Dedwinia

Working on new maps for Multiwinia? Discuss!

Moderators: bert_the_turtle, jelco

TomCat39
level3
level3
Posts: 303
Joined: Sat Oct 25, 2008 11:52 pm

Postby TomCat39 » Sat Nov 08, 2008 6:53 pm

bert_the_turtle wrote:I'm not too hot for this idea. For unranked games, if you want special settings, just host one yourself. For ranked games, consistency is somewhat important. I would not want to enter my favorite server only to notice the settings have been changed by some random guy only when the game starts, or maybe only later (such as when basic crates only is turned on). And there certainly is a huge potential for abuse of such a feature.


Yeah, I can see that happening. I was actually thinking of this coinciding with the server details being displayed, not prior. Without being able to see the details, you would never know what you are getting into.

And I hadn't thought of the ladder bit, consistency can be an issue to ranking games depending on how and what data is collected.

I just wanted to throw the idea into the mix. Not sure the flavor is so good though. :wink:
"Now, stop being a douche to the newbie, and run along."

xander
moth
level1
level1
Posts: 30
Joined: Mon Nov 10, 2008 5:57 pm

possible bug?

Postby moth » Thu Dec 04, 2008 1:55 am

When playing on dedicated servers, I find i can't move engineers or harvesters if i select them by clicking on them. The path-indicator line appears, but clicking doesn't do anything. It works fine if i select them by tabbing, or if i play on a normal server or host a game. Anyone else notice this?

moth
User avatar
bert_the_turtle
level5
level5
Posts: 4796
Joined: Fri Oct 13, 2006 6:11 pm
Location: Cologne
Contact:

Postby bert_the_turtle » Thu Dec 04, 2008 9:21 am

This may be the bandwith saving code being overzealous. I'll have a look at it.
Cyan.
level3
level3
Posts: 377
Joined: Tue Sep 23, 2008 9:37 pm

Postby Cyan. » Thu Dec 04, 2008 9:41 am

heh I didn't really played single player at all, so I considred this to be normal O_o!
User avatar
bert_the_turtle
level5
level5
Posts: 4796
Joined: Fri Oct 13, 2006 6:11 pm
Location: Cologne
Contact:

Postby bert_the_turtle » Fri Dec 05, 2008 12:21 pm

A fix attempt is running on the Dedwinia Test servers (Dedwinia Test Duel, Fish Bowl, plain Dedwinia Test). Please verify that it worked, I'll then make a new build.
moth
level1
level1
Posts: 30
Joined: Mon Nov 10, 2008 5:57 pm

Postby moth » Fri Dec 05, 2008 2:45 pm

haven't managed to try it myself yet, but my opponent in one game said it work for him.
moth
level1
level1
Posts: 30
Joined: Mon Nov 10, 2008 5:57 pm

Postby moth » Fri Dec 05, 2008 3:04 pm

moth wrote:haven't managed to try it myself yet, but my opponent in one game said it worked for him.


but not for me... (on dedwinia test duel, got an engineer, same behaviour as before).
Cyan.
level3
level3
Posts: 377
Joined: Tue Sep 23, 2008 9:37 pm

Postby Cyan. » Fri Dec 05, 2008 3:07 pm

me too with ufo
User avatar
bert_the_turtle
level5
level5
Posts: 4796
Joined: Fri Oct 13, 2006 6:11 pm
Location: Cologne
Contact:

Postby bert_the_turtle » Sat Dec 06, 2008 8:36 pm

Oops, looks like my fix somehow got stuck in the pipeline from the development machine to the server :) (To be precise, right at the start.) It's corrected now, please try again. And in the case that it still doesn't work, please do this:
-Deselect the Harvester/Engineer
-Say "Selecting Harvester/Engineer"
-Select it
-Say "Moving"
-Move it
And then point me to the game with the bug so I can look at the net log.
moth
level1
level1
Posts: 30
Joined: Mon Nov 10, 2008 5:57 pm

Postby moth » Thu Dec 11, 2008 12:53 am

You seem to have fixed it. I've had a couple of games where i've been able to move engineers properly. Thanks.
User avatar
Cooper42
level4
level4
Posts: 810
Joined: Tue Mar 13, 2007 3:04 pm

Postby Cooper42 » Thu Dec 11, 2008 3:04 pm

I put the lack of movement down to lag before (I'm on a crappy wireless), but have been able to move engineers recently. Thanks.
Whoever you vote for, the government wins.
User avatar
bert_the_turtle
level5
level5
Posts: 4796
Joined: Fri Oct 13, 2006 6:11 pm
Location: Cologne
Contact:

Postby bert_the_turtle » Thu Dec 18, 2008 8:02 pm

Goody. Build 997 is up for the testers with the fix included. The build also fixes ServerIP not working properly, a feature nobody ever needed until now :)
Techman224
level1
level1
Posts: 11
Joined: Fri Dec 19, 2008 4:27 am

Postby Techman224 » Fri Dec 26, 2008 2:56 am

From what I see, I've downloaded dedcon, played DEFCON, and ran dedcon at the same time using the same computer using the same auth key (also played on the server too). I wonder if dedwinia and multiwinia work the same way?
User avatar
bert_the_turtle
level5
level5
Posts: 4796
Joined: Fri Oct 13, 2006 6:11 pm
Location: Cologne
Contact:

Postby bert_the_turtle » Fri Dec 26, 2008 12:56 pm

It works the same way.
User avatar
Killjoy
level1
level1
Posts: 58
Joined: Fri Jan 02, 2009 3:10 pm
Location: United Kingdom of Great Britain and N.Ireland
Contact:

Postby Killjoy » Wed Jan 07, 2009 3:48 pm

Anychance of a map vote feature? on the Assault servers only assault maps to pick from etc etc you get the idea.

Return to “Mods and Maps”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest