OMG What have I done? (Humiliation Round III)

General discussion about Defcon

Moderator: Defcon moderators

Is it humiliating to forget to place a large portion of your assets before Defcon 3?

Seppuku/Hara-Kiri (yes)
13
45%
Kamikaze!!! (no)
5
17%
Senbonzakura (I can win with massive handicaps!)
3
10%
I'm a perfectionist who never forgets all my units >:)
6
21%
SHAME!!! (I leave the game and never speak of it again)
2
7%
 
Total votes: 29
User avatar
Peace and Love
level2
level2
Posts: 213
Joined: Sat Jun 09, 2007 4:28 am
Location: la la land
Contact:

OMG What have I done? (Humiliation Round III)

Postby Peace and Love » Tue Sep 04, 2007 6:43 am

This has happened to me once and I've seen it happen to many people with varied hilarious and tragic results.


((edit)) I should clarify what is a large amount of assets.

I mean not 1 battleship or 2 subs but... 6 carriers or 5 radars, or all your silos! Something that really really cripples you
User avatar
JESUS
level2
level2
Posts: 225
Joined: Sat Apr 07, 2007 12:03 pm
Location: naked and alone in the dark

Postby JESUS » Tue Sep 04, 2007 7:03 am

Many times I have forgoten to place air bases , silo's or subs :oops:
I would say its not humiliating , just lack of concentration sometimes .

some I win , some I lose . . . .

I actually find it a good training tool , so you make the most of what you have.
User avatar
bert_the_turtle
level5
level5
Posts: 4795
Joined: Fri Oct 13, 2006 6:11 pm
Location: Cologne
Contact:

Postby bert_the_turtle » Tue Sep 04, 2007 7:03 am

I once forgot all my surface fleet, and once all my silos. What saved my score from becoming negative both times were my subs.
User avatar
Tripper
level4
level4
Posts: 703
Joined: Wed Jun 13, 2007 12:05 am
Location: Freeeeeeee

Postby Tripper » Tue Sep 04, 2007 9:52 am

I wouldn't say it happens all the time - but it does happen!

in 1v1 I'd apologise and ask to restart ... but in larger games you can often get away with it, particuarly if the others see you as less of a threat

PS - I played a 1v1 once where I was losing the naval battle and hadn't destroyed any enemy subs - I was paranoid and went crazy looking for them - until he later told me he had forgotten to place his subs :lol:

Cheers, Tripper
User avatar
Hyperion
level5
level5
Posts: 2102
Joined: Sun Dec 10, 2006 4:26 am
Location: England, UK

Postby Hyperion » Tue Sep 04, 2007 11:22 am

lol, yeah i've done this :) many a times, usually with ships, radar or airbases, trying to be too clever with the timer :roll: last time i did it was with Ace, i forgot to place 6 or 7 battleships...never a good idea to misplace anything when playing Ace :roll:
User avatar
world idiot
level4
level4
Posts: 588
Joined: Mon Dec 18, 2006 8:37 pm
Location: losing miserably (as always)

Postby world idiot » Tue Sep 04, 2007 1:09 pm

against newbs, i sometimes 'forget' to place my subs and airbases for a challenge
PsychicKid
level2
level2
Posts: 240
Joined: Sun Oct 01, 2006 12:17 am

Postby PsychicKid » Tue Sep 04, 2007 1:37 pm

Only once have I misplaced units, and that was a group of three or four subs. Every once in a while I would forget a radar but I can't recall any specific games.
User avatar
Ace Rimmer
level5
level5
Posts: 10803
Joined: Thu Dec 07, 2006 9:46 pm
Location: The Multiverse

Postby Ace Rimmer » Tue Sep 04, 2007 2:24 pm

Hyperion wrote:lol, yeah i've done this :) many a times, usually with ships, radar or airbases, trying to be too clever with the timer :roll: last time i did it was with Ace, i forgot to place 6 or 7 battleships...never a good idea to misplace anything when playing Ace :roll:

I've done this for the exact same reason... trying to be clever with the timer.

There was also the first time I ever played with credits. I didn't know I was playing with credits and waited till the end to place my silos. Unfortunately, I had used them all up and couldn't place any silos. I still managed 4th with no defense. It's hard to keep your airbases from getting nuked when you have no AA and people figure it out quickly. :wink:
Last edited by Ace Rimmer on Tue Sep 04, 2007 3:37 pm, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
Pater
level2
level2
Posts: 111
Joined: Tue Jun 12, 2007 6:07 pm

Postby Pater » Tue Sep 04, 2007 3:36 pm

Heh. Yea really embarrassing. Has happened to me many times as the evening went on (and I got more drunk..)

Although I still often managed to do quite well: once I won a 6 player after forgetting to place carriers and one silo :lol:
User avatar
creator
level3
level3
Posts: 294
Joined: Wed Dec 20, 2006 10:57 pm
Location: Cornwall, England

Postby creator » Tue Sep 04, 2007 4:50 pm

yeh its happenned to me, most recently i forgot to place my subs against hyperion. When i do it its not because im trying to be clever witht eh timer, i just don't watch it and place units too slowly
User avatar
rus|Mike
level5
level5
Posts: 2750
Joined: Thu Jun 28, 2007 5:52 pm
Location: Russia, St. Petersburg

Postby rus|Mike » Tue Sep 04, 2007 5:29 pm

WHAT?! :shock: :shock: How can one forget to place his staff?? :lol: :lol:
MikeTheWookiee
level4
level4
Posts: 657
Joined: Wed Mar 07, 2007 11:58 pm
Location: Kashyyyk / Cambridge (commuting)

Postby MikeTheWookiee » Tue Sep 04, 2007 8:44 pm

Not nearly as humiliating as losing to someone who does that.
User avatar
Hyperion
level5
level5
Posts: 2102
Joined: Sun Dec 10, 2006 4:26 am
Location: England, UK

Postby Hyperion » Tue Sep 04, 2007 8:47 pm

MikeTheWookiee wrote:Not nearly as humiliating as losing to someone who does that.


Well said 8)

Return to “General”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests