Next Darwinia Windows Patch - Call for Beta Testers

The forum with all your Introversion News!
willywag
level1
level1
Posts: 18
Joined: Sat Jan 21, 2006 5:15 pm
Location: Massachusetts, USA
Contact:

Postby willywag » Sat Mar 04, 2006 2:50 pm

Virulent Virus wrote:Just in case the submissions are randomly/automatically chosen, I'd just like to point this out: The submission form for beta testing is flawed.


There is also no way to select 768 MB for system RAM. I have a stick of 512 MB and a stick of 256 MB in my system, but I had no way to express that on the form.
Virulent Virus
level4
level4
Posts: 517
Joined: Sun May 12, 2002 1:21 pm

Postby Virulent Virus » Sat Mar 04, 2006 9:44 pm

Maybe it was an automated form. And I'm not saying IV did somthing wrong, i'm saying whoever created the form did, so :P :D
This is not a signature.
RabidZombie
level5
level5
Posts: 2414
Joined: Fri Nov 18, 2005 10:09 pm

Postby RabidZombie » Sun Mar 05, 2006 1:51 pm

I wonder if the patch will fix the memory leak....

That has to be the only REALLY annying bug I know of. Why?

Because it means Windows attempts to change my Page File, causing all the programs running at the time to loose their ability to use the Ram for a short while, causing most of them to crash. Not forgetting I have to quit and open Darwinia again, thats the really annoying bit. :P
~RabidZombie
steamed_up_madman
level1
level1
Posts: 14
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2005 6:27 am

Postby steamed_up_madman » Sun Mar 05, 2006 7:08 pm

Will there be a fix for people who dont have a OpenGL compatible card? I really want to play darwinia on my laptop, (Geforce 44o GO) man NVidia laptop cards suck.
User avatar
Dave2
level4
level4
Posts: 550
Joined: Wed Feb 20, 2002 9:07 pm
Location: Reading, England

Postby Dave2 » Sun Mar 05, 2006 7:36 pm

Huh?

1) The GeForce 440 Go has OpenGL support, from what I can see, and nVidia would be mad to release any chip without it.
2) How would you go about avoiding OpenGL? That would involve a whole brand new Win32-only codepath for Direct3D for basically no gain.
Don't think about The Game.
User avatar
trickfred
level5
level5
Posts: 1691
Joined: Sat Jul 24, 2004 5:01 am
Location: The Great White North, Eh?
Contact:

Postby trickfred » Wed Mar 08, 2006 3:16 pm

Soo.... only like 7 people have posted anything so far with regards to this new patch in the Beta Testers forum... any chance there'll be a second round of people that will be sent the email with the magical link?

*prostrates himself before the altar of IV*
User avatar
Luigi300
level5
level5
Posts: 1615
Joined: Wed May 01, 2002 2:08 pm
Location: :noitacoL
Contact:

Postby Luigi300 » Wed Mar 08, 2006 3:37 pm

I've got accepted but I haven't gotten around to testing it yet.
Luigi for mod in 2006!
User avatar
martin
level5
level5
Posts: 3210
Joined: Fri Nov 19, 2004 8:37 pm
Location: ::1
Contact:

Postby martin » Wed Mar 08, 2006 3:39 pm

I've got it and installed it but haven't found a problem yet.
GENERATION 22:The first time you see this, copy it into your sig on any forum and add 1 to the generation. Social experiment.
User avatar
Starfyre
level5
level5
Posts: 3247
Joined: Sat Jun 29, 2002 3:00 pm
Location: in the tree house

Postby Starfyre » Fri Mar 10, 2006 4:09 pm

Signed! And once again, free cookies for IV.

Darn long absence times. WHAR'S THE MULTIPLAYER.
User avatar
hitm4n
level3
level3
Posts: 461
Joined: Fri Nov 18, 2005 1:22 pm

Postby hitm4n » Fri Mar 10, 2006 5:38 pm

I got it too, installed and played some mods to see how the skill levels impacted on them. And every time i came here to post my concerns, someone else had posted the exact same thing before me...

Aside from skill stuff, i guess the only other bugs are all known and really shouldn't be reporting again and again. The random crashes, sound bug, selecting an empty cannon bug (cursor can spiral into madness or zoom out into space) and a few others...

Return to “Introversion News”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests