Next Darwinia Windows Patch - Call for Beta Testers

The forum with all your Introversion News!
User avatar
Dave2
level4
level4
Posts: 550
Joined: Wed Feb 20, 2002 9:07 pm
Location: Reading, England

Postby Dave2 » Fri Feb 24, 2006 11:27 am

Luigi300 wrote:Because not everyone has SDL installed, and it's faster and easier to support OpenGL?

SDL uses OpenGL, I believe. SDL gets distributed with apps, typically, so there is no installation required.
Don't think about The Game.
User avatar
NeoThermic
Introversion Staff
Introversion Staff
Posts: 6254
Joined: Sat Mar 02, 2002 10:55 am
Location: ::1
Contact:

Postby NeoThermic » Fri Feb 24, 2006 12:11 pm

madman2k wrote:something Id really like to know is why you always have separate linux/ windows tests.
why dont you simply rely on SDL for both so you have only to maintain one source?


Because the windows version uses DirectSound for its sound, while the linux and Mac versions don't because you don't have DirectX on their platforms. Darwinia does use SDL, however, so I'm not too sure where you're going with that :)

NeoThermic
User avatar
Luigi300
level5
level5
Posts: 1615
Joined: Wed May 01, 2002 2:08 pm
Location: :noitacoL
Contact:

Postby Luigi300 » Fri Feb 24, 2006 1:13 pm

He's being a zealot, naturally.
Luigi for mod in 2006!
madman2k
level1
level1
Posts: 43
Joined: Sun Mar 20, 2005 4:34 pm

Postby madman2k » Sat Feb 25, 2006 2:21 pm

elDiablo wrote:Plus, you have issues with each OS that need addressing.

but thats exactly what SDL is fixing - it offers a unified way to do things.

I mean take a look on warzone or other OSS projects. They all just bring their SDL.dll along:
http://download.gna.org/warzone/

and they are still being distributet binary...
madman2k
level1
level1
Posts: 43
Joined: Sun Mar 20, 2005 4:34 pm

Postby madman2k » Sat Feb 25, 2006 2:25 pm

NeoThermic wrote:
madman2k wrote:something Id really like to know is why you always have separate linux/ windows tests.
why dont you simply rely on SDL for both so you have only to maintain one source?


Because the windows version uses DirectSound for its sound, while the linux and Mac versions don't because you don't have DirectX on their platforms. Darwinia does use SDL, however, so I'm not too sure where you're going with that :)

NeoThermic

thats a good reason - though you might ask if using OpenAL on both would be the better alternative to maintaining two sources
User avatar
NeoThermic
Introversion Staff
Introversion Staff
Posts: 6254
Joined: Sat Mar 02, 2002 10:55 am
Location: ::1
Contact:

Postby NeoThermic » Sat Feb 25, 2006 4:06 pm

madman2k wrote:
NeoThermic wrote:
madman2k wrote:something Id really like to know is why you always have separate linux/ windows tests.
why dont you simply rely on SDL for both so you have only to maintain one source?


Because the windows version uses DirectSound for its sound, while the linux and Mac versions don't because you don't have DirectX on their platforms. Darwinia does use SDL, however, so I'm not too sure where you're going with that :)

NeoThermic

thats a good reason - though you might ask if using OpenAL on both would be the better alternative to maintaining two sources


As I've said in another topic, combining OpenGL/SDL with DirectSound and DirectNetwork is a common practise when you target Window platforms due to the support of DirectSound on devices. I'm sure that OpenAL could be used, but I doubt it would be as flexable as DirectSound, and Darwinia would need a rewrite to use OpenAL, and then you're talking a huge re-test of the windows version to make sure there's no obscure issues.

At this point, the complexity of replacing DirectSound with OpenAL and unifining the source tree outweigh the benifits of doing so.

NeoThermic
Stewsburntmonkey
level5
level5
Posts: 11553
Joined: Wed Jul 10, 2002 7:44 pm
Location: Nashville, TN
Contact:

Postby Stewsburntmonkey » Sat Feb 25, 2006 6:22 pm

madman2k wrote:
elDiablo wrote:Plus, you have issues with each OS that need addressing.

but thats exactly what SDL is fixing - it offers a unified way to do things.

I mean take a look on warzone or other OSS projects. They all just bring their SDL.dll along:
http://download.gna.org/warzone/

and they are still being distributet binary...


SDL provides a standard API interface, but interally it works differently on different platforms and thus you can still have platform dependant errors and issues.
User avatar
shinygerbil
level5
level5
Posts: 4667
Joined: Wed Dec 22, 2004 10:14 pm
Location: Out, finding my own food. Also, doing the shinyBonsai Manoeuvre(tm)
Contact:

Postby shinygerbil » Sun Feb 26, 2006 12:36 am

*sits on forums waiting for news of linux version*
Here is my signature. Make of it what you will.
Image
User avatar
Lord_Doskias
level4
level4
Posts: 603
Joined: Sat Jul 10, 2004 5:08 am
Location: over there
Contact:

Postby Lord_Doskias » Sun Feb 26, 2006 9:07 am

how did we turn a topic about a new patch beta into a discussion of SDL?
User avatar
Dave2
level4
level4
Posts: 550
Joined: Wed Feb 20, 2002 9:07 pm
Location: Reading, England

Postby Dave2 » Sun Feb 26, 2006 10:37 am

Lord_Doskias wrote:how did we turn a topic about a new patch beta into a discussion of SDL?


madman2k wrote:something Id really like to know is why you always have separate linux/ windows tests.
why dont you simply rely on SDL for both so you have only to maintain one source?


HTH.
Don't think about The Game.
User avatar
Lord_Doskias
level4
level4
Posts: 603
Joined: Sat Jul 10, 2004 5:08 am
Location: over there
Contact:

Postby Lord_Doskias » Sun Feb 26, 2006 8:21 pm

i had meant my question to be rhetorical, but that works too
User avatar
film11
level3
level3
Posts: 411
Joined: Sat Jun 19, 2004 4:51 pm

Postby film11 » Sun Feb 26, 2006 8:46 pm

Applied, I wonder what new game play features he mentions o_O
Seeing as multiplayer has been mentioned I'll put forward my crazy idea. New Darwinia sprites. Yeah that's right. BETTER ONES, WITH FACES! I DEMAND INDIVIDUALITY.

Or you just use goatse's.
aaaaaaaaaahahaha haaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa. ahahahaaah ahhhh aaaah.
RabidZombie
level5
level5
Posts: 2414
Joined: Fri Nov 18, 2005 10:09 pm

Postby RabidZombie » Sun Feb 26, 2006 9:00 pm

Please, god, no goatse....

Also, Source or no Source, I can still use it. I like having source. Means I can make some "additions" to the game, if I easily die, or muck it up in cirtain places.
~RabidZombie
Virulent Virus
level4
level4
Posts: 517
Joined: Sun May 12, 2002 1:21 pm

Postby Virulent Virus » Sat Mar 04, 2006 4:15 am

Just in case the submissions are randomly/automatically chosen, I'd just like to point this out: The submission form for beta testing is flawed. The CPU Speed categories are badly done/incorrect... am I the only one who has noticed this? For example, I'm running an AMD64 3000 at 2.0GHz, but I could have chosen either the 1.5 - 2.0GHz category OR the 2.0 - 2.5GHz category. Call me a pedant, but it's a very irritating error to a maths student, especially one taking statistics.

Just my £0.02 (and I dont remember which I chose in the end)
This is not a signature.
User avatar
Lord_Doskias
level4
level4
Posts: 603
Joined: Sat Jul 10, 2004 5:08 am
Location: over there
Contact:

Postby Lord_Doskias » Sat Mar 04, 2006 5:19 am

ohoho! are you saying IV did something WRONG? no beta for you! :D

Return to “Introversion News”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests