Multiwinia Mac released today!

The forum with all your Introversion News!
User avatar
jelco
level5
level5
Posts: 6018
Joined: Sat Feb 18, 2006 7:45 am
Location: Cygnus X-1
Contact:

Postby jelco » Sat Mar 07, 2009 11:42 am

I suggest you open up a special topic for this in the Windows troubleshooting forum. ;)

Jelco
"The ships hung in the sky much the same way that bricks don't."
- Douglas Adams
RabidZombie
level5
level5
Posts: 2414
Joined: Fri Nov 18, 2005 10:09 pm

Postby RabidZombie » Sat Mar 07, 2009 12:21 pm

I'll see if I can ask someone at Introversion directly.

This has never come up before, but something similar has. But back then, the mac version wasn't a problem! :P

Ideally, for LAN games, it should still use the Metaserver's compatibility list. And it should really keep an offline version of it as well.


(In the mean time, you may be able to cheat by changing the "version" file on the Windows machine to that of the Mac version, but DON'T launch the game through the autopatcher).
User avatar
bert_the_turtle
level5
level5
Posts: 4795
Joined: Fri Oct 13, 2006 6:11 pm
Location: Cologne
Contact:

Postby bert_the_turtle » Sat Mar 07, 2009 1:50 pm

skull13 wrote:I see. Can we get that fixed, maybe, or no?
There's a workaround, extrapolated from the similar steam-vs-retail issue:
- host the game on the Mac
- start MW twice at once on Windows
- one of the two Windows MW's will be able to connect to the Mac game
The second, useless MW instance can be closed then, the remaining instance can be used to join further games.

(This works because the second-to-be-started instance of MW on the Windows machine won't receive the Mac version's LAN broadcasts, the first instance is hogging the network port for that. It still will get the game over the Metaserver and correctly connect to it, though.)
MikeBl
level1
level1
Posts: 13
Joined: Fri Sep 08, 2006 2:07 pm

Postby MikeBl » Sat Mar 07, 2009 8:43 pm

skull13 wrote:They appear as incompatible.

Hmm, that does seem like a problem. Perhaps more lax version checking rules are in order for LAN games. I can discuss it with John K. and see if he has any ideas.
RabidZombie
level5
level5
Posts: 2414
Joined: Fri Nov 18, 2005 10:09 pm

Postby RabidZombie » Sat Mar 07, 2009 9:42 pm

I've posted a report on the private beta tester forums. Hopefully someone at IV will see it.
skull13
level3
level3
Posts: 340
Joined: Sun Apr 16, 2006 10:51 pm

Postby skull13 » Sun Mar 08, 2009 6:02 pm

bert_the_turtle wrote:
skull13 wrote:I see. Can we get that fixed, maybe, or no?
There's a workaround, extrapolated from the similar steam-vs-retail issue:
- host the game on the Mac
- start MW twice at once on Windows
- one of the two Windows MW's will be able to connect to the Mac game
The second, useless MW instance can be closed then, the remaining instance can be used to join further games.

(This works because the second-to-be-started instance of MW on the Windows machine won't receive the Mac version's LAN broadcasts, the first instance is hogging the network port for that. It still will get the game over the Metaserver and correctly connect to it, though.)


While the game is no longer incompatible, it cannot connect. I gave up at attempt 15.
RabidZombie
level5
level5
Posts: 2414
Joined: Fri Nov 18, 2005 10:09 pm

Postby RabidZombie » Sun Mar 08, 2009 6:16 pm

skull13 wrote:
bert_the_turtle wrote:
skull13 wrote:I see. Can we get that fixed, maybe, or no?
There's a workaround, extrapolated from the similar steam-vs-retail issue:
- host the game on the Mac
- start MW twice at once on Windows
- one of the two Windows MW's will be able to connect to the Mac game
The second, useless MW instance can be closed then, the remaining instance can be used to join further games.

(This works because the second-to-be-started instance of MW on the Windows machine won't receive the Mac version's LAN broadcasts, the first instance is hogging the network port for that. It still will get the game over the Metaserver and correctly connect to it, though.)


While the game is no longer incompatible, it cannot connect. I gave up at attempt 15.


Are you trying to connect to the Mac game? This may be a setup problem, but I too haven't been able to join any Mac host yet (I've only tried with xander, mind).

Does it work if the windows version hosts?

Return to “Introversion News”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests