What type of NAT does your broadband router do?

The place to hang out and talk about totally anything general.

Winstun.exe reports

Independent filter
46
21%
Dependent filter
15
7%
Port-dependent filter
93
42%
Dependent mapping
29
13%
Open (No NAT)
22
10%
Unknown, Firewall, Failure or Blocked
18
8%
 
Total votes: 223
User avatar
John
Introversion Staff
Introversion Staff
Posts: 487
Joined: Sun Dec 10, 2000 6:22 pm
Location: London, UK

What type of NAT does your broadband router do?

Postby John » Fri Apr 21, 2006 10:11 pm

We would like to get a feel for what kind of NATs most people have. This will help us with our networking libraries, and particularly with the upcoming Defcon beta.

Could you please run WinSTUN and tell us what the result is in the poll above.

Please read carefully the results to distinguish between dependent filter and dependent mapping.

For those interested, the STUN software was originally developed by Vovida and the source is now available from SourceForge. You can get more information about the software and STUN in general from here.

EDIT: For those of you "on a mac": here is a command-line mac version of the program. You need to unpack the program, and then from the Terminal run

Code: Select all

stun_client_macosx/stun_client metaserver.introversion.co.uk


Thanks again for your help

John
Last edited by John on Fri Apr 21, 2006 10:49 pm, edited 1 time in total.
RabidZombie
level5
level5
Posts: 2414
Joined: Fri Nov 18, 2005 10:09 pm

Postby RabidZombie » Fri Apr 21, 2006 10:19 pm

Voted, and first one too!

I can easily turn NAT off if I need to, or forward the ports I need. It is a matter of getting the firewall to accept that I WANT the program to connect to the internet. :D

Edit: And someone sneaks in at second place, JUST a few seconds behind me.
Last edited by RabidZombie on Fri Apr 21, 2006 10:20 pm, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
SuVir
level2
level2
Posts: 211
Joined: Fri Apr 07, 2006 8:15 pm
Location: En-ger-land

Postby SuVir » Fri Apr 21, 2006 10:20 pm

No idea what a NAT is, but my computer doesn't have one

i dunno if that is a bad thing...
RabidZombie
level5
level5
Posts: 2414
Joined: Fri Nov 18, 2005 10:09 pm

Postby RabidZombie » Fri Apr 21, 2006 10:21 pm

SuVir wrote:No idea what a NAT is, but my computer doesn't have one

i dunno if that is a bad thing...


Do you have a router? This isn't anything to do with your computer, but more the connection to your broadband internet.
User avatar
Gravitron
level3
level3
Posts: 301
Joined: Sat Jun 19, 2004 7:31 pm
Location: Isra(H)el
Contact:

Postby Gravitron » Fri Apr 21, 2006 10:26 pm

Submitted.
iGAME...on the PC
Image
Image
Image
User avatar
prophile
level5
level5
Posts: 1541
Joined: Fri Feb 18, 2005 4:17 pm
Location: Southampton, UK
Contact:

Postby prophile » Fri Apr 21, 2006 10:34 pm

"I'm on a Mac"?
User avatar
xander
level5
level5
Posts: 16869
Joined: Thu Oct 21, 2004 11:41 pm
Location: Highland, CA, USA
Contact:

Postby xander » Fri Apr 21, 2006 10:36 pm

prophile wrote:"I'm on a Mac"?

Seconded.

xander
User avatar
prophile
level5
level5
Posts: 1541
Joined: Fri Feb 18, 2005 4:17 pm
Location: Southampton, UK
Contact:

Postby prophile » Fri Apr 21, 2006 10:41 pm

I reckon that this program is a keylogger, and Introversion have used a very clever trick to mass distribute it.
User avatar
xander
level5
level5
Posts: 16869
Joined: Thu Oct 21, 2004 11:41 pm
Location: Highland, CA, USA
Contact:

Postby xander » Fri Apr 21, 2006 10:43 pm

prophile wrote:I reckon that this program is a keylogger, and Introversion have used a very clever trick to mass distribute it.

Well, then it is a good thing that we use Macs. On the off chance, however, that their little program gets onto my machine, I, for one, welcome our new bedroom programming overlords.

xander
User avatar
Dave2
level4
level4
Posts: 550
Joined: Wed Feb 20, 2002 9:07 pm
Location: Reading, England

Postby Dave2 » Fri Apr 21, 2006 10:46 pm

Mine's "dependent mapping", this is according to Win2K in vmware. I doubt it makes any difference, what with it being a router thing, but better safe than sorry.

[EDIT]And I voted for the wrong one. YAY![/EDIT]
User avatar
SuVir
level2
level2
Posts: 211
Joined: Fri Apr 07, 2006 8:15 pm
Location: En-ger-land

Postby SuVir » Fri Apr 21, 2006 10:48 pm

No idea what a NAT is, but my computer doesn't have one

i dunno if that is a bad thing...


Do you have a router? This isn't anything to do with your computer, but more the connection to your broadband internet.


i think so...

i get "No NAT detected - VoIP should work
Preserves port number
Supports hairpin of media" on WinStun

Maybe i'm wrong because i'm not brilliant with computers/connections to broadband internet
User avatar
Luigi300
level5
level5
Posts: 1615
Joined: Wed May 01, 2002 2:08 pm
Location: :noitacoL
Contact:

Postby Luigi300 » Fri Apr 21, 2006 10:55 pm

Submitted. I imagine it'd be the same for anyone with one of those shiny Linksys routers.
Luigi for mod in 2006!
User avatar
prophile
level5
level5
Posts: 1541
Joined: Fri Feb 18, 2005 4:17 pm
Location: Southampton, UK
Contact:

Postby prophile » Fri Apr 21, 2006 10:57 pm

Independent Filter :(
User avatar
false
level3
level3
Posts: 349
Joined: Fri Mar 29, 2002 5:57 pm
Contact:

Postby false » Fri Apr 21, 2006 11:01 pm

Dependent filter
Preserves port number
Does not supports hairpin of media
Public IP address: 71.x.x.x
:)
~>
Dependent filter
Preserves port number
Does not supports hairpin of media
User avatar
Trust
level3
level3
Posts: 300
Joined: Mon Feb 24, 2003 12:53 am
Location: UK! Yay!
Contact:

Postby Trust » Fri Apr 21, 2006 11:17 pm

Port-dependent filter
Preserves port number
Does not supports hairpin of media
Public IP address: 212.159.115.227


Do I win bacon? :(

(edit: Wait... people are sensoring IP addresses? Damn.)
Last edited by Trust on Fri Apr 21, 2006 11:26 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Return to “Introversion Lounge”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 17 guests