Greetings from The Philippines!

The place to hang out and talk about totally anything general.
KuyaMarc
level0

Greetings from The Philippines!

Postby KuyaMarc » Thu Aug 14, 2014 2:30 pm

Hello Introversion Lounge! I'm a newly registered user in Introversion Forums with the brand new level of 0... So this is my first post here, despite I promised myself to stop registering into forums as I am in the retirement stages. I used to be a BBS SysOp, webmaster, and moderator (for my sites and other people's sites); typically I'm the guy that rarely posts, but when I do post, it is like reading a novel.

I'm here in Introversion Forums because I bought the DEFCON game and I really enjoy it enough to promote it, mostly because it brings back my childhood memories, years before the WarGames movie came out. In simplified terms, my Filipino dad was in the U.S. Navy and I was a Navy Brat; I went to a public elementary school on a U.S. military base and had "DEFCON drills" (yes, really!) and learned of all the Global Thermonuclear War terms before I was 12 years old. Now, I'm 44 years old and I play DEFCON about 2-6 times a week, and I'm playing it in a neutral Third World country, The Philippines! (No nuclear weapons here...)

The DEFCON game reminds me of my dad's past work with the U.S. Navy during my first 13 years of my life. Sadly, my dad has two back-to-back strokes last March 2014 and I have not talked with him for several months; he can't talk since his strokes! The DEFCON game is symbolic to me, and is probably the number 1 reason why I play it.

I was born and raised, single in the USA and now I live, married in the Philippines.

The only Introversion game I like and prefer is DEFCON and no, I haven't tried the other games. I'm not yet a DEFCON addict, but I guess I am here to meet DEFCON addicts; maybe I can be converted into a true, die-hard DEFCON addict. Hint, Hint... Who wants to make me a DEFCON addict???