Major Lag Issues

General discussion about Defcon

Moderator: Defcon moderators

User avatar
Forrest Krunk
level3
level3
Posts: 431
Joined: Mon May 12, 2008 6:16 am
Location: Jumping Radiation
Contact:

Major Lag Issues

Postby Forrest Krunk » Thu Aug 07, 2008 6:41 am

all the time, i am fairly certain it's not my connection. Perhaps the server or a software bug? It happens to me almost every game lately, anyone else experiencing this problem? Is there any solution? It's maddenning to lose due to high latency problems. :evil:
User avatar
Nightwatch
level5
level5
Posts: 1288
Joined: Wed Sep 19, 2007 3:02 pm
Location: Germany

Postby Nightwatch » Thu Aug 07, 2008 8:47 am

From my own experience:

Do you have a dual core processor?
It helps if you select only one core for running the game.
Or change the drivers of your videocard. Nvidia Open GL could cause some problems.


Anyway, we have an entire section for technical problems.
http://forums.introversion.co.uk/defcon ... um.php?f=7
Maybe you find somethin there.
Why?
level5
level5
Posts: 1371
Joined: Thu Jun 26, 2008 11:34 pm
Location: Verona

Postby Why? » Thu Aug 07, 2008 1:07 pm

have you ever tried the /ping command while experiencing latency? If so, what was your ping and packet-loss?


Are you on a wireless router?
User avatar
trickser
level5
level5
Posts: 1826
Joined: Thu Mar 06, 2008 2:15 pm
Location: The Senate ; GMT+1
Contact:

Re: Major Lag Issues

Postby trickser » Thu Aug 07, 2008 4:15 pm

Forrest Krunk wrote:... problem? ... solution?

Nightwatch wrote:...processor?

Why? wrote:...experiencing latency? ...ping and packet-loss? ...router?


reminds me of Jeopardy! Just without the answers :D
User avatar
Forrest Krunk
level3
level3
Posts: 431
Joined: Mon May 12, 2008 6:16 am
Location: Jumping Radiation
Contact:

Postby Forrest Krunk » Thu Aug 07, 2008 5:35 pm

haven't tried /ping but i will. I do have dual core processor but i don't think that's an option with a Macbook...
Montyphy
level5
level5
Posts: 6746
Joined: Tue Apr 19, 2005 2:28 pm
Location: Bristol, England

Postby Montyphy » Thu Aug 07, 2008 7:06 pm

Where's my crystal ball when I need it?...
Uplink help: Check out the Guide or FAQ.
Latest Uplink patch is v1.55.
User avatar
Forrest Krunk
level3
level3
Posts: 431
Joined: Mon May 12, 2008 6:16 am
Location: Jumping Radiation
Contact:

/ping

Postby Forrest Krunk » Fri Aug 08, 2008 7:59 am

ok, this is SO frustrating....i tried /ping usually after the game was done freezing or stutter freezing due to high latency and got 1-2 packet loss, was able to do /ping once during said issue and it was 9, it seems like the game disconnects from my router mid game...if i can't resolve this i may just quit altogether...it never did this until very recently...i'm gonna lose it if i can't figure this out soon...
User avatar
Johnis
level2
level2
Posts: 196
Joined: Sat Jun 16, 2007 12:26 pm
Location: GREECE
Contact:

Postby Johnis » Sun Aug 10, 2008 7:28 am

Sometimes other programs we have on memory lags the game.
MSN for example . Or a anti virus program which scans anytime it wants. Or a winamp to listen music from internet radio etc etc. Check your settings for every thing.
Also some trojan horses cause problems to defcon (for example core.sys). Learn your pc. i am pretty sure that you have problems in every multiplayer game. Defcon is not taking much bandwith to experience such problems.check settings .. everything.Some programs also are not visible and use bandwith too.Imagine what happens when you connect to internet and have many of em and start to search for updates of programs etc etc.
User avatar
Forrest Krunk
level3
level3
Posts: 431
Joined: Mon May 12, 2008 6:16 am
Location: Jumping Radiation
Contact:

CLARIFICATION!

Postby Forrest Krunk » Thu Aug 28, 2008 4:39 am

ok all you windows/msn users no need to repsond, i am mac user with a macbook intelcore2duo processer, using the latest mac OS....still have the lag issues and it seems to be getting worse, not sure if it's a wifi setting, my wifi router, or a defcon software bug, or just shitty comcast broadband internet....anyone who uses mac having a similar issue? Defcon seems to sever my wifi connection and make it impossible to reconnect, i either hard reboot the modem and router or restart my computer to resolve the connection issue, and while using Defcon is the ONLY time this happens...seriously about to lose my mind
User avatar
All American Mobster
level4
level4
Posts: 751
Joined: Mon Sep 24, 2007 11:46 pm
Location: Upland, CA
Contact:

Postby All American Mobster » Thu Aug 28, 2008 4:53 am

Oh dude thats your avetar! I was llike, 'why does he keep posting that picture?' haha you need to shrink that



-$tanley
User avatar
Forrest Krunk
level3
level3
Posts: 431
Joined: Mon May 12, 2008 6:16 am
Location: Jumping Radiation
Contact:

Postby Forrest Krunk » Thu Aug 28, 2008 5:48 am

seems the normal on my screen
User avatar
All American Mobster
level4
level4
Posts: 751
Joined: Mon Sep 24, 2007 11:46 pm
Location: Upland, CA
Contact:

Postby All American Mobster » Thu Aug 28, 2008 5:50 am

Huh, well no biggie for me i was just pointing that out. I got slammed when my avatar was too big. :lol:



-$tanley
Why?
level5
level5
Posts: 1371
Joined: Thu Jun 26, 2008 11:34 pm
Location: Verona

Postby Why? » Thu Aug 28, 2008 6:15 am

Just because you have a MAC, doesn't mean you're impervious to viruses, spy-ware, and memory hogs. Learn how to use a computer! :lol:
User avatar
CaptRamius
level1
level1
Posts: 13
Joined: Mon Aug 25, 2008 3:53 pm

Mac experience

Postby CaptRamius » Thu Aug 28, 2008 9:59 am

Why? wrote:Just because you have a MAC, doesn't mean you're impervious to viruses, spy-ware, and memory hogs. Learn how to use a computer!

:roll: Not impervious, but certainly more resistant than WinXP, and with far fewer threats to be resistant too. Anyway, platform wars aside:

I have a newish iMac at home whereon I run Defcon, and haven't had any systemic problems with lag - accessing one or two specific servers, I have longish (900+ms) ping times, but that's about it.
Montyphy
level5
level5
Posts: 6746
Joined: Tue Apr 19, 2005 2:28 pm
Location: Bristol, England

Postby Montyphy » Thu Aug 28, 2008 10:08 am

Why? wrote:Just because you have a MAC, doesn't mean you're impervious to viruses, spy-ware, and memory hogs. Learn how to use a computer! :lol:


Learn the difference between Mac and MAC! :lol:
Uplink help: Check out the Guide or FAQ.

Latest Uplink patch is v1.55.

Return to “General”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests