Sub glitch

General discussion about Defcon

Moderator: Defcon moderators

EVACCANEER
level0
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Apr 29, 2012 10:26 am

Sub glitch

Postby EVACCANEER » Sun Apr 29, 2012 10:38 am

After enemy subs launched, they were revealed for the duration of the game (kept the "Launch Detected" symbol while moving).

This was on the Steam version (if different from non-steam).

Image
Image
*I meant Australia in the game chat (bad at geography, apparently).

System specs:
Windows 7 (64) Professional
Intel Core 2 Duo &5800 @2GHz; 4GB Ram
NVIDIA GeForce 9300M GS (Driver version: 8.15.11.8631)
Korean
level2
level2
Posts: 141
Joined: Thu Dec 15, 2011 2:56 am
Location: USA

Re: Sub glitch

Postby Korean » Sun Apr 29, 2012 10:41 pm

Posted twice.. delete
Last edited by Korean on Mon Apr 30, 2012 8:51 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Korean
level2
level2
Posts: 141
Joined: Thu Dec 15, 2011 2:56 am
Location: USA

Re: Sub glitch

Postby Korean » Sun Apr 29, 2012 10:41 pm

EVACCANEER wrote:After enemy subs launched, they were revealed for the duration of the game (kept the "Launch Detected" symbol while moving).

This was on the Steam version (if different from non-steam).

[img]http://i.imgur.com/VYBGU.png[img]
[img]http://i.imgur.com/fjMu3.png[img]
*I meant Australia in the game chat (bad at geography, apparently).

System specs:
Windows 7 (64) Professional
Intel Core 2 Duo &5800 @2GHz; 4GB Ram
NVIDIA GeForce 9300M GS (Driver version: 8.15.11.8631)


Ahahaha probably just a glitch. It happens when I spec a game, at the first 5 seconds or so. All the nuke units get that sign for like 3 secs.
Experiment632
level2
level2
Posts: 83
Joined: Sat Feb 11, 2012 8:50 am

Postby Experiment632 » Sun Apr 29, 2012 11:50 pm

I noticed that once a carrier in sonar mod spots a sub, its stays locked on that sub no matter how far away the sub moves.
User avatar
kudayta
Introversion Staff
Introversion Staff
Posts: 945
Joined: Mon Aug 09, 2010 7:25 pm

Postby kudayta » Mon Apr 30, 2012 2:25 am

Experiment632 wrote:I noticed that once a carrier in sonar mod spots a sub, its stays locked on that sub no matter how far away the sub moves.


Yep, that's an important "glitch" in the game. Use that knowledge wisely.
Experiment632
level2
level2
Posts: 83
Joined: Sat Feb 11, 2012 8:50 am

Postby Experiment632 » Mon Apr 30, 2012 2:44 am

kudayta wrote:
Experiment632 wrote:I noticed that once a carrier in sonar mod spots a sub, its stays locked on that sub no matter how far away the sub moves.


Yep, that's an important "glitch" in the game. Use that knowledge wisely.
Yeah, it is definitely useful in chasing down enemy subs attempting to evade me. However from what I can tell, there are two ways so far that would most certainly break the lock: surface briefly then submerge right away or destroy said aircraft carrier.
User avatar
kudayta
Introversion Staff
Introversion Staff
Posts: 945
Joined: Mon Aug 09, 2010 7:25 pm

Postby kudayta » Mon Apr 30, 2012 5:16 am

Experiment632 wrote:
kudayta wrote:
Experiment632 wrote:I noticed that once a carrier in sonar mod spots a sub, its stays locked on that sub no matter how far away the sub moves.


Yep, that's an important "glitch" in the game. Use that knowledge wisely.
Yeah, it is definitely useful in chasing down enemy subs attempting to evade me. However from what I can tell, there are two ways so far that would most certainly break the lock: surface briefly then submerge right away or destroy said aircraft carrier.


Or if the carrier switches from anti-sub mode.
Experiment632
level2
level2
Posts: 83
Joined: Sat Feb 11, 2012 8:50 am

Postby Experiment632 » Mon Apr 30, 2012 5:22 am

kudayta wrote:
Experiment632 wrote:
kudayta wrote:
Experiment632 wrote:I noticed that once a carrier in sonar mod spots a sub, its stays locked on that sub no matter how far away the sub moves.


Yep, that's an important "glitch" in the game. Use that knowledge wisely.
Yeah, it is definitely useful in chasing down enemy subs attempting to evade me. However from what I can tell, there are two ways so far that would most certainly break the lock: surface briefly then submerge right away or destroy said aircraft carrier.


Or if the carrier switches from anti-sub mode.
Doubt an human player would willing switch their carrier to fighter or bomber mode, especially if it has escort battleships and/or other carriers in fighter mode.
User avatar
k-dawg
level2
level2
Posts: 207
Joined: Thu Nov 25, 2010 12:10 pm

Postby k-dawg » Mon Apr 30, 2012 5:59 am

airburst...
did you even read his post?

he's not land-sharking. but thanks for letting him know about it.
Sound design for games, interested?
sounds.kantouth@gmail.com

- South America
- K-Dawg
User avatar
AIRburst95
level3
level3
Posts: 408
Joined: Fri Jul 08, 2011 5:01 am
Location: Seattle(ish), WA

Postby AIRburst95 » Mon Apr 30, 2012 6:01 am

k-dawg wrote:airburst...
did you even read his post?

he's not land-sharking. but thanks for letting him know about it.


lol i deleted it literally ten seconds after posting :P Fail
User avatar
bert_the_turtle
level5
level5
Posts: 4795
Joined: Fri Oct 13, 2006 6:11 pm
Location: Cologne
Contact:

Postby bert_the_turtle » Mon Apr 30, 2012 7:40 am

It would help if you could find the conditions under which this nuke-symbols-don't-go-away glitch happens. Like, only if you play a previous game. Or only if you spent X amount of time in realtime mode. It seems to be a clientside thing, I don't think it gets reproduced reliably in recordings. I'd like to fix it for minicom.
User avatar
sfericz
level5
level5
Posts: 1336
Joined: Thu Mar 27, 2008 7:25 am
Location: USA
Contact:

Postby sfericz » Mon Apr 30, 2012 5:06 pm

bert_the_turtle wrote:It would help if you could find the conditions under which this nuke-symbols-don't-go-away glitch happens. Like, only if you play a previous game. Or only if you spent X amount of time in realtime mode. It seems to be a clientside thing, I don't think it gets reproduced reliably in recordings. I'd like to fix it for minicom.


I've only seen it happen when I would resync in a match while launches happened during my loading time.
User avatar
tllotpfkamvpe
level5
level5
Posts: 1768
Joined: Fri Aug 31, 2007 12:04 am
Contact:

Postby tllotpfkamvpe » Mon Apr 30, 2012 5:40 pm

This bug was known to happen in the linux version, never heard of it happening on windows versions until now.
Korean
level2
level2
Posts: 141
Joined: Thu Dec 15, 2011 2:56 am
Location: USA

Postby Korean » Mon Apr 30, 2012 8:52 pm

tllotpfkamvpe wrote:This bug was known to happen in the linux version, never heard of it happening on windows versions until now.


I think it's a steam problem... steam sucks.
EVACCANEER
level0
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Apr 29, 2012 10:26 am

Postby EVACCANEER » Tue May 01, 2012 12:54 am

The only thing I did out of the ordinary is cycle from RT to 2x (once every five seconds or so) to kill bombers with fighters. The nuke symbols appeared when opponent launched nukes and remained for the duration of the game (for all subs and silos, unless they were killed).

The game was hosted on the Mac steam client, though.

Return to “General”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests