Simulation Database

Come in here to talk about your sky-net style world-destroying super bots!

Moderator: Defcon moderators

doomshot
level0
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Jun 03, 2010 2:45 pm

Simulation Database

Postby doomshot » Thu Jun 03, 2010 5:20 pm

Is it possible to store games of Defcon? I had an idea for the AI built around storing various simulations and trying to get it to extrapolate from that. What I mean is that, is it possible to record the game and replay later as a spectator?
User avatar
xander
level5
level5
Posts: 16867
Joined: Thu Oct 21, 2004 11:41 pm
Location: Riverside, CA, USA
Contact:

Postby xander » Thu Jun 03, 2010 6:29 pm

It is possible. You will need a copy of dedcon to make it work. Searching the forums should get you started.

xander
User avatar
Ace Rimmer
level5
level5
Posts: 10803
Joined: Thu Dec 07, 2006 9:46 pm
Location: The Multiverse

Postby Ace Rimmer » Thu Jun 03, 2010 6:31 pm

Dedcon and Botcon are not compatible, though the bot itself can spectate (I think). I don't think you can gather information from spectating though, per the Defconapi Archive:

Fri Dec 11 11:27:49 CST 2009

Hi,
I wanted my bot to watch already recorded games and gather some
information from it, but it doesnt seem to work.
Do the Bot funktions actually get called while spectating?


There was never any response to this. I believe Robin mentions somewhere about creating/having a learning bot that gathers data from the game while it's (the bot) playing.
Smoke me a kipper, I'll be back for breakfast...
doomshot
level0
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Jun 03, 2010 2:45 pm

Postby doomshot » Thu Jun 03, 2010 7:04 pm

Alright, thank you for your help. Hopefully I can try to whip something up. Will post again if I get it working.
User avatar
bert_the_turtle
level5
level5
Posts: 4796
Joined: Fri Oct 13, 2006 6:11 pm
Location: Cologne
Contact:

Postby bert_the_turtle » Thu Jun 03, 2010 8:54 pm

Ace Rimmer wrote:Dedcon and Botcon are not compatible
Sure they are! You just need to tell dedcon to claim to be of the exact same version as botcon.
User avatar
Ace Rimmer
level5
level5
Posts: 10803
Joined: Thu Dec 07, 2006 9:46 pm
Location: The Multiverse

Postby Ace Rimmer » Thu Jun 03, 2010 9:05 pm

I thought for certain I had seen somebody try it and only get Defcon to crash. Unfortunately, having trouble locating such a post.

Instead, for your viewing pleasure [emphasis mine]:

bert_the_turtle wrote:No. Dedcon has no idea about the game state and won't be able to drive a bot's interface. You need the bot enabled defcon version, and that is unfortunately officially incompatible with 1.43, so just sticking it out there will not give your bot a single bit of experience :)

(In practice, it is not incompatible. If you take a hexeditor and edit the version info the bot enabled version to be 1.43, you can join and host games with other 1.43 users no problem. Doing so, of course, is an EULA violation.)


:P
User avatar
trickser
level5
level5
Posts: 1823
Joined: Thu Mar 06, 2008 2:15 pm
Location: The Senate ; GMT+1
Contact:

Postby trickser » Fri Jun 04, 2010 9:41 am

Ace Rimmer wrote:Dedcon and Botcon are not compatible, though the bot itself can spectate (I think). I don't think you can gather information from spectating though, per the Defconapi Archive:

Fri Dec 11 11:27:49 CST 2009

Hi,
I wanted my bot to watch already recorded games and gather some
information from it, but it doesnt seem to work.
Do the Bot funktions actually get called while spectating?


There was never any response to this. I believe Robin mentions somewhere about creating/having a learning bot that gathers data from the game while it's (the bot) playing.

The answer was no, Bots cant spectate.

I also tested it. It doesnt work. While I was able to make the Bot-version connect to a Replay, it just will not export any data to the Bot.
User avatar
trickser
level5
level5
Posts: 1823
Joined: Thu Mar 06, 2008 2:15 pm
Location: The Senate ; GMT+1
Contact:

Postby trickser » Fri Jun 18, 2010 2:15 am

Hm
I tired to connect the BOT version with a replay in a more tricky manner. I started dedcon with

Code: Select all

dedcon -c "JoinAs 0" -c "JoinAt 10000" -l replay.dcrec

But Defcon crashed every attempt. But this might be an wine issue.

Can someone with native Windows verify, please?

Edit, nvm, ServerName must start with [BOT], so you have to add

Code: Select all

-c "ServerName [BOT]blah"


----

Anyway, no result :(
User avatar
trickser
level5
level5
Posts: 1823
Joined: Thu Mar 06, 2008 2:15 pm
Location: The Senate ; GMT+1
Contact:

Postby trickser » Fri Jun 18, 2010 4:23 pm

Next best possibility:
decode dcrec files
split commands by TeamID
transform into API commands
Let one BOT per player execute the commands at given SeqID, recreate the game by BOTs copying player actions.

Too much work, too much CPU time :(

Why oh why isnt it build into the API?

Return to “AI Bots”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Yahoo [Bot] and 1 guest