Darwinia+ confirmed for Xbox Live® Arcade

The forum with all your Introversion News!
Rkiver
level5
level5
Posts: 6403
Joined: Tue Oct 01, 2002 10:39 am
Location: Dublin, Ireland

Postby Rkiver » Wed Apr 02, 2008 8:19 pm

I would bet my beta place that wont happen.
Uplink help: Read the FAQ
RabidZombie
level5
level5
Posts: 2413
Joined: Fri Nov 18, 2005 10:09 pm

Postby RabidZombie » Wed Apr 02, 2008 8:21 pm

What do you think?
User avatar
Feud
level5
level5
Posts: 5149
Joined: Sun Oct 08, 2006 8:40 pm
Location: Blackacre, VA

Postby Feud » Wed Apr 02, 2008 8:50 pm

Hertston wrote:Will PC Multiwinia players have to pay a subscription for half the multiplayer 'features'... yes or no?


Only if IV wants to shoot themselves repeatedly in the foot with nuclear machine guns.
Mas Tnega
level5
level5
Posts: 7898
Joined: Sat Mar 02, 2002 11:54 pm
Location: Edinburgh
Contact:

Postby Mas Tnega » Wed Apr 02, 2008 9:12 pm

Hertston wrote:Will PC Multiwinia players have to pay a subscription for half the multiplayer 'features'... yes or no? I would humbly point out that that particular business model has already completely f****d up two high-profile RTS releases.
I would humbly point out that such a business model is irreconcilable with everyone but Warcrack-heads, so I'd like to think there's no danger of it being used.
User avatar
Hertston
level1
level1
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2005 11:36 pm

Postby Hertston » Fri Apr 04, 2008 6:01 pm

Mas Tnega wrote:I would humbly point out that such a business model is irreconcilable with everyone but Warcrack-heads, so I'd like to think there's no danger of it being used.


I'm not sure you quite get the point. With Microsoft Live as the included online play facility that IS the business model... basic online play is free but additional features such as ranking, matching, etc involve a subscription to Live (you only need one for all games using the system, PC or hexbox).
User avatar
martin
level5
level5
Posts: 3210
Joined: Fri Nov 19, 2004 8:37 pm
Location: ::1
Contact:

Postby martin » Fri Apr 04, 2008 6:04 pm

Well it depends, if IV use the microsoft live platform for multiplayer then I'm sure they'll offer a non extort, ahem, I mean pay per month option. Ofc they could bypass the xbox live system and implement their own metaserver like defcon (anyone who knows about xbox programming know if this is possible?)
GENERATION 22:The first time you see this, copy it into your sig on any forum and add 1 to the generation. Social experiment.
User avatar
NeoThermic
Introversion Staff
Introversion Staff
Posts: 6253
Joined: Sat Mar 02, 2002 10:55 am
Location: ::1
Contact:

Postby NeoThermic » Fri Apr 04, 2008 6:14 pm

martin wrote:(anyone who knows about xbox programming know if this is possible?)


Yes it's possible to have network functions on the 360 without using Live.

NeoThermic
User avatar
martin
level5
level5
Posts: 3210
Joined: Fri Nov 19, 2004 8:37 pm
Location: ::1
Contact:

Postby martin » Fri Apr 04, 2008 6:16 pm

Thanks Neothermic, in light of that I'm going to assume IV will provide their own metaserver - and possibly not use live at all (or at least not have a requirement for it)
GENERATION 22:The first time you see this, copy it into your sig on any forum and add 1 to the generation. Social experiment.
RabidZombie
level5
level5
Posts: 2413
Joined: Fri Nov 18, 2005 10:09 pm

Postby RabidZombie » Fri Apr 04, 2008 6:24 pm

I thought online Multiplayer was restricted to Live on the 360. I haven't seen any releases that suggest otherwise.
User avatar
Dirty Harry Potter
level3
level3
Posts: 426
Joined: Mon Apr 17, 2006 8:19 pm
Location: Denmark

Postby Dirty Harry Potter » Fri Apr 04, 2008 6:33 pm

RabidZombie wrote:I thought online Multiplayer was restricted to Live on the 360. I haven't seen any releases that suggest otherwise.
Burnout Revenge for X360 didn't use Live iirc.
RabidZombie
level5
level5
Posts: 2413
Joined: Fri Nov 18, 2005 10:09 pm

Postby RabidZombie » Fri Apr 04, 2008 6:47 pm

Uh, yes it does.
User avatar
Dirty Harry Potter
level3
level3
Posts: 426
Joined: Mon Apr 17, 2006 8:19 pm
Location: Denmark

Postby Dirty Harry Potter » Fri Apr 04, 2008 7:24 pm

Well, you had to register with EA to play, I never got around to actually trying it out because of this. But I thought it was due to it perhaps not being live.
OneMech
level0
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Jun 05, 2008 7:29 pm

So glad!

Postby OneMech » Thu Jun 05, 2008 7:39 pm

I'm so glad you are bringing it to consoles, Darwinia is one of my favorite games. The thing is my computer is getting so slow, I can barely run the first darwinia. Here's to hoping it works just as well on the Xbox as it does the computer!
User avatar
jelco
level5
level5
Posts: 6018
Joined: Sat Feb 18, 2006 7:45 am
Location: Cygnus X-1
Contact:

Postby jelco » Thu Jun 05, 2008 7:42 pm

Bump-a-go-go.

Jelco
"The ships hung in the sky much the same way that bricks don't."
- Douglas Adams
User avatar
MrBunsy
level5
level5
Posts: 1081
Joined: Mon Apr 24, 2006 4:40 pm
Location: Southampton
Contact:

Re: So glad!

Postby MrBunsy » Thu Jun 05, 2008 8:50 pm

OneMech wrote:I'm so glad you are bringing it to consoles, Darwinia is one of my favorite games. The thing is my computer is getting so slow, I can barely run the first darwinia. Here's to hoping it works just as well on the Xbox as it does the computer!
Tip: re-install windows :P

Return to “Introversion News”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests