Page 1 of 2

Multiwinia Mac released today!

Posted: Thu Mar 05, 2009 8:18 pm
by vic
We are excited to announce the release today of the eagerly awaited Multiwinia for Macintosh! Please do head on over to Ambrosia Software to get your hands on a copy, and to view their brand new gameplay video.

Multiwinia for Mac is available for PowerPC and Intel Macs running Mac OS X 10.4.10 and later. Ambrosia also offers Mac versions for Uplink, Darwinia and DEFCON, so Mac gamers can now complete the Introversion collection. Can't say fairer than that!

To celebrate the launch of Multiwinia Mac, we'll be putting together a Multiwinia PC vs Mac online tournament and we'll be posting up more info about this on the forums over the next few weeks, so keep your eyes peeled. Remember registration will be required to win those prizes, so start brushing up on those battle-strategising skills!

On behalf of the Introversion team, thank you to everyone who has helped make Multiwinia Mac a reality, and we really hope Mac gamers will enjoy our latest offering.

Posted: Thu Mar 05, 2009 8:40 pm
by Rkiver
Go Mac ports!

All 5 of you! :P

Just kidding.

Posted: Thu Mar 05, 2009 9:30 pm
by brindy
Awesome! But can I use the key that I got with the PC version that I can no longer use since I moved to Mac?

(btw, I don't have, nor want Windows installed on it)

Posted: Thu Mar 05, 2009 9:32 pm
by jelco
brindy wrote:Awesome! But can I use the key that I got with the PC version that I can no longer use since I moved to Mac?

(btw, I don't have, nor want Windows installed on it)

As far as I know, Windows and Mac keys aren't interchangeable.

Jelco

Posted: Thu Mar 05, 2009 10:10 pm
by Major Cooke
Looks like we're back on track for the map editor. YEEHAW!

I'm happy for you Mac lovers. Hope you enjoy it!

Edit: Funny how instead of Multiwinia: Survival of the Flattest, they have it Multiwinia: Darwin is dead. Prepare for war.

Posted: Fri Mar 06, 2009 12:30 am
by skull13
I can't connect to any mac game, and vice versa.

Apparently Ambrosia SW is aware of this issue. An oversight on their part, it seems. Or IV's. I don't know. Whatever. It doesn't work.

Posted: Fri Mar 06, 2009 1:44 pm
by MikeBl
skull13 wrote:Apparently Ambrosia SW is aware of this issue.

Hmm, I don't think so. Or at least no one's told me about it. Are you running version 1.3.0? Are the games actually marked as incompatible, or does Multiwinia try to connect to them and fail?

Posted: Fri Mar 06, 2009 1:48 pm
by Nutter
Major Cooke wrote:Funny how instead of Multiwinia: Survival of the Flattest, they have it Multiwinia: Darwin is dead. Prepare for war.


That is kind of weird, guess they want to point out the difference between multiwinia and darwinia.

Posted: Fri Mar 06, 2009 2:11 pm
by skull13
MikeBl wrote:
skull13 wrote:Apparently Ambrosia SW is aware of this issue.

Hmm, I don't think so. Or at least no one's told me about it. Are you running version 1.3.0? Are the games actually marked as incompatible, or does Multiwinia try to connect to them and fail?


They appear as incompatible.

Posted: Fri Mar 06, 2009 4:43 pm
by NeoThermic
skull13 wrote:
MikeBl wrote:
skull13 wrote:Apparently Ambrosia SW is aware of this issue.

Hmm, I don't think so. Or at least no one's told me about it. Are you running version 1.3.0? Are the games actually marked as incompatible, or does Multiwinia try to connect to them and fail?


They appear as incompatible.


I've just tested this a few seconds ago and it appears to work fine. What version are you using, and what version does it claim their client to be (the INCOMPATABLE VERSION message tells you which version they are).

NeoThermic

Posted: Fri Mar 06, 2009 8:25 pm
by xander
brindy wrote:But can I use the key that I got with the PC version...

No. Sorry.

xander

Posted: Fri Mar 06, 2009 11:36 pm
by skull13
Odd. I'm using 1.3.0 for both. The game says that is the version used on the incompatible server, and it is incompatible. I'll try one more time.
EDIT: It still doesn't work. Both computers are on a LAN. Is that an issue?
Image

I'll post the image that the mac shows too. Hang on.

EDIT: This one is a bit better showing of it. I have the cursor over my game.
Image

Posted: Sat Mar 07, 2009 1:28 am
by xander
Is there any chance that you are trying to use the same key with both versions?

xander

Posted: Sat Mar 07, 2009 3:05 am
by NeoThermic
skull13 wrote: Both computers are on a LAN. Is that an issue?


Ahh, yes. On a LAN, because it doesn't go via the metaserver, all version strings must be identical.

NeoThermic

Posted: Sat Mar 07, 2009 5:15 am
by skull13
I see. Can we get that fixed, maybe, or no?