New Steam Library entry: DEFCON Beta Demo

The place to hang out and talk about totally anything general.
User avatar
Cooper42
level4
level4
Posts: 810
Joined: Tue Mar 13, 2007 3:04 pm

New Steam Library entry: DEFCON Beta Demo

Postby Cooper42 » Sun Feb 10, 2013 9:38 pm

It appeared in my library today.

Probably not the place to ask: But has anyone who doesn't own DEFCON got this?

Some kind of 'free weekend' thing going on for Defcon? Or are IV working on a new version of Defcon and all Defcon owners are beta testers? Or some kind of error in the Steam database?
Whoever you vote for, the government wins.
User avatar
jelco
level5
level5
Posts: 6018
Joined: Sat Feb 18, 2006 7:45 am
Location: Cygnus X-1
Contact:

Postby jelco » Sun Feb 10, 2013 10:19 pm

I have this entry in my Steam list because I was actually a beta tester for the Steam Defcon demo - it's always been there as far as I know. Looking at the website of Steam I can't find the entry in the public list.

Jelco
"The ships hung in the sky much the same way that bricks don't."
- Douglas Adams
User avatar
Cooper42
level4
level4
Posts: 810
Joined: Tue Mar 13, 2007 3:04 pm

Postby Cooper42 » Sun Feb 10, 2013 11:02 pm

It has no files associated with the download.

I assume it's a bug in the database...
Whoever you vote for, the government wins.
User avatar
Ghost Division
level2
level2
Posts: 156
Joined: Tue Jan 15, 2013 3:53 pm
Location: La la land.

Postby Ghost Division » Mon Feb 11, 2013 2:33 am

Same thing with me, no files on the beta folder.
User avatar
NeatNit
level5
level5
Posts: 2929
Joined: Mon Jan 28, 2008 2:41 pm
Location: Israel
Contact:

Postby NeatNit » Mon Feb 11, 2013 6:03 pm

I experienced a similar bug once, with an unreleased game I've never heard of before. Just a steam database error, should go away within a couple of days.

http://forums.steampowered.com/forums/s ... ?t=2767440
User avatar
tabasco boy
level5
level5
Posts: 1180
Joined: Sun Mar 10, 2002 4:25 pm
Location: Lovely Planet Earth
Contact:

Postby tabasco boy » Mon Feb 11, 2013 7:02 pm

jelco wrote:I have this entry in my Steam list because I was actually a beta tester for the Steam Defcon demo - it's always been there as far as I know. Looking at the website of Steam I can't find the entry in the public list.

Jelco


i'm not a beta tester for the "Steam" Defcon demo but I have it on my library and it wasn't there yesterday.

Image
ryacko
level1
level1
Posts: 72
Joined: Sun Aug 30, 2009 8:51 am

Postby ryacko » Tue Feb 12, 2013 6:31 pm

counterstrike source beta has also showed up

wonder if valve busted a pipe again
User avatar
111none
level4
level4
Posts: 970
Joined: Fri Oct 19, 2012 3:32 am
Location: Wangjing, Beijing, Peoples Republic of China

Postby 111none » Mon Feb 18, 2013 10:11 pm

NeatNit wrote:I experienced a similar bug once, with an unreleased game I've never heard of before. Just a steam database error, should go away within a couple of days.

http://forums.steampowered.com/forums/s ... ?t=2767440

apparently not, had it for 1 month now...
With the sincerest regards,
111none
User avatar
christopher1006
level5
level5
Posts: 1019
Joined: Sat Jul 28, 2012 9:01 pm

Postby christopher1006 » Tue Feb 19, 2013 3:51 am

I have that too, it's been about a month as well and it's never disappeared since then.
Yes, that is a penguin with rabies. Deal with it.
User avatar
111none
level4
level4
Posts: 970
Joined: Fri Oct 19, 2012 3:32 am
Location: Wangjing, Beijing, Peoples Republic of China

Postby 111none » Tue Feb 19, 2013 9:36 pm

And, has anyone gotten two copies of uplink?
With the sincerest regards,
111none
User avatar
Cooper42
level4
level4
Posts: 810
Joined: Tue Mar 13, 2007 3:04 pm

Postby Cooper42 » Wed Feb 20, 2013 12:56 am

111none wrote:And, has anyone gotten two copies of uplink?
Mac (or Linux) version

They appear in your library despite whatever platform you are running on. I have two copies of San Andreas and Vice City for this reason. You cannot install them and cannot hide them unless you select your library to only show installed games.
Whoever you vote for, the government wins.
User avatar
111none
level4
level4
Posts: 970
Joined: Fri Oct 19, 2012 3:32 am
Location: Wangjing, Beijing, Peoples Republic of China

Postby 111none » Wed Feb 20, 2013 3:36 am

Cooper42 wrote:
111none wrote:And, has anyone gotten two copies of uplink?
Mac (or Linux) version

They appear in your library despite whatever platform you are running on. I have two copies of San Andreas and Vice City for this reason. You cannot install them and cannot hide them unless you select your library to only show installed games.

Sorry, i worded this wrong, has anyone got the uplink for steam and get a second copy outa nowere?
it wasnt here yesterday.......
With the sincerest regards,
111none
User avatar
111none
level4
level4
Posts: 970
Joined: Fri Oct 19, 2012 3:32 am
Location: Wangjing, Beijing, Peoples Republic of China

Postby 111none » Sun Feb 24, 2013 6:56 am

Still there, now i also have a mutiwanina beta? As well as call of duty black ops 2
I wonder if vale is serriously gonna fix the pipe
With the sincerest regards,
111none
User avatar
111none
level4
level4
Posts: 970
Joined: Fri Oct 19, 2012 3:32 am
Location: Wangjing, Beijing, Peoples Republic of China

Postby 111none » Tue Mar 05, 2013 5:48 am

Definetly a bug,related to http://forums.steampowered.com/forums/s ... ?t=2767440
But, has anyone gotten anything else too?
With the sincerest regards,
111none

Return to “Introversion Lounge”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest