DEFCON Icon

General discussion about Defcon

Moderator: Defcon moderators

User avatar
Montyphy
level5
level5
Posts: 6745
Joined: Tue Apr 19, 2005 2:28 pm
Location: London, England

Postby Montyphy » Sun Sep 10, 2006 6:59 pm

It doesn't matter since its already on the list.
Uplink help: Check out the Guide or FAQ.
Latest Uplink patch is v1.55.
User avatar
Serathii
level2
level2
Posts: 170
Joined: Mon May 29, 2006 11:24 pm
Contact:

Postby Serathii » Sun Sep 10, 2006 7:06 pm

Steven wrote:
xyzyxx wrote:Yes, it definitely needs that. I don't know how to do it, though.

http://www.towofu.net/soft/e-aicon.php -- The best icon editor I've ever seen. Has transparency masks and the ability to import bmp, png, ico (duh!), psd. Even can extract icons from .exe and .dll resources.


The GIMP.
www.gimp.org



Edit: I just can't keep up with you, Montyphy
User avatar
xyzyxx
level5
level5
Posts: 3790
Joined: Wed Jul 02, 2003 7:50 pm
Location: Iowa, USA
Contact:

Postby xyzyxx » Sun Sep 10, 2006 7:32 pm

Why use GIMP when I have Adobe Photoshop? I still don't quite know how to use it though.
Some people talk because they have something to say. Others talk because they have to say something.
User avatar
Serathii
level2
level2
Posts: 170
Joined: Mon May 29, 2006 11:24 pm
Contact:

Postby Serathii » Sun Sep 10, 2006 7:42 pm

GIMP is open source, and has many scripted add-ons by various users.
It's also on Windows, Macintosh, and Linux.
User avatar
kipper_308
level1
level1
Posts: 47
Joined: Thu Jan 26, 2006 9:00 pm
Location: Southampton, England

Postby kipper_308 » Sun Sep 10, 2006 8:05 pm

It's also (I found) unbelievably confusing to use.
"Time is an illusion... lunchtime doubly so..." - Ford Prefect, The Hitchikers Guite to the Galaxy.
User avatar
DrDemento
level2
level2
Posts: 78
Joined: Wed Jun 08, 2005 12:51 pm
Location: Liverpool
Contact:

Postby DrDemento » Sun Sep 10, 2006 9:51 pm

I had a go too and found it pretty confusing, but you do get used to it after a while. I stopped using it as I was on linux and tablets need some knowhow, and time, to get working. It never occured to me to use it on windows... :?
User avatar
Serathii
level2
level2
Posts: 170
Joined: Mon May 29, 2006 11:24 pm
Contact:

Postby Serathii » Sun Sep 10, 2006 9:59 pm

Confused me a lot, at first, too.

Now it's kinda intuitive, when I'm trying new things.
User avatar
Chittix
level2
level2
Posts: 85
Joined: Thu Aug 22, 2002 9:49 pm
Location: The Big Red Button Factory
Contact:

Postby Chittix » Sat Sep 16, 2006 1:36 am

According to the pre-order icon on Steam, xyzyxx's original yellow-on-blue nuke symbol icon is being used. Well done! :D

Yes, I'm buying the Steam and IV boxed versions... that way I can feel I'm spending enough on the game.
Quidquid Latine dictum sit, altum viditur.
User avatar
kikinchaz
level2
level2
Posts: 125
Joined: Thu Sep 14, 2006 9:58 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Postby kikinchaz » Sat Sep 16, 2006 9:50 am

xyzyxx wrote:Why use GIMP when I have Adobe Photoshop? I still don't quite know how to use it though.


Haha i have photoshop....i just looked at it and hadn't the slightest idea what to do. Im too lazy at the moment to get a tutorial.

ChaZ
User avatar
mibias
level5
level5
Posts: 1487
Joined: Sun Apr 16, 2006 9:54 am
Location: Denmark

Postby mibias » Sat Sep 16, 2006 10:33 am

Chittix wrote:According to the pre-order icon on Steam, xyzyxx's original yellow-on-blue nuke symbol icon is being used. Well done! :D


well... if that icon is on steam i think i can reveal that it is also the defcon icon for the beta versions
User avatar
Babylon5
level5
level5
Posts: 1873
Joined: Sat Jan 08, 2005 10:30 pm
Location: Stevenston, Ayrshire, Scotland
Contact:

Postby Babylon5 » Sat Sep 16, 2006 10:34 am

So, is he in the credits? :wink:
Image

No, I have NOT fixed my speakers.
User avatar
mibias
level5
level5
Posts: 1487
Joined: Sun Apr 16, 2006 9:54 am
Location: Denmark

Postby mibias » Sat Sep 16, 2006 10:40 am

heh... he is already a beta tester so it would suprise me if he is not :wink:
User avatar
Babylon5
level5
level5
Posts: 1873
Joined: Sat Jan 08, 2005 10:30 pm
Location: Stevenston, Ayrshire, Scotland
Contact:

Postby Babylon5 » Sat Sep 16, 2006 10:41 am

Ah, true.
Image



No, I have NOT fixed my speakers.
User avatar
xyzyxx
level5
level5
Posts: 3790
Joined: Wed Jul 02, 2003 7:50 pm
Location: Iowa, USA
Contact:

Postby xyzyxx » Sat Sep 16, 2006 2:20 pm

Can I be in the credits twice? :D

Also, xander should go in there somewhere if it's not too late. He came up with the idea and I brought it to life :D
Some people talk because they have something to say. Others talk because they have to say something.

Return to “General”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest