1
BypassNetwork = 1
SinglePlayer = 1
IAmAServer = 1
TextLanguage = english
TextSpeed = 15
HelpEnabled = 0
SoundLibrary = dsound
SoundDriver = -1
SoundMixFreq = 44100
SoundMasterVolume = 255
SoundChannels = 16
SoundHW3D = 0
SoundSwapStereo = 1
ScreenWidth = 1024
ScreenHeight = 768
Windowed = 1
RenderLandscapeLighting = 0
RenderLandscapeOverlay = 1
RenderLandscapeDetail = 0
RenderWater = 0
RenderWaterDetail = 0
RenderClouds = 0
RenderNegative = 0
RenderPixelShader = 0
RenderSmoothLines = 0
RenderHighDetailVirii = 0
RecordDemo = 0
DemoFrameRate = 25
StartMap = mine
TestHarness = 0
ShowIntro = 0

=========================
====== STACKTRACE =======
=========================

retAddress = 00410729
retAddress = 0045D555
retAddress = 0041475F
retAddress = 0046AED2
retAddress = 7C816D4F
retAddress = 00000000
Check me out!!!
Windows Leads to anger, Anger leads to Hate, Hate Leads to Linux...
User avatar
Phydaux
level5
level5
Posts: 1615
Joined: Tue Feb 26, 2002 3:00 am
Location: Cardiff, UK
Contact:

Postby Phydaux » Thu Sep 09, 2004 10:48 pm

Squad crashes on exit. (some slightly more thorough testing)

(see the excel goodness) ;)
Image
the numbers under each column (crash, no crash) is the number of times that even occoured

Although these numbers are small, they do tend to show that (regardless wheter help-text is showing, or the squad is selected) that while a squad is moving there is a much higher chance that the game will crash on exit.

I also decided to see if whether or not the mouce hovering over the squad changed the probablilty the game would crash. It didn't seem to make any noticalbe difference.

I then thought, maybe it's a problem with the sounds generated by the squad. These results seemed more focussed, the game crashes on exit while the squad is making a noice almost every time (every time according to these figures) and only crashed once while they were quiet. I put this down to the fact that they may have just started making a noise, or that a quite sample was playing that I couldn't hear.

These figures are only very basic, it might be worth while some other people testing these.

I, now, personally feel that it is a sound problem that creates the exit crash. A moving squad creates more sounds. This may also be the reason the game crashes on exit at other times, other units could be playing sound samples on exit, and the game crashes.
Also it may just be certain sounds that are played.

I personally don't know how to turn the sounds completely off using preferences.txt to see if the game still crashes. It would be very good to repeat the above with sounds off.

Method: Each time I ran darwinia, I did the squad gesture in the task manager, then moved the camera (to the same point each time), if I was going to I would then remove the help-text, then place a squad, then carry out further actions (eg. move squad, de-select squad), then exit.

I did not reset my computer after each crash, I also did not keep a record of the blackbox for each crash. The first few all appeared the same as the one I have posted above.
Iwudacus
level2
level2
Posts: 145
Joined: Thu Jul 08, 2004 12:56 pm
Contact:

Postby Iwudacus » Fri Sep 10, 2004 10:42 pm

And now, the moment you've all been waiting for: the posting of my BlackBox!!!

=========================
DARWINIA BLACK BOX REPORT
=========================

VERSION : win32-demo-beta2
ERROR : 'Darwinia has been forced to shutdown.
Please post your 'blackbox' file to the Darwinia forums,with a description of the error you encountered'

=========================
===== SYSTEM REPORT =====
=========================

SysInfoGenVersion: 2
CpuVendor: AuthenticAMD
CpuModel: x86 Family 6 Model 8 Stepping 1
Num Processors: 1
Country: South Africa
Language: English
Num sound devices: 1
Primary sound device: NVIDIA(R) nForce(TM) Audio
Graphics Card: NVIDIA GeForce4 Ti 4200 with AGP8X
Operating System: Windows XP
Computer Name: IWUDAPC



=========================
====== USER DATA ========
=========================

USERNAME : Iwudacus
EMAIL : Iwudacus@mighty.co.za

=========================
====== PREFERENCES ======
=========================

ServerAddress = 127.0.0.1
BypassNetwork = 1
SinglePlayer = 1
IAmAServer = 1
TextLanguage = english
TextSpeed = 15
HelpEnabled = 1
SoundLibrary = dsound
SoundDriver = -1
SoundMixFreq = 44100
SoundMasterVolume = 255
SoundChannels = 16
SoundHW3D = 0
SoundSwapStereo = 1
ScreenWidth = 1280
ScreenHeight = 1024
Windowed = 0
RenderLandscapeLighting = 1
RenderLandscapeOverlay = 1
RenderLandscapeDetail = 1
RenderWater = 1
RenderWaterDetail = 1
RenderClouds = 1
RenderNegative = 0
RenderPixelShader = 1
RenderSmoothLines = 1
RenderHighDetailVirii = 1
RecordDemo = 0
DemoFrameRate = 25
StartMap = mine
TestHarness = 0
ShowIntro = 0

=========================
====== STACKTRACE =======
=========================

retAddress = 00410729
retAddress = 0045D555
retAddress = 0041475F
retAddress = 0046AED2
retAddress = 77E814C7
retAddress = 00000000
User avatar
Chris
Introversion Staff
Introversion Staff
Posts: 1172
Joined: Sat Nov 25, 2000 7:28 pm
Location: Cambridge, UK
Contact:

Postby Chris » Wed Oct 27, 2004 6:20 pm

Fixed in beta3. Thanks for the excellent bug reports.

Return to “Windows Issues”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest