Bugs still? [synch error in a single player game]

General discussion about Multiwinia

Moderators: bert_the_turtle, jelco

User avatar
Kuth
level4
level4
Posts: 709
Joined: Sun Sep 10, 2006 5:55 am
Location: Keele Imperium
Contact:

Bugs still? [synch error in a single player game]

Postby Kuth » Fri Sep 19, 2008 8:18 pm

Not sure where to put this, since there isn't a bug report and feedback place yet..

But how is it possible to get a synch error in a single player game?
User avatar
frenchfrog
level5
level5
Posts: 2572
Joined: Sun Sep 22, 2002 7:11 pm
Location: Quebec

Postby frenchfrog » Fri Sep 19, 2008 8:21 pm

Client/server architecture? ;)

Which map were you playing?

Please report any synchronization errors with the following files (syncerror-*.txt, screenshot if there is arrows, debug.txt, dxdiag.txt, preferences.txt).


EDIT: Use the Windows start menu shortcut 'Open Multiwinia Profile' to locate most of those files.

Is there any kind of patterns?
Last edited by frenchfrog on Sat Sep 20, 2008 4:26 pm, edited 1 time in total.
The Ultimate Uplink Guide (for any question on Uplink)
Latest Uplink Patch
User avatar
Phelanpt
level5
level5
Posts: 1837
Joined: Thu Aug 10, 2006 4:20 am
Location: Portugal

Postby Phelanpt » Fri Sep 19, 2008 8:25 pm

It might happen if fps falls below 10, due to the client/server model, i think.
User avatar
jelco
level5
level5
Posts: 6018
Joined: Sat Feb 18, 2006 7:45 am
Location: Cygnus X-1
Contact:

Re: Bugs still? [synch error in a single player game]

Postby jelco » Fri Sep 19, 2008 8:36 pm

Kuth wrote:Not sure where to put this, since there isn't a bug report and feedback place yet.

Support forums. ;)

Jelco
"The ships hung in the sky much the same way that bricks don't."
- Douglas Adams
Icepick
level5
level5
Posts: 7528
Joined: Wed Oct 24, 2001 10:29 pm
Location: Bradford, England

Postby Icepick » Fri Sep 19, 2008 11:08 pm

Phelanpt wrote:It might happen if fps falls below 10, due to the client/server model, i think.


This is a baseless myth. Please stop propagating it.
User avatar
Phelanpt
level5
level5
Posts: 1837
Joined: Thu Aug 10, 2006 4:20 am
Location: Portugal

Postby Phelanpt » Sat Sep 20, 2008 1:11 am

Hmm, will do. Sorry. :?
User avatar
jelco
level5
level5
Posts: 6018
Joined: Sat Feb 18, 2006 7:45 am
Location: Cygnus X-1
Contact:

Postby jelco » Sat Sep 20, 2008 10:10 am

You don't desync at low FPS, you ping out. ;)

Jelco
"The ships hung in the sky much the same way that bricks don't."

- Douglas Adams
User avatar
bert_the_turtle
level5
level5
Posts: 4795
Joined: Fri Oct 13, 2006 6:11 pm
Location: Cologne
Contact:

Postby bert_the_turtle » Sat Sep 20, 2008 1:40 pm

Not even that. Defcon did that, but not Multiwinia. As far as I can tell, anyway.
User avatar
jelco
level5
level5
Posts: 6018
Joined: Sat Feb 18, 2006 7:45 am
Location: Cygnus X-1
Contact:

Postby jelco » Sat Sep 20, 2008 1:41 pm

Read your beta benchmark files at low FPS and you have your answer. ;)

Jelco
"The ships hung in the sky much the same way that bricks don't."

- Douglas Adams
User avatar
Kuth
level4
level4
Posts: 709
Joined: Sun Sep 10, 2006 5:55 am
Location: Keele Imperium
Contact:

Postby Kuth » Sat Sep 20, 2008 9:46 pm

FrenchFrog,

I haven't had the error repeated yet. It was on one of the 3-way maps... either the Tortured Expanse or Melting pot.

I'm not seeing any of the file names you're describing.

Return to “General”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests