Becoming a games programmer

The place to hang out and talk about totally anything general.
cuber3
level1
level1

Becoming a games programmer

Postby cuber3 » Fri Apr 06, 2007 2:24 am

Hey all!
I don't know whether or not the Introversion team actually replies to posts like these, but I'd like to ask them how they started out programming games.
Don't get me wrong, I do realise it'll take a LOT of time and effort, but I'd really like to learn C++ and one day develop indie games myself.
I've been making Flash games for about 5 years now, along with a few friends, and I'd like to move on to C++ now.
I read a book covering the basics of the language, but I'd like to advance to simple 2D game programming now.
And perhaps, one day, when I'm experienced enough with 2D games, try to make the leap to 3D games.

If anyone from the Introversion team, or a forum member who has experience him/herself, could tell me how they started out, that'd be a major help.
Where did you start, what did you learn at first, where did you learn (studies, books, courses), etc ?
Perhaps someone could recommend a few books about 2D game programming in C++ ?

Any help is more than welcome!
NeoThermic
Introversion Staff
Introversion Staff

Postby NeoThermic » Fri Apr 06, 2007 2:33 am

Coming from a background in making games in flash might just help. See, when you have a concept for a game, you prototype it in a language you're not going to use for the final product (ergo so the prototype is a proof of concept).

C++ is your first port of call. Learn inheritance, polymorphism, the lot. Then learn OpenGL and SDL. Just those alone would allow you to program what you have in mind.

If this topic evolves right, I'll post things like the UML diagrams that I've drawn up from prototypes and you'll see how each item inherits and has polymorphism as required.

NeoThermic
martin
level5
level5

Postby martin » Fri Apr 06, 2007 10:55 am