trouble with ai commandline param

Come in here to talk about your sky-net style world-destroying super bots!

Moderator: Defcon moderators

spooq
level1
level1
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Jul 13, 2009 10:56 pm

trouble with ai commandline param

Postby spooq » Mon Jul 13, 2009 11:48 pm

Hi,

I'm having trouble getting the ai param to work.

I've got the following arguments set - ai=\AI\simplebot\simplebot.dll host nowan nolan numplayers=1 territory=5 limitedinformation

Cheers,
Luke
spooq
level1
level1
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Jul 13, 2009 10:56 pm

Postby spooq » Tue Jul 14, 2009 12:04 am

If I use /, I get a crash with corrupted commandline args. If I use \, I don't get the bot to load.
spooq
level1
level1
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Jul 13, 2009 10:56 pm

Postby spooq » Tue Jul 14, 2009 12:05 am

I should mention - if I use the gui, then the bot works just fine.
Beelzebup
level0
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Jun 25, 2009 12:30 pm
Contact:

Postby Beelzebup » Tue Jul 14, 2009 11:45 am

Sometimes help to put " " around arguments. this prevents commandline intepretation of the field and passes it directly to the program. also a . (for current folder) infront of a Path tends to help with pathing problems. (Not all programs concat path to %CWD%)

i.e.: "ai=.\AI\simplebot\simplebot.dll" host nowan nolan numplayers=1 territory=5 limitedinformation
User avatar
xander
level5
level5
Posts: 16868
Joined: Thu Oct 21, 2004 11:41 pm
Location: Highland, CA, USA
Contact:

Postby xander » Tue Jul 14, 2009 5:55 pm

Also, just a quick note: these forums do have an edit button at the top of every post. If you edit your posts, rather than adding new posts, it makes it a lot easier to follow what you are saying.

xander
spooq
level1
level1
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Jul 13, 2009 10:56 pm

Postby spooq » Wed Jul 15, 2009 10:46 pm

Aye, sorry, it was late.

Anyway, still can't get it to work. Someone must have, they ran a bunch of cases to build up the AI for that research project.

EDIT

Ok, so I found the mailing list, and I am not the only one having this problem.

EDIT

And just found that there is a new beta and that this forum is probably dead for a reason - everyone is on the mailing list!

Return to “AI Bots”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests