How to start Map Editor on resources MULTIWINIA?

Working on new maps for Multiwinia? Discuss!

Moderators: bert_the_turtle, jelco

User avatar
AK4783
level0
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Oct 03, 2008 9:27 pm
Location: Republic of BELARUS

How to start Map Editor on resources MULTIWINIA?

Postby AK4783 » Fri Oct 03, 2008 10:13 pm

:?: :?: :?:

How to start DARWINIA + Map Editor on resources MULTIWINIA?
Nothing turns out :( Constant crash of game.
Help who than can....

:cry: :roll: :oops: :wink: :?: :shock: :) :o
RabidZombie
level5
level5
Posts: 2414
Joined: Fri Nov 18, 2005 10:09 pm

Postby RabidZombie » Fri Oct 03, 2008 10:18 pm

What... the.. hell?

Please try to communicate more clearly. I haven't a clue what you just said/asked.
User avatar
AK4783
level0
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Oct 03, 2008 9:27 pm
Location: Republic of BELARUS

Postby AK4783 » Fri Oct 03, 2008 10:21 pm

I badly speak in English...
Excuse...
Last edited by AK4783 on Fri Oct 03, 2008 11:04 pm, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
AK4783
level0
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Oct 03, 2008 9:27 pm
Location: Republic of BELARUS

Postby AK4783 » Fri Oct 03, 2008 10:23 pm

:)
:)
:
I wish to create some cards for MULTIWINIA. How it to make?
Whether it is possible to use Map Editor DARWINIA?

P.S. I speak in four languages (Russian, Belarussian, a Ukranian language, Polish), but knowledge on English language bad.


Thanks!
User avatar
bert_the_turtle
level5
level5
Posts: 4795
Joined: Fri Oct 13, 2006 6:11 pm
Location: Cologne
Contact:

Postby bert_the_turtle » Fri Oct 03, 2008 11:08 pm

Using the Darwinia editor on Multiwinia maps is quite unsupported and not expected to work.
User avatar
AK4783
level0
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Oct 03, 2008 9:27 pm
Location: Republic of BELARUS

Postby AK4783 » Fri Oct 03, 2008 11:15 pm

But in fact new cards for MULTIWINIA are created by fans :)
I simply wish to know as they it do.
...
RabidZombie
level5
level5
Posts: 2414
Joined: Fri Nov 18, 2005 10:09 pm

Postby RabidZombie » Fri Oct 03, 2008 11:29 pm

By hand.
User avatar
AK4783
level0
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Oct 03, 2008 9:27 pm
Location: Republic of BELARUS

Postby AK4783 » Fri Oct 03, 2008 11:38 pm

Logically!
I also work :)

It would be desirable to know how to include the editor for cards in MULTIWINIA.
It is very important.
There are some interesting ideas... But them I can not check up because of the given problem.
User avatar
Xocrates
level5
level5
Posts: 5262
Joined: Wed Dec 13, 2006 11:34 pm

Postby Xocrates » Fri Oct 03, 2008 11:39 pm

You can use the Darwinia editor for some things, but editing the maps .txt files is necessary at this point.
User avatar
lorant
level1
level1
Posts: 34
Joined: Thu Aug 07, 2008 8:49 pm
Location: France

Postby lorant » Fri Oct 03, 2008 11:50 pm

This thread by The Goldfish explains a lot of things. You can also take a look at official maps.

The general idea is to create a map from scratch in Darwinia, and then convert it by hand to a Multiwinia map.
User avatar
AK4783
level0
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Oct 03, 2008 9:27 pm
Location: Republic of BELARUS

Postby AK4783 » Fri Oct 03, 2008 11:56 pm

How it?
What can be edited in the editor?
How to include the editor?
How to use .shp for MULTIWINIA in editor DARWINIA?

Tell practical advice.
User avatar
AK4783
level0
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Oct 03, 2008 9:27 pm
Location: Republic of BELARUS

Postby AK4783 » Sat Oct 04, 2008 12:05 am

the phrase in link:
((multiwinia dats + 1.42 patch +>>>>>> empty txt file called sounds.dat in data <<<<<))
What it is necessary to make with txt-a file?
What name at txt a file?
I at start of game have a mistake :(
User avatar
xander
level5
level5
Posts: 16869
Joined: Thu Oct 21, 2004 11:41 pm
Location: Highland, CA, USA
Contact:

Postby xander » Sat Oct 04, 2008 12:08 am

As everyone else in this topic has stated, there is currently no map editor for Multiwinia. It hasn't been released yet. The people that have been making custom levels (levels, or maps -- not cards) have done so by creating maps with Darwinia, then tweaking them by hand, with a text editor, to create Multiwinia. This is a "hackers only" kind of process, and should not really be taken on by someone who does not know the basics of creating a text file. If this is too difficult for you to do, as it seems it might be, you should probably wait until the Multiwinia map editor is finished and released.

xander
Donat
level1
level1
Posts: 63
Joined: Sun Sep 21, 2008 9:48 pm

Postby Donat » Sat Oct 04, 2008 12:20 am

It may be best for you to post in your native language, so the rest of us can try a better translator or find some one who speaks it.
User avatar
The GoldFish
level5
level5
Posts: 3961
Joined: Fri Mar 01, 2002 9:01 pm
Location: Bowl / South UK
Contact:

Postby The GoldFish » Sat Oct 04, 2008 12:35 am

AK4783 wrote:((multiwinia dats + 1.42 patch +>>>>>> empty txt file called sounds.dat in data <<<<<))

I'm sorry, that was a mistake.

It should be sounds.txt, not sounds.dat.

Doing this is just a trick to get to the Darwinia editor without needing to have a working installation of Darwinia. From what you have said to us, I think that you do not need to do this because you have access to the Darwinia editor already.

It is very hard to open Multiwinia levels with the Darwinia editor, because they are in a slightly different format and contain many buildings which do not exist in Darwinia. These buildings will make the Darwinia editor crash. It is usually easier to make a level with the Darwinia editor and then convert it to be for Multiwinia.

I would suggest that you wait until the Multiwinia editor is added into Multiwinia. If you don't want to, I would suggest learning how to use the Darwinia editor to make Darwinia levels, and build up some familiarity with the way the maps work. Then perhaps you could apply the steps in the link you have been given to convert to make it work in Multiwinia. At the moment, this process is very difficult to explain, especially with the language barrier between us.

If you can tell me the name of a Multiwinia map you would like to open in Darwinia, I could convert it for you by hand. This would be a time consuming process for me to do this for you, but it may help you and others to learn in this time before the editor is released, so I would be happy to help you to open 1 or 2 levels with Darwinia.

I am sorry if this is not what you mean. Can you please try to explain your problem to me in a different way if I have not understood?

Return to “Mods and Maps”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests