[1.1] no fast camera button on Xbox controller

Post your ideas on where the future evolution of Multiwinia should lead

Moderators: bert_the_turtle, jelco

cde
level2
level2
Posts: 146
Joined: Mon Mar 27, 2006 9:19 am

[1.1] no fast camera button on Xbox controller

Postby cde » Sun Oct 19, 2008 3:45 pm

On large maps, Xbox controller users are at a severe disadvantage due to not being able to speed around the map. Perhaps a higher maximum speed on the analogue stick would be useful?

A click-to-toggle alternative may work, but I still hope that LS click become a zoom-out-for-overview feature, the opposite of RS click or "z"...

Perhaps holding both triggers could be a speed modifier? Might be a lititle clumsy, but there are limited buttons to choose from.
User avatar
cheesemoo0
level3
level3
Posts: 345
Joined: Tue Jan 03, 2006 1:19 am
Location: USA
Contact:

Postby cheesemoo0 » Sun Oct 19, 2008 5:40 pm

It has been suggested before in the beta the click-to-toggle alternative for the 360 controller, but if it doesn't ever happen or your impatient you can just make it that way your preferences file.

Here is a mock up RabidZombie came up with.

Open main.dat\data\input\input_preferences.txt
Code:

-CameraZoom = XInput leftthumbstick pressed

+CameraZoom = XInput rightthumbstick pressed
+CameraSpeedup = XInput rightthumbstick pressed
Last edited by cheesemoo0 on Mon Oct 20, 2008 3:50 pm, edited 1 time in total.
RabidZombie
level5
level5
Posts: 2414
Joined: Fri Nov 18, 2005 10:09 pm

Postby RabidZombie » Sun Oct 19, 2008 5:48 pm

Does that even work? :P
cde
level2
level2
Posts: 146
Joined: Mon Mar 27, 2006 9:19 am

Postby cde » Sun Oct 19, 2008 5:52 pm

In the spirit of not asking everyone to hack solutions, and encouraging IV to make a solution for the XBLA version as much as for Windows players, some kind of native support still seems a worthy request.

thanks for the hack though, might give that a shot... or just use the keyboard for now...
User avatar
cheesemoo0
level3
level3
Posts: 345
Joined: Tue Jan 03, 2006 1:19 am
Location: USA
Contact:

Postby cheesemoo0 » Sun Oct 19, 2008 6:49 pm

RabidZombie wrote:Does that even work? :P


Heh, I don't know actually. I never tried it.
RabidZombie
level5
level5
Posts: 2414
Joined: Fri Nov 18, 2005 10:09 pm

Postby RabidZombie » Sun Oct 19, 2008 7:42 pm

RapidZombie


Hey...

YOU SPELT MY NAME WRONG!

RaBidZombie. IT'S A B!!

Also, the script I produced doesn't work like you want it to. I'm not sure toggle would be possible.
User avatar
cheesemoo0
level3
level3
Posts: 345
Joined: Tue Jan 03, 2006 1:19 am
Location: USA
Contact:

Postby cheesemoo0 » Mon Oct 20, 2008 3:51 pm

I don't know what you are talking about. :D

Return to “The Future”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest