Ants slows down game considerably

General discussion about Multiwinia

Moderators: bert_the_turtle, jelco

kattle87
level1
level1
Posts: 16
Joined: Wed Sep 24, 2008 7:31 pm

Ants slows down game considerably

Postby kattle87 » Wed Sep 24, 2008 7:42 pm

First of all I only have the demo version, so I don't know if somethings changes but I don't think anything does...
I have a core duo CPU, and I have noticed that sometimes ants slows down the game quite a lot... Actually once I was not able to shoot with a rocket turret because the game was about 2 FPS (single player, with 3 pairs of ant nests on a 4-player map)...

Is this thing only affecting me or someone else noticed any kind of slow-down?
Mas Tnega
level5
level5
Posts: 7898
Joined: Sat Mar 02, 2002 11:54 pm
Location: Edinburgh
Contact:

Postby Mas Tnega » Wed Sep 24, 2008 7:45 pm

Just about anyone complaining about poor framerate is in fact complaining about this.
OrR
level1
level1
Posts: 74
Joined: Wed Mar 23, 2005 12:06 am

Postby OrR » Wed Sep 24, 2008 8:12 pm

Classic Darwinia problem and I also noticed it's glorious return in Multiwinia... Not quite as bad though: In Darwinia it went to a frame every few seconds sometimes because of the endless amount of souls on an ant infested battlefield... And I still won one of those games back then... :lol:
User avatar
Nimbus
level2
level2
Posts: 161
Joined: Mon Sep 15, 2008 9:42 pm
Location: Ireland

Postby Nimbus » Wed Sep 24, 2008 8:34 pm

The only match I have noticed that had a slighlty choppy framerate was one which went on for well over an hour and had liberal (insane) use of retributions. I mean, you literally couldn't see the landscape at some points with all the virii, and it was only slightly choppy. I'd say most of the time MW runs at a perfect 60 for me. I know Multiwinia is not exactly Crysis in terms of graphics, but it's getting to the point where the "get a better PC" response is comming to the fore.
Bas
level2
level2
Posts: 135
Joined: Tue Mar 15, 2005 7:46 pm

Postby Bas » Wed Sep 24, 2008 8:37 pm

Just wondering, what kind of videocards do the guys with problems have? I didn't experience any problems on my old 6800XT in Darwinia, an ATI 1900XTX (Darwinia), nor on my newer 8800GT (Multiwinia).
kattle87
level1
level1
Posts: 16
Joined: Wed Sep 24, 2008 7:31 pm

Postby kattle87 » Wed Sep 24, 2008 8:48 pm

I have a laptop with a dualcore 2GHz CPU T2500 (too bad the game is single-threaded! :P), with 2GB of ram and a GeForce 7900GS go. It's not the fastest machine you can have but I think should run Multiwinia without problems.

Now I am checking if some power-save feature is (or was) accidentally running while playing... You know, a 1GHz CPU isn't that performing...

Anyway, at some points while playing the game runs _slower_, E.G. when a forest is lighted up...

I don't want to seem polemic, but pheraps some optimizations might be done?
User avatar
rainingblood
level1
level1
Posts: 48
Joined: Fri Jan 05, 2007 10:23 pm
Location: Lyon
Contact:

Postby rainingblood » Wed Sep 24, 2008 9:02 pm

The first game i played, in SP, was horrible in terms of framerate at some point...

Overall it's alright, but yay some optimization would be great :)
kattle87
level1
level1
Posts: 16
Joined: Wed Sep 24, 2008 7:31 pm

Postby kattle87 » Wed Sep 24, 2008 9:03 pm

rainingblood wrote:The first game i played, in SP, was horrible in terms of framerate at some point...

Overall it's alright, but yay some optimization would be great :)


same for me, but I'm scared about multiplayer! :) However, I think I will buy the full vers next week, so I will tell if I will get low FPS in Multiplayer ;)
Donat
level1
level1
Posts: 63
Joined: Sun Sep 21, 2008 9:48 pm

Postby Donat » Wed Sep 24, 2008 9:06 pm

Ant's don't really lag me that much, the only thing that really starts my comp a lagin' is the 4p assaults with loads of powerups down and a huge mass of MWs.
User avatar
rainingblood
level1
level1
Posts: 48
Joined: Fri Jan 05, 2007 10:23 pm
Location: Lyon
Contact:

Postby rainingblood » Wed Sep 24, 2008 9:09 pm

Donat wrote:Ant's don't really lag me that much, the only thing that really starts my comp a lagin' is the 4p assaults with loads of powerups down and a huge mass of MWs.


Yep, i've got the same problem !

Please dont nerf 1337 ants :'(
Image
OrR
level1
level1
Posts: 74
Joined: Wed Mar 23, 2005 12:06 am

Postby OrR » Wed Sep 24, 2008 9:39 pm

I've got a 6600 GT as far as I remember. Guess it's pretty old... :? I should stop buying so many consoles and handhelds and finally get a new PC. Not before I get a Pandora, of course. And maybe the next Openmoko phone...
User avatar
Artemis
level1
level1
Posts: 32
Joined: Mon Oct 02, 2006 11:35 pm

Postby Artemis » Wed Sep 24, 2008 10:10 pm

Bas wrote:Just wondering, what kind of videocards do the guys with problems have? I didn't experience any problems on my old 6800XT in Darwinia, an ATI 1900XTX (Darwinia), nor on my newer 8800GT (Multiwinia).


I'm on a 2600XT, and ant nests are fine for me.

Forest fires, on the other hand, tend to be horrible...
User avatar
shinygerbil
level5
level5
Posts: 4667
Joined: Wed Dec 22, 2004 10:14 pm
Location: Out, finding my own food. Also, doing the shinyBonsai Manoeuvre(tm)
Contact:

Postby shinygerbil » Wed Sep 24, 2008 11:35 pm

I have a feeling that this game probably relies as much on the CPU as it does on the graphics cards. My Athlon XP 2000+ is far behind the rest of my hardware, and the game runs poorly for me as soon as anything even slightly pandemonious happens.
Here is my signature. Make of it what you will.
Image
User avatar
zach
level5
level5
Posts: 1350
Joined: Wed Jun 30, 2004 1:21 pm
Location: Denmarkia
Contact:

Postby zach » Thu Sep 25, 2008 1:45 am

SLi 8800GT, clocked etc.
2.4 GHz quad core
4 GiB ram.
- and three ant nests bring me below 30 fps. No, I am not running Vista.
kattle87
level1
level1
Posts: 16
Joined: Wed Sep 24, 2008 7:31 pm

Postby kattle87 » Thu Sep 25, 2008 4:49 pm

this confirms it relies too heavly on CPU: the game does _not_ use the other 3 cores since it is single-tasked. Only something little can be multitasked if a game is already developed and released to the public, but I think performance would double! EG I don't know how much would it take to reprogramme all the collisions tests so they are splitted up in more than one thread... This should already get it more performing...

Return to “General”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests