Just wanted to ask for some tips.

The place to hang out and talk about totally anything general.
bluestrike15
level1
level1

Just wanted to ask for some tips.

Postby bluestrike15 » Tue Sep 17, 2013 12:35 am

Im an american high school student who is interested into the world of computer game programing im already taking my sophomore year programming class(which is full of other people who want to make video games. I mean what would you expect people in that class to do make a site dedicated to cupcakes?) Im just learning how to code really simple things and i was wondering if the community (And if god would allow it Chis himself) to give me some tips on how to improve myself in this field. Just to add some other things to the list, Im also taking Engineering classes( The ones take make you think not the ones where you make your girlfriend a wooden shelf) and im also a avid JROTC cadet, other than that i have all A's in a below average school taking mostly honors(smart) classes. I hope to see some feed back from you guys :)
MAdMaN
level4
level4

Re: Just wanted to ask for some tips.

Postby MAdMaN » Tue Sep 17, 2013 10:23 am

Set yourself goals, and have later goals build upon existing ones, e.g. 1. make text scroll up the screen, 2. get the text from a file, 3. allow the user to specify the file to use.
xander
level5
level5

Postby xander » Tue Sep 17, 2013 5:07 pm

Learn math. Lots of math. Minor in math. Or even better, major in math. :P

Specifically, when you get to college (or if you feel like some hard reading now) learn some discrete mathematics (game theory, graph theory, network theory) and get comfortable with linear algebra (probably at least two semesters worth, depending on the curriculum at your university).