Building New Computer

The place to hang out and talk about totally anything general.
User avatar
SODsniper
level3
level3
Posts: 346
Joined: Sat Nov 04, 2006 2:12 am
Location: St Augustine FL (Nations Oldest City)

Building New Computer

Postby SODsniper » Thu Nov 23, 2006 5:52 pm

I am building a new computer. Mine has become totally outdated...

My application is primarily Level Design using UNreal Editor. I play some games like RavenShield and, of course, DefCon.. I want DX10 compatibility and a system beefy enough to handle several UED processes at once, plus some modeling applications all going on at the same time..

Here is what I have my eye on:

ASUS P5W DH DELUXE/WIFI-AP Socket T (LGA 775) Intel 975X ATX Intel Motherboard
Intel Core 2 Duo E6600 Conroe 2.4GHz 4M sharing L2 Cache LGA 775 CPU
Corsair DDR Ram 4 GIGS
ASUS EN8800GTS/HTDP/640M GDDR3 PCI Express x16 HDCP Video Card


Now, is this overkill for what I want??

For example, instead of the Duo Core E6600, I can go with this:

Intel Pentium D 930 Presler 3.0GHz 2 x 2MB L2 Cache LGA 775 Dual Core Processor


Anyone have any ideas, I would be most appreciative.

Thanx


SODsniper
SODsniper
www.specialopsdivision.com
Building A Better RavenShield Community......One Map At A Time.....
Image
elDiablo
level5
level5
Posts: 3111
Joined: Thu Mar 14, 2002 12:23 pm
Location: London, UK

Postby elDiablo » Thu Nov 23, 2006 6:38 pm

If you're using XP, 4Gigs of RAM is overkill (but only just), while if you are thinking of upgrading to Vista at some point soon after it's release, meh, go for it...
We dont stop playing cos we get old... We get old cos we stop playing.
User avatar
MrBunsy
level5
level5
Posts: 1081
Joined: Mon Apr 24, 2006 4:40 pm
Location: Southampton
Contact:

Postby MrBunsy » Thu Nov 23, 2006 7:57 pm

I wouldn't recommend going for the DX10 graphics cards yet though, they're still brand new and so will cost way more than they're worth.

It's going to be many years (hopefully never, but meh) before we'll actually get any games making full use of DX10, so I'd have though going for a better value Series 6 or 7 Geforce and upgrading in a couple of years would be the better solution.

And if you're getting it new, go for duo! Personnaly I'm a fan of AMD, but the duo is better than the Pentium D, and I'd always recommend going for the latest processor socket to allow for the option of upgrading in the future.

And yeah, 4 gigs is more than XP can use, so unless you're hell bent on Vista (if you are, I' think you're crazy) then there's no point. Get the RAM in 2 sticks too, I'm pretty sure DDR2 (not DDR!) still benefits from dual memory whatsit.
Last edited by MrBunsy on Thu Nov 23, 2006 7:57 pm, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
BiG D
level2
level2
Posts: 138
Joined: Thu Apr 13, 2006 1:14 pm
Location: Ontario
Contact:

Postby BiG D » Thu Nov 23, 2006 7:57 pm

What version of UED are you looking to be running?
alphager
level3
level3
Posts: 400
Joined: Fri Jul 28, 2006 1:36 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Postby alphager » Thu Nov 23, 2006 7:58 pm

are you strictly an intel-person ?
User avatar
SODsniper
level3
level3
Posts: 346
Joined: Sat Nov 04, 2006 2:12 am
Location: St Augustine FL (Nations Oldest City)

Postby SODsniper » Thu Nov 23, 2006 8:23 pm

Thanx for all the input..

My version of UED varies for whatever game I am designing for. UED 2.x and UED 3.x are the main ones, though. I plan on downloading the new RoboBlitz game and check out that version of UED...

I am not really sworn to either Intel or AMD. Whatever gets me the most bang for my buck..

As far as OS goes, I hate XP.. I have 7 workstations in my home and they all run Win2K Pro.. But, I have a feeling that I am going to be forced to move on pretty soon.. Hopefully there will be a better alternative than XP..


SODsniper
SODsniper

www.specialopsdivision.com

Building A Better RavenShield Community......One Map At A Time.....

Image
User avatar
NeoThermic
Introversion Staff
Introversion Staff
Posts: 6254
Joined: Sat Mar 02, 2002 10:55 am
Location: ::1
Contact:

Postby NeoThermic » Thu Nov 23, 2006 9:22 pm

SODsniper wrote:I am not really sworn to either Intel or AMD. Whatever gets me the most bang for my buck..


Then the Core 2 Duo's are exactly what you're looking for. There's nothing AMD has thats as cheap and as fast.

NeoThermic
User avatar
SODsniper
level3
level3
Posts: 346
Joined: Sat Nov 04, 2006 2:12 am
Location: St Augustine FL (Nations Oldest City)

Postby SODsniper » Thu Nov 23, 2006 9:30 pm

NeoThermic wrote:
SODsniper wrote:I am not really sworn to either Intel or AMD. Whatever gets me the most bang for my buck..


Then the Core 2 Duo's are exactly what you're looking for. There's nothing AMD has thats as cheap and as fast.

NeoThermic


Is there much practical/noticable difference between the E6600 and the E6400 or E6300???


SODsniper
SODsniper

www.specialopsdivision.com

Building A Better RavenShield Community......One Map At A Time.....

Image
User avatar
KingAl
level5
level5
Posts: 4138
Joined: Sun Sep 10, 2006 7:42 am

Postby KingAl » Fri Nov 24, 2006 8:44 am

I did a brief search (read - chose first option) on E6600s and found this.
Looks like E6400s, 600s and 700s are pretty damn close, so I'd think the same is true of the E6300. You make your own judgement.

By the way, it's pretty clear SODsniper is hell-bent on Vista, as he wants DX10.
User avatar
SODsniper
level3
level3
Posts: 346
Joined: Sat Nov 04, 2006 2:12 am
Location: St Augustine FL (Nations Oldest City)

Postby SODsniper » Fri Nov 24, 2006 2:03 pm

KingAl wrote:I did a brief search (read - chose first option) on E6600s and found this.
Looks like E6400s, 600s and 700s are pretty damn close, so I'd think the same is true of the E6300. You make your own judgement.

By the way, it's pretty clear SODsniper is hell-bent on Vista, as he wants DX10.


I would say "hell bent" but it appears it will be the FPS Gaming mode of the future. And, I am really into Level Design so I don't wanna be left behind.

Also, this upgrade will probably have to last a while, so I figure I better shoot for the stars..

Thanx for the info on the Conroes. Much appreciated.


SODsniper
SODsniper

www.specialopsdivision.com

Building A Better RavenShield Community......One Map At A Time.....

Image
supam
level1
level1
Posts: 52
Joined: Tue Nov 14, 2006 1:11 pm

Postby supam » Sat Nov 25, 2006 10:31 pm

You may have some trouble getting 4GB of RAM to play nice. A lot of motherboards have problems recognising all 4 gigs, go have a read of the ASUS forums to find out and problems first, but I'd be buying 2x1gb sticks and adding more later if I were you. I have that mb along with a 6700. Superfast. I couldn't recommend anything but a Core 2. I had a A64 before this but it gets blown away by the Core 2. The e6300/6400 are both good choices if you want to save some money. I wont comment on the video card as I tend to go ATi.
In game handle: Eater of Babies
User avatar
NeoThermic
Introversion Staff
Introversion Staff
Posts: 6254
Joined: Sat Mar 02, 2002 10:55 am
Location: ::1
Contact:

Postby NeoThermic » Sun Nov 26, 2006 2:04 am

SODsniper wrote:
NeoThermic wrote:
SODsniper wrote:I am not really sworn to either Intel or AMD. Whatever gets me the most bang for my buck..


Then the Core 2 Duo's are exactly what you're looking for. There's nothing AMD has thats as cheap and as fast.

NeoThermic


Is there much practical/noticable difference between the E6600 and the E6400 or E6300???


SODsniper


Well, yes. Both the E6400 and E6300 only have half the L2 cache (2M rather than 4M). This'll matter if you'll do items which make heavy use of L2.

NeoThermic
User avatar
Star*Dagger
level2
level2
Posts: 83
Joined: Sat Nov 11, 2006 11:53 am

Postby Star*Dagger » Sun Nov 26, 2006 2:19 am

Get the 8800 gtX, but buy it in january or early feb.

This replaces my normal advice about buying two tiers below the bleeding edge because this chip is a revolution. Also youll get the best dx9 performance and be ready for the dx10 offerings.

S*D
Last edited by Star*Dagger on Tue Nov 28, 2006 3:44 pm, edited 2 times in total.
"The Way of the Warrior is resolute acceptence of death" Musashi
User avatar
KingAl
level5
level5
Posts: 4138
Joined: Sun Sep 10, 2006 7:42 am

Postby KingAl » Sun Nov 26, 2006 4:46 am

NeoThermic wrote: Well, yes. Both the E6400 and E6300 only have half the L2 cache (2M rather than 4M). This'll matter if you'll do items which make heavy use of L2.

NeoThermic


What sort of uses are likely to rely on the L2 cache a lot?
User avatar
wwarnick
level5
level5
Posts: 1863
Joined: Mon Oct 02, 2006 8:44 pm
Location: Rexburg, ID

Postby wwarnick » Thu Nov 30, 2006 4:17 am

NeoThermic wrote:There's nothing AMD has thats as cheap and as fast.

AMD beats Intel with less gigs and less dollars every time.

wwarnick

Return to “Introversion Lounge”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 25 guests